UK Open Session 1 Report & Third-Round Draw!

Thornton loses in Hasselt
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Former UK Open champion Robert Thornton was dumped out in the opening session of the this year’s event, as former World-Youth champion Arron Monk came from 3-1 down to stun the world number seven on Friday afternoon at Butlins, Minehead.

Thornton started strongly, surging into a 3-1 lead by virtue of a clinical 110 checkout, helped also by two maximums. Nevertheless, Monk grew in confidence as he contest progressed, producing back-to-back 12-darters with finishes of 109 and 85 to restore parity.

Thornton’s game began to unravel and Monk converted 71 to lead for the first time, before clinching his fourth leg in succession with a two-dart 46 finish. The Scot pinned D20 to reduce the deficit to 5-4, but Monk held his nerve to seal victory with a fabulous 13-darter. This is Thornton’s fourth consecutive first-round major exit, as his struggles continue.

Former UK Open finalist Wes Newton also continues to struggle, as he suffered a shock 6-4 defeat to Riley’s amateur qualifier Rob Cross in round-two. Newton had come through a hard-fought first round tie against Mark Cox on the main stage, but the 2011 finalist failed to progress any further, which will see him fall outside of the world’s top 32.

Dean Winstanley sent former World Championship finalist Kevin Painter packing in the final match of Friday’s afternoon session. Painter has just fallen outside of the world’s top 32, whilst Winstanley is perilously close to losing his top 32 status. Nevertheless, Dean fought back from 2-0 down to defeat ‘The Artist’ and seal a third-round spot.

Last year’s semi-finalist Andrew Gilding was another big-name star to fall at the first hurdle. ‘Goldfinger’ was beaten 6-5 by exciting Dutch youngster Ryan de Vreede in round-two. Mark Dudbridge was another high-profile name to suffer a deciding leg defeat, after being edged out by enigmatic Dutch youngster Joey Ten Berge.

Two former World-Youth Championship finalists also departed in round-two; Rowby-John Rodriguez suffered a 6-2 drubbing against Lee Evans, whilst Nathan Aspinall suffered last-leg heartbreak against Stuart Kellett.

However, the likes of Jamie Caven, Robbie Green, Brendan Dolan and David Pallett all avoided potential upsets, progressing through to round-three in convincing fashion. Former BDO world number one James Wilson also made it through, beating Welshman Jonny Clayton 6-3.

One of the stories of the day was Alex Roy rolling back the years, as ‘The Ace of Herts’ reached round-three courtesy of two fine performances. Roy, a two-time UK Open quarter-finalist, came through the amateur qualifiers to maintain his record of having competed in every single UK Open since its inception in 2003.

Roy dismantled fellow veteran Dennis Smith in round-one, winning 6-1 with a 97 average. In round-two, he faced talented Dutchman Jeffrey de Zwaan, and Roy came from 5-3 down to seal an unlikely victory with a nerveless 101 finish in the decider.

Another fairytale story is being created by 20-year-old Scottish qualifier Andrew Davidson. He edged out former Lakeside finalist Jan Dekker 6-5 in round-one, before beating the mercurial Spaniard Cristo Reyes in the following round.

Former BDO star Jeffrey De Graaf came through a nervy last-leg decider against William O’Connor to reach the last 64. The Dutchman romped into a 3-0 lead, but O’Connor fought back valiantly to force a decider. Jeffrey missed seven match darts, but after O’Connor himself spurned one match dart at tops, De Graaf eventually pinned D4 to seal the win.

Jermaine Wattimena secured fine victories over ‘The Pieman’ Andy Smith and Kevin Dowling to reach round-three, whilst Dirk van Duijvenbode is yet another Dutchman who will feature in the last 64. Van Duijvenbode defeated Michael McFall in round-one, before edging out Peter Hudson in the last 128.

2016 Coral UK Open
Friday March 4
Afternoon Session (11.45am-5pm)

Main Stage
First Round
Wes Newton 6-4 Mark Cox
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Mark Rice
Alex Roy 6-1 Dennis Smith
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Andy Smith
Second Round
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 William O’Connor
Lee Evans 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Arron Monk 6-4 Robert Thornton
Dean Winstanley 6-4 Kevin Painter

Stage Two
First Round
Andy Boulton 6-4 Lee Grimshaw
William O’Connor 6-1 Mark Jodrill
Magnus Caris 6-5 Jason Mold
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Mick McGowan
Second Round
Matt Clark 6-5 Mike De Decker
Joey Ten Berge 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Scott Marsh
Ryan Harrington 6-4 Darron Brown

Stage Three
First Round
Kevin Dowling 6-2 Dick van Dijk
Jonathan Worsley 6-1 Curtis Turner
Arron Monk 6-3 Stewart Rattray
Barry Lynn 6-4 Dean Stewart
Second Round
Jamie Caven 6-2 Gary Stone
Mark Frost 6-4 Mark Barilli
Robbie Green 6-3 Yordi Meeuwisse
Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Jay Foreman

Stage Four
First Round
Ben Green Bye (Jason Hogg eliminated, did not register in time)
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Michael McFall
Harry Ward 6-3 Alan Tabern
Paul Hogan 6-3 Daniel Day
Second Round
Andy Jenkins 6-5 Wayne Jones
Steve Maish 6-4 Paul Milford
Josh Payne 6-1 Harry Ward
Darren Webster 6-2 Scott Dale

Stage Five
First Round
Mark Barilli 6-1 Darren Layden
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Ian McFarlane
Ryan De Vreede 6-3 Nathan Derry
Darren Webster 6-0 Lee Morris
Second Round
Richie Corner 6-5 Berry van Peer
Alex Roy 6-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Barry Lynn 6-4 Brett Claydon
Andrew Davidson 6-4 Cristo Reyes

Stage Six
First Round
Mark Frost 6-0 Andy Brown
Joe Murnan 6-2 Paul Whitworth
Andrew Davidson 6-5 Jan Dekker
Steve Maish 6-5 Jason Heaver
Second Round
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Mark Wilson
David Pallett 6-1 Jason Marriott
James Wilson 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross 6-4 Wes Newton

Stage Seven
First Round
Mark Wilson Bye (Les Delderfield eliminated, did not register in time)
Dean Winstanley 6-5 John Scott
Paul Milford 6-1 Chris Jones
Scott Marsh 6-1 Steven Rose
Second Round
Joe Murnan 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Peter Hudson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Kevin Dowling
Magnus Caris 6-3 Ben Green

Stage Eight
First Round
Gary Stone 6-5 Johnny Haines
Rob Cross 6-3 Ken MacNeil
Ryan Harrington 6-1 Glen McGrandle
Josh Payne 6-2 Dave Parletti
Second Round
Andy Boulton 6-2 Jonathan Worsley
Ryan De Vreede 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Tony Newell 6-1 Paul Hogan
Stuart Kellett 6-5 Nathan Aspinall

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Third Round- Best of 17 legs

Board 1
Adrian Lewis v Tony Newell
Phil Taylor v Arron Monk
Gary Anderson v Dave Chisnall
Michael van Gerwen v Ryan Harrington

Board 2
Alan Norris v Jermaine Wattimena
Simon Whitlock v Ian White
Mark Webster v Matthew Edgar
Steve Beaton v Peter Wright

Board 3
Mark Frost v Joe Cullen
James Wilson v Rene Eidams
Joey ten Berge v Stuart Kellett
Ricky Evans v Andy Boulton

Board 4
Josh Payne v Ryan de Vreede
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Robbie Green
David Pallett v Raymond van Barneveld
Matt Clark v Jelle Klaasen

Board 5
Vincent van der Voort v Dean Winstanley
Jeffrey de Graaf v Rob Cross
Jamie Caven v Lee Evans
Terry Jenkins v Ronny Huybrechts

Board 6
Andrew Davidson v Darren Webster
James Wade v Mensur Suljovic
Kim Huybrechts v Steve Maish
Jamie Lewis v Stephen Bunting

Board 7
Justin Pipe v Alex Roy
Gerwyn Price v Joe Murnan
Kyle Anderson v Andy Hamilton
Brendan Dolan v Barry Lynn

Board 8
Mervyn King v Benito van de Pas
Michael Smith v Daryl Gurney
Magnus Caris v John Henderson
Richie Corner v Andy Jenkins

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: