Birthday Boy Jenkins Victorious in Barnsley!

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Terry Jenkins celebrated his 52nd birthday in fine style, as he beat Peter Wright 6-4 to win Players Championship 15 at the Barnsley Metrodome on Saturday.

Jenkins was in scintillating form in Saturday’s final, averaging 108 as he completely overpowered Snakebite to claim just his third PDC title since January 2009.

However, it was far from a serene route to the final for Jenks, particularly in the opening stages. He survived four match darts from Jim Walker in the opening round, before edging past former World No 1 Colin Lloyd 6-5 in the last 64.

Jenkins beat his best friend, Andy Smith, 6-3 in the last 32, although the Pie Man enjoyed a profitable day’s work. He thrashed Mensur Suljovic 6-2 in the opening round, before knocking out Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 in the last 64. However, the ‘Raging Bull’ just proved a step too far for Smith.

Jenkins grew in confidence as the day progressed; he beat Daryl Gurney 6-3 in the last 16, before claiming another Irish scalp, as he beat Brendan Dolan 6-1 to reach the semi-finals. Nevertheless, Gurney’s run to the last 16 puts him in pole position to qualify for the World Grand Prix.

In the semi-finals, Jenkins overcame Kim Huybrechts 6-4, despite averaging ten points less than his Belgian opponent. Huybrechts scored heavily, but Jenks was clinical and produced big shots in key moments. However, he saved his best display for the final, to claim his first title of 2015.

Elsewhere, Dave Chisnall secured just his second victory over Michael van Gerwen in his last 14 attempts. Chisnall averaged 111 in beating MvG 6-3, but he came agonisingly close to hitting a perfect 9-darter in the fourth leg, narrowly missing D12.

Chizzy led 4-0 with a 115 average and whilst van Gerwen showed impressive resistance, posting a 105 average himself, the St Helen’s ace was in inspired form and deserved his victory. Unfortunately he couldn’t replicate this performance in the semis against Peter Wright, where he averaged 90 and crashed out 6-3.

Wright continued his fine Pro Tour form; as he reached another Players Championship final. His progress was reasonably comfortable early on. He beat Steve Hine 6-4 in round one, before overcoming Steve Brown 6-3 in the last 64.

In the following two rounds, he dropped just two legs against Mark Webster and Aden Kirk, before he faced his toughest assessment against Jelle Klaasen in the quarters. The 2006 Lakeside Champion pushed Wright to a last-leg decider, but the Scot held his nerve to progress.

Adrian Lewis, Gary Anderson and Vincent van der Voort were all shock opening round casualties in Barnsley. Lewis and Anderson lost to Ricky Evans and Cristo Reyes respectively, whilst van der Voort was beaten by nine-dart hero Devon Petersen.

This was a big result for Raymond van Barneveld, who now leads van der Voort by £2,500 in the PDC Order of Merit, as he sweats on maintaining his world ranking of 16, which will see him qualify for next week’s World Grand Prix.

Players Championship 15

Saturday September 26, Barnsley Metrodome

First Round

Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-0 Adam Hunt

Steve Douglas 4-6 Mike de Decker

David Pallett (32) 3-6 Darren Webster

Andy Hamilton 4-6 Max Hopp

Benito van de Pas (16) 6-2 Johnny Haines

John Part 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena

Simon Whitlock (17) 6-5 Kevin Painter

Trevor Burkhill 6-2 Joe Cullen

Dave Chisnall (8) 6-2 Mark Dudbridge

Andy Boulton 4-6 Jason Lovett

Joe Murnan (25) 3-6 Christian Kist

Stuart Kellett 6-2 Joey ten Berge

Gary Anderson (9) 3-6 Cristo Reyes

Kevin Thomas 6-4 Alan Tabern

Andrew Gilding (24) 6-4 Eddie Dootson

Tony Richardson 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Peter Wright (5) 6-4 Steve Hine

Jamie Robinson 5-6 Steve Brown

Mark Webster (28) 6-3 Dimitri van den Bergh

Martyn Turner 0-6 James Wilson

Justin Pipe (12) 6-2 Luke Woodhouse

Aden Kirk 6-3 WIlliam O’Connor

Gerwyn Price (21) 3-6 Mark Barilli

Mark Frost 1-6 Ronny Huybrechts

Adrian Lewis (4) 4-6 Ricky Evans

Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Lee Palfreyman

Jamie Caven (29) 3-6 Wayne Jones

Jan Dekker 5-6 Matt Padgett

Jelle Klaasen (13) 6-1 Ian Moss

Dennis Smith 4-6 Nathan Derry

Stephen Bunting (20) 6-3 Jay Foreman

Ben Ward 0-6 Ken Macneil

Michael Smith (2) 6-2 Kevin McDine

Mick Todd 6-5 Matthew Edgar

Rowby-John Rodriguez (31) 2-6 Terry Temple

Mike Zuydwijk 3-6 Michael Barnard

Vincent van der Voort (15) 4-6 Devon Petersen

Jason Marriott 6-2 Roxy-James Rodriguez

Mervyn King (18) 6-3 Prakash Jiwa

Ross Twell 6-4 Stephen Willard

Ian White (7) 6-3 Dean Winstanley

Steve West 6-4 Stephen McNally

Keegan Brown (26) 1-6 Nigel Heydon

Jamie Bain 6-1 Brian Woods

Kim Huybrechts (10) 6-2 Nick Fullwell

Matt Clark 6-3 Chris Dobey

Steve Beaton (23) 3-6 Wes Newton

Andy Parsons 3-6 Tony Newell

Robert Thornton (6) 6-3 Robbie Green

Curtis Hammond 3-6 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Jamie Lewis (27) 6-3 Darren Johnson

Shaun Griffiths 6-1 Ronnie Baxter

Brendan Dolan (11) 6-0 Kevin Bambrick

Mickey Mansell 3-6 Gary Stone

John Henderson (22) 6-2 Colin Osborne

Barrie Bates 0-6 Jonny Clayton

James Wade (3) 6-5 Arron Monk

Jason Wilson 6-2 Alan Norris

Daryl Gurney (30) 6-2 Mark Walsh

Jyhan Artut 6-4 David Ladley

Terry Jenkins (14) 6-5 Jim Walker

Colin Lloyd 6-4 Andy Jenkins

Mensur Suljovic (19) 2-6 Andy Smith

Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 John Bowles

Second Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Mike de Decker

Darren Webster 6-5 Max Hopp

Benito van de Pas 6-3 John Part

Simon Whitlock 6-4 Trevor Burkhill

Dave Chisnall 6-3 Jason Lovett

Christian Kist 6-1 Stuart Kellett

Cristo Reyes 6-1 Kevin Thomas

Andrew Gilding 6-2 Tony Richardson

Peter Wright 6-3 Steve Brown

Mark Webster 6-3 James Wilson

Justin Pipe 5-6 Aden Kirk

Mark Barilli 4-6 Ronny Huybrechts

Ricky Evans 6-4 Nathan Aspinall

Wayne Jones 6-3 Matt Padgett

Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Nathan Derry

Stephen Bunting 6-1 Ken Macneil

Michael Smith 5-6 Mick Todd

Terry Temple 5-6 Michael Barnard

Devon Petersen 6-5 Jason Marriott

Mervyn King 1-6 Ross Twell

Ian White 6-3 Steve West

Nigel Heydon 1-6 Jamie Bain

Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Matt Clark

Wes Newton 6-4 Tony Newell

Robert Thornton 6-2 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Jamie Lewis 6-3 Shaun Griffiths

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Gary Stone

John Henderson 4-6 Jonny Clayton

James Wade 6-0 Jason Wilson

Daryl Gurney 6-1 Jyhan Artut

Terry Jenkins 6-5 Colin Lloyd

Andy Smith 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Darren Webster

Benito van de Pas 6-3 Simon Whitlock

Dave Chisnall 6-1 Christian Kist

Cristo Reyes 6-2 Andrew Gilding

Peter Wright 6-1 Mark Webster

Aden Kirk 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts

Ricky Evans 5-6 Wayne Jones

Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Stephen Bunting

Mick Todd 5-6 Michael Barnard

Devon Petersen 6-4 Ross Twell

Ian White 4-6 Jamie Bain

Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Wes Newton

Robert Thornton 6-4 Jamie Lewis

Brendan Dolan 6-4 Jonny Clayton

James Wade 3-6 Daryl Gurney

Terry Jenkins 6-3 Andy Smith

Last 16

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Benito van de Pas

Dave Chisnall 6-3 Cristo Reyes

Peter Wright 6-1 Aden Kirk

Wayne Jones 5-6 Jelle Klaasen

Michael Barnard 5-6 Devon Petersen

Jamie Bain 5-6 Kim Huybrechts

Robert Thornton 3-6 Brendan Dolan

Daryl Gurney 3-6 Terry Jenkins


Michael van Gerwen 3-6 Dave Chisnall

Peter Wright 6-5 Jelle Klaasen

Devon Peterseon 4-6 Kim Huybrechts

Brendan Dolan 1-6 Terry Jenkins


Dave Chisnall 3-6 Peter Wright

Kim Huybrechts 4-6 Terry Jenkins


Peter Wright 4-6 Terry Jenkins

Winner: £10,000

Runner-Up: £5,000

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: