2016 UK Open Draw Confirmed!

Robert Thornton WC
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The draw for the opening two rounds of the 2016 Coral UK Open was made on Monday afternoon, and Robert Thornton, Kevin Painter and Wes Newton are among some of the players set to grace the main stage when the tournament begins on Friday 4th March, at Butlins, Minehead.

The final three UK Open qualifiers took place over the weekend and world number one Michael van Gerwen will be aiming to defend his title in Minehead in a fortnight’s time. Van Gerwen will enter the fray in round three, as he finished top of the UK Open Order of Merit by virtue of winning three of the six qualification events.

The likes of Gary Anderson, Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis, Peter Wright, James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld all finished in the top 32 of the Order of Merit and will subsequently enter in round-three. Nevertheless,  due to the unique open-draw format, the biggest names could collide as early as the last 64 stage.

However, World Grand-Prix champion Robert Thornton, a former UK Open winner back in 2012, will begin his assault for another UK Open crown in the second-round. Thornton finished joint 44th on the overall Order of Merit standings and will face either former World-Youth champion Arron Monk, or Riley’s amateur qualifier Stewart Rattray.

Elsewhere, 2004 world finalist Kevin Painter also enters the fray in round-two, and could face former Lakeside finalist Dean Winstanley. Both Painter and Winstanley are still in the world’s elite top 32, but Winstanley must overcome John Scott before contemplating a showdown with ‘The Artist’.

Other stand-out ties see Lee Evans face off against darts-control member Rowby-John Rodriguez, whilst veterans Andy Jenkins and Waynes Jones also clash. Additionally, former BDO star Jeffrey de Graaf will make his televised PDC debut against either William O’Connor, or Mark Jodrill in round-two.

Northern Irishman Brendan Dolan will begin his UK Open campaign on Friday afternoon, when he takes on the winner of Steven Rose or Scott Marsh in the second-round. Dolan, a quarter-finalist here two years ago, will compete on stage two; but he’s under pressure to perform having recently dropped out of the world’s top 16.

Last year’s semi-finalist Andrew Gilding faces either Ryan de Vreede or Nathan Derry in round-two, whilst exciting Dutch youngster Jeffrey de Zwaan will meet one of Alex Roy or Dennis Smith.

Belgium’s Ronny Huybrechts clashes with Mark Rice in round-one, whilst Dirk van Duijvenbode will face amateur qualifier Michael McFall. If van Duijvenbode progresses, he’ll face ‘The Rock’ Peter Hudson in round-two, after Peter narrowly missed out on securing a third-round berth.

Meanwhile, former UK Open finalist Wes Newton will face Mark Cox in the opening game of the 2016 tournament. ‘The Warrior’ finished joint 84th on the UK Open Order of Merit and will be desperate to avoid an upset in the opening round.

The full draw for round-one and round-two can be viewed below, whilst the draw for the third-round will be made following the culmination of Friday afternoon’s action, due to the open-draw format.

2016 Coral UK Open
Schedule of Play – First & Second Rounds
Friday March 4
Afternoon Session (11.45am-5pm)

Main Stage
First Round
Mark Cox v Wes Newton
Ronny Huybrechts v Mark Rice
Dennis Smith v Alex Roy
Andy Smith v Jermaine Wattimena
Second Round
Jeffrey de Graaf v William O’Connor/Mark Jodrill
Lee Evans v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Arron Monk/Stewart Rattray v Robert Thornton
Kevin Painter v John Scott/Dean Winstanley

Stage Two
First Round
Andy Boulton v Lee Grimshaw
William O’Connor v Mark Jodrill
Jason Molds v Magnus Caris
Mick McGowan v Nathan Aspinall
Second Round
Matt Clark v Mike De Decker
Joey Ten Berge v Mark Dudbridge
Brendan Dolan v Steven Rose/Scott Marsh
Darron Brown v Ryan Harrington/Glen McGrandle

Stage Three
First Round
Kevin Dowling v Dick van Dijk
Curtis Turner v Jonathan Worsley
Arron Monk v Stewart Rattray
Barry Lynn v Dean Stewart
Second Round
Gary Stone/Johnny Haines v Jamie Caven
Andy Brown/Mark Frost v Mark Barilli/Darren Layden
Yordi Meeuwisse v Robbie Green
Jay Foreman v Ronny Huybrechts/Mark Rice

Stage Four
First Round
Ben Green v Jason Hogg
Michael McFall v Dirk van Duijvenbode
Harry Ward v Alan Tabern
Daniel Day v Paul Hogan
Second Round
Wayne Jones v Andy Jenkins
Chris Jones/Paul Milford v Jason Heaver/Steve Maish
Harry Ward/Alan Tabern v Josh Payne/Dave Parletti
Darren Webster/Lee Morris v Scott Dale

Stage Five
First Round
Mark Barilli v Darren Layden
Ian McFarlane v Jonny Clayton
Ryan De Vreede v Nathan Derry
Darren Webster v Lee Morris
Second Round
Richie Corner v Berry van Peer
Dennis Smith/Alex Roy v Jeffrey de Zwaan
Barry Lynn/Dean Stewart v Brett Claydon
Jan Dekker/Andrew Davidson v Cristo Reyes

Stage Six
First Round
Andy Brown v Mark Frost
Paul Whitworth v Joe Murnan
Jan Dekker v Andrew Davidson
Jason Heaver v Steve Maish
Second Round
Les Delderfield/Mark Wilson v Matthew Edgar
David Pallett v Jason Marriott
Ian McFarlane/Jonny Clayton v James Wilson
Mark Cox/Wes Newton v Ken MacNeil/Rob Cross

Stage Seven
First Round
Les Delderfield v Mark Wilson
John Scott v Dean Winstanley
Chris Jones v Paul Milford
Steven Rose v Scott Marsh
Second Round
Paul Whitworth/Joe Murnan v Ritchie Edhouse
Michael McFall/Dirk van Duijvenbode v Peter Hudson
Andy Smith/Jermaine Wattimena v Kevin Dowling/Dick van Dijk
Jason Molds/Magnus Caris v Ben Green/Jason Hogg

Stage Eight
First Round
Gary Stone v Johnny Haines
Ken MacNeil v Rob Cross
Ryan Harrington v Glen McGrandle
Josh Payne v Dave Parletti
Second Round
Curtis Turner/Jonathan Worsley v Andy Boulton/Lee Grimshaw
Andrew Gilding v Ryan De Vreede/Nathan Derry
Daniel Day/Paul Hogan v Tony Newell
Mick McGowan/Nathan Aspinall v Stuart Kellett

Session Schedule
Friday March 4
Afternoon Session (11.45am-5pm)

First Round
Second Round

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Third Round

Saturday March 5
Afternoon Session (12.30pm-5pm)

Fourth Round

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Fifth Round

Sunday March 6
Afternoon Session (12.45pm-5pm)


Evening Session (7pm-11pm)

First Round – Best of 11 legs
Second Round – Best of 11 legs
Third Round – Best of 17 legs
Fourth Round – Best of 17 legs
Fifth Round – Best of 17 legs
Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 legs
Semi-Finals – Best of 19 legs
Final – Best of 21 legs

Prize Fund
Winner £60,000
Runner-Up £30,000
Semi-Finalists £17,000
Quarter-Finalists £10,000
Fifth Round Losers £5,000
Fourth Round Losers £3,000
Third Round Losers £1,500
Total £300,000

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: