Double-Delight for Webster, as Jenkins, Dobey and van den Bergh claim World Series Spots!

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Mark Webster completed a phenomenal day’s work in Coventry, as he secured qualification to the World Series of Darts Finals, alongside Terry Jenkins, Chris Dobey and Dimitri van den Bergh.

Webster secured qualification to the Grand Slam of Darts earlier in the day, and dropped just four legs en route to qualifying for the World Series of Darts finals in Braehead, Glasgow.

He whitewashed Arron Monk 6-0 and thrashed Jason Wilson 6-1 to reach the last 16. He then defeated Raymond van Barneveld’s protégé Mike Zuydwijk 6-3 to reach the final qualifying round.

Webby faced Jelle Klaasen for a place at the World Series and produced a sublime display to whitewash ‘The Cobra’ 6-0. Klaasen fell at the final hurdle in both qualifying events today, although he may still qualify for the Grand Slam in November, as he’s on the current list of reserves.

9-Time major finalist Terry Jenkins will be appearing in Glasgow in November, after winning his respective matches with relative ease. He cruised past Prakash Jiwa 6-1 in the opening round of qualifying, before beating the talented Daryl Gurney 6-2.

‘The Bull’ beat World Matchplay quarter-finalist Gerwyn Price 6-3 to reach the final round of qualification, before confirming his spot with a 6-2 drubbing of Darren Webster.

Chris Dobey showed his class as he progressed through 5 matches to qualify for his first televised event in the PDC. He had a very tough start;he faced Andrew Gilding in the preliminary round, but Dobey beat Goldfinger 6-2 to progress to the first round.

Dobey subsequently eased past Magnus Caris and Brian Woods, dropping just two legs in beating the veterans by the same 6-1 scoreline.

The youngster, managed by World Champion Gary Anderson, beat Wayne Jones 6-3; had earlier qualified for the Grand Slam, to set up a decisive game against Kim Huybrechts.

The Belgian, who won his second European Tour title of his career last weekend, was red-hot favourite, but Dobey upset the odds, as he prevailed 6-5 in a nail-biting contest.

However, whilst one Belgian was left bitterly disappointed, another was jubilant, as Dimitri van den Bergh also secured qualification to his first television major. Van den Bergh came through an extremely difficult draw to secure his spot at the World Series.

After easing past Matthew Edgar in the opening stage of qualification, van den Bergh edged through a last-leg decider against Stuart Kellett, to set up a last 16 clash against Vincent van der Voort.

Van den Bergh again progressed courtesy of a last-leg decider, which rounded off a disappointing day for the ‘Dutch Destroyer’.

Van den Bergh faced Mervyn King in the final round of qualifying, with Mervyn attempting to secure a World Series spot on top of his earlier Grand Slam qualification. However, King was denied double delight at the Ricoh Arena, as van den Bergh claimed a brilliant 6-3 victory.

World Series of Darts Finals Qualifier

Friday October 23, Ricoh Arena, Coventry
Preliminary Round

Magnus Caris 6-3 Jyhan Artut
Chris Dobey 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Wayne Jones 6-5 John Bowles
David Pallett 6-3 Mark Walsh
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Matt Padgett
Steve McNally 6-3 Alan Tabern
Steve Brown 6-5 Mick Todd
Colin Lloyd 6-3 Joey Ten Berge
Kevin Painter 6-2 Ross Smith
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-0 Steve Beaton
Andy Boulton 6-5 Nathan Derry
Jason Wilson 6-5 Alan Norris
Andy Smith 6-1 William O’Connor
Ian Moss 6-5 Colin Osborne
Mark Barilli 6-1 Jonny Clayton
Stuart Kellett 6-2 Haruki Muramatsu
John Henderson 6-5 Robbie Green
Wes Newton 6-1 Ronnie Baxter
Mervyn King 6-3 Jamie Caven
Ricky Evans 6-4 Jim Walker
Josh Payne 6-3 Nigel Heydon
James Wilson 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Mark Frost 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Ronny Huybrechts 6-2 Tomas Seyler
Mark Dudbridge 6-4 Tony Newell
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Darren Johnson
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Ken MacNeil

First Round
Brian Woods 6-4 Steve Hine
Chris Dobey 6-1 Magnus Caris
Paul Milford 6-1 Kevin McDine
Wayne Jones 6-3 David Pallett
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Cristo Reyes 6-2 Steve McNally
Adam Hunt 6-1 Robert Owen
Steve Brown 6-5 Lee Palfreyman
Jason Lovett 6-1 Ben Ward
Kevin Painter 6-3 Colin Lloyd
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Mark Webster 6-0 Arron Monk
Jason Wilson 6-4 Andy Boulton
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Terry Temple
Mike Zuydwijk 6-4 Andy Smith
Vincent van der Voort Bye (Stephen Willard withdrew)
Ian Moss 6-2 Mark Barilli
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Stuart Kellett 6-1 John Henderson
John Part 6-1 Steve West
Mervyn King 6-2 Wes Newton
Dave Ladley 6-4 Connie Finnan
Ricky Evans 6-3 Dean Winstanley
Darren Webster 6-3 Gary Stone
James Wilson 6-5 Josh Payne
Joe Cullen 6-1 Mickey Mansell
Ronny Huybrechts 6-0 Mark Frost
Terry Jenkins 6-1 Prakash Jiwa
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Mark Dudbridge
Johnny Haines 6-1 Jamie Robinson
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Jamie Bain

Second Round
Chris Dobey 6-1 Brian Woods
Wayne Jones 6-5 Paul Milford
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Cristo Reyes
Adam Hunt 6-1 Steve Brown
Jason Lovett 6-3 Kevin Painter
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Mark Webster 6-1 Jason Wilson
Mike Zuydwijk 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Ian Moss
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Stuart Kellett
Mervyn King 6-3 John Part
Ricky Evans 6-2 Dave Ladley
Darren Webster 6-5 James Wilson
Joe Cullen 6-1 Ronny Huybrechts
Terry Jenkins 6-2 Daryl Gurney
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Johnny Haines

Third Round
Chris Dobey 6-3 Wayne Jones
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Adam Hunt
Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Jason Lovett
Mark Webster 6-3 Mike Zuydwijk
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Mervyn King 6-3 Ricky Evans
Darren Webster 6-4 Joe Cullen
Terry Jenkins 6-3 Gerwyn Price

Fourth Round
Chris Dobey 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Mark Webster 6-0 Jelle Klaasen
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Mervyn King
Terry Jenkins 6-2 Darren Webster

Chris Dobey
Mark Webster
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Terry Jenkins

2015 World Series of Darts Ranking – Top 8:

1. Phil Taylor
2. Adrian Lewis
3. Michael van Gerwen
4. Peter Wright
5. James Wade
6. Raymond van Barneveld
7. Gary Anderson
8. Stephen Bunting

Michael Smith
Keegan Brown
Devon Petersen
Kyle Anderson
Jamie Lewis
Rowby-John Rodriguez
Benito van de Pas
Max Hopp
Robert Thornton
Ian White
Dave Chisnall
Simon Whitlock


Mark Webster
Dimitri van den Bergh
Chris Dobey
Terry Jenkins

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: