ET1/2 UK Qualifiers-Results + Jabba hits nine-darter!

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Jamie Caven hit a magnificent 9-dart finish en route to sealing qualification for the Dutch Darts Masters on Sunday afternoon at the Robin Park Tennis Centre in Wigan.

Caven produded the perfect leg in his 6-1 demolition of Mark Barilli, but his route was somewhat unorthodox. He posted scores of 171 and 180 to leave 150, before completing the nine-dart leg with a spectacular checkout; T20, Bull, D20.

Caven had earlier beaten Jay Foreman 6-3 in the opening qualification tie, but his victory over Barilli, who himself secured a tour-card at Q-School yesterday, saw ‘Jabba’ seal his spot in the Dutch Darts Masters in Venray. Yet, he was unable to repeat his heroics and qualify for the German Darts Masters, losing 6-5 to Robert Owen.

Elsewhere, Kevin Painter, Stephen Bunting, Daryl Gurney, Devon Petersen and James Richardson enjoyed tremendous days, as they were the only four players to secure qualification for both upcoming European Tour events.

Mervyn King and Simon Whitlock, both of whom have recently fallen outside the world’s top 16, both qualified for the Dutch Darts Masters, yet they suffered premature exits in the qualifier for the German Darts Masters. Whitlock and King were beaten in the first-round of qualifying by Ryan Harrington and Mick McGowan respectively.

Former World Championship finalist Ronnie Baxter qualified for next month’s Dutch Darts Masters in Venray after recording victories over Steve Brown and Alan Norris. However, Norris made amends by beating Matt Edgar and Alan Hunt in qualifying for the German Darts Masters.

The young duo of Ricky Evans and David Pallett will be present in Venray next month after qualifying for the Dutch Darts Masters, whilst the Welsh trio of Gerwyn Price, Jamie Lewis and Kevin Thomas also sealed qualification.

The qualifier for the German Darts Masters saw a number of unseeded players seal their spot in the second European Tour event of 2016. Mark Walsh, Chris Dobey, Ben Davies, John Bowles, Nathan Aspinall, Darren Johnson, Peter Hudson and William O’Connor all came through qualification, beating a number of high-profile players along the way.

Former world champion Steve Beaton secured his qualification by beating Andy Parsons and Tony Newell, whilst 2015 UK Open semi-finalist Andrew Gilding defeated Robbie Green 6-5 to secure qualification for Germany, denying ‘Kong’ a qualification-double in Wigan.

Andy Hamilton, Wes Newton, Paul Nicholson and Dean Winstanley all endured disappointing afternoons in Wigan, failing to qualify for either of the opening European events.

Former World-Youth Champion Keegan Brown also failed to qualify for either event. Keegan was one leg away from qualifying for Venray, losing 6-5 to Paul Milford. In the second qualifier, he suffered a whitewash 6-0 defeat at the hands of former European Tour finalist Stuart Kellett.

Three-Time world champion John Part failed to make an impression in Wigan on Sunday afternoon. Part was beaten 6-2 by Rob Modra in the opening round of qualifying for the Dutch Darts Masters, but ‘Darth Maple’ suffered deciding-leg heartbreak against Matt Edgar in the second qualification event.

Dutch Darts Masters – 2016 ET1
UK Qualifier
Sunday January 17, Robin Park Tennis Centre Wigan

Second Round
Mervyn King 6-5 Mark Frost
Ross Smith 6-4 Stuart Kellett
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Derek Brand
Andy Boulton 6-3 Adam Smith-Neale
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Dennis Smith
Sean Griffiths 6-1 Steve Hine
Ronnie Baxter 6-4 Alan Norris
Steve Brown 6-4 Jamie Robinson
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Michael Malone
Jonny Haines 6-5 Dave Johnston
Jamie Lewis 6-1 Chris Dobey
Jamie Bain 6-1 Lee Evans
Jason Marriott 6-4 Joe Murnan
Kevin Thomas 6-5 John Bowles
John Henderson 6-0 Aden Kirk
Curtis Hammond 6-1 Ben Ward
Darryl Gurney 6-5 Richard Baillie
Steven Willard 6-4 Martyn Turner
Mark Webster 6-0 Sam Head
Steven McNally 6-3 Terry Temple
James Richardson 6-3 Steve Beaton
Nathan Derry 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Jamie Caven 6-3 Jay Foreman
Mark Barilli 6-3 Andy Smith
Keegan Brown 6-5 Alan Tabern
Paul Milford 6-5 Barrie Bates
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Johnny Clayton
Ricky Evans 6-3 Arron Monk
David Pallett 6-4 Tony Newell
Yugi Eguchi 6-3 Richie Howson
Josh Payne 6-3 Joe Cullen
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Robbie Green 6-3 Darren Webster
Wayne Jones 6-2 Mark Lawrence
Kevin Painter 6-3 Gary Stone
Mick McGowan 6-2 Rob Modra
Devon Petersen 6-5 Wes Newton
Dean Winstanley  6-3 Tony Richardson
Ryan Harrington 6-4 James Wilson
Joey Palfreyman 6-3 Rhys Hayden

Final Round
Mervyn King 6-2 Ross Smith
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Andy Boulton
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Sean Griffiths
Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Steve Brown
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Johnny Haines
Jamie Lewis 6-4 Jamie Bain
Kevin Thomas 6-4 Jason Marriott
John Henderson 6-4 Curtis Hammond
Darryl Gurney 6-2 Steven Willard
Mark Webster 6-1 Stephen McNally
James Richardson 6-5 Nathan Derry
Jamie Caven 6-1 Mark Barilli
Paul Milford 6-5 Keegan Brown
Ricky Evans 6-1 Andrew Gilding
David Pallett 6-4 Yugi Eguchi
Ritchie Edhouse 6-2 Josh Payne
Robbie Green 6-1 Wayne Jones
Kevin Painter 6-4 Mick McGowan
Devon Petersen 6-1 Dean Winstanley
Ryan Harrington 6-3 Joey Palfreyman

Mervyn King
Simon Whitlock
Stephen Bunting
Ronnie Baxter
Gerwyn Price
Jamie Lewis
Kevin Thomas
John Henderson
Daryl Gurney
Mark Webster
James Richardson
Jamie Caven
Paul Milford
Ricky Evans
David Pallett
RItchie Edhouse
Robbie Green
Kevin Painter
Devon Petersen
Ryan Harrington

German Darts Masters – 2016 ET2
UK Qualifier
Sunday January 17, Robin Park Tennis Centre Wigan

Second Round
Ryan Harrington 6-4 Mervyn King
Mark Barilli 6-5 Wes Newton
Mick McGowan 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Mark Walsh 6-2 Paul Nicholson
Stephen Bunting v Kurt Parry
Gary Stone 6-3 Rob Modra
Alan Norris 6-1 Matt Edgar
Adam Hunt 6-2 Dennis Smith
Josh Payne 6-4 Gerwyn Price
Chris Dobey 6-1 Evander Stevenson
Jamie Bain 6-5 Jamie Lewis
Ben Davies v Danny Pinhorne
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Joe Murnan
James Richardson 6-5 Steve Brown
Sam Head 6-4 John Henderson
John Bowles 6-3 Tony Richardson
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Wayne Jones
Johnny Haines 6-3 Adam Smith-Neale
Mark Webster 6-0 Luke Woodhouse
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Richard Baillie
Steve Beaton 6-4 Andy Parsons
Tony Newell 6-1 Brian Woods
Robert Owen 6-5 Jamie Caven
Darren Johnson 6-2 Ben Ward
Stuart Kellett 6-0 Keegan Brown
Curtis Hammond 6-5 Stuart Harding
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Robbie Green 6-1 Alan Tabern
Callum Loose 6-5 David Pallett
Peter Hudson 6-3 Chris Quantock
Joe Cullen 6-2 Richie Howson
Steve West 6-5 Josh Richardson
Darren Webster 6-3 David Fatum
William O’Connor 6-0 Jamie Robinson
Kevin Painter 6-4 Stephen Willard
Paul Milford 6-5 Sean Griffiths
Devon Petersen 6-2 Stephen McNally
Andy Smith 6-2 Andy Boulton
James Wilson 6-0 Matt Clark
Terry Temple 6-5 Nathan Derry

Final Round
Mark Barilli 6-4 Ryan Harrington
Mark Walsh 6-3 Mick McGowan
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Gary Stone
Alan Norris 6-5 Adam Hunt
Chris Dobey 6-3 Josh Payne
Ben Davies 6-4 Jamie Bain
James Richardson 6-3 Andy Hamilton
John Bowles 6-5 Sam Head
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Johnny Haines
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Mark Webster
Steve Beaton 6-2 Tony Newell
Darren Johnson 6-5 Robert Owen
Stuart Kellett 6-5 Curtis Hammond
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Robbie Green
Peter Hudson 6-3 Callum Loose
Joe Cullen 6-4 Steve West
William O’Connor 6-4 Darren Webster
Kevin Painter 6-2 Paul Milford
Devon Petersen 6-5 Andy Smith
James Wilson 6-2 Terry Temple

Mark Barilli
Mark Walsh
Stephen Bunting
Alan Norris
Chris Dobey
Ben Davies
James Richardson
John Bowles
Daryl Gurney
Nathan Aspinall
Steve Beaton
Darren Johnson
Stuart Kellett
Andrew Gilding
Peter Hudson
Joe Cullen
William O’Connor
Kevin Painter
Devon Petersen
James Wilson


Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: