UK Open Session 2- Taylor v Barney in round-four!

Barney Taylor
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Phil Taylor and Raymond van Barneveld will renew their classic rivalry in round-four of the 2016 UK Open on Saturday afternoon, whilst Michael van Gerwen made an imperious start to the defence of his UK Open crown with a comprehensive 9-2 victory over Ryan Harrington at Butlins, Minehead.

Taylor survived a mini-scare as he defeated former World-Youth champion Arron Monk, who had earlier beaten Robert Thornton in round-two. Taylor led 5-2, before Monk reeled off three straight legs to level up proceedings at 5-5. He did so in terrific style, producing an exhibition 134 finish (T18, D20, D20).

However, the break appeared to quash Monk’s momentum and after spurning opportunities to break Taylor in both the eleventh and thirteenth legs, Taylor prevailed courtesy of a 9-5 scoreline, to keep his hopes of securing a sixth UK Open crown alive.

Two-time UK Open champion Raymond van Barneveld came through a nerve-jangling last-leg decider against the immensely talented David Pallett to reach round four. Pallett led 8-7, but van Barneveld forced a decider, in which he produced an inspired 11-darter against the throw to set up a meeting against his old adversary Taylor.

Elsewhere, Michael Van Gerwen was unable to match his Premier League heroics from the previous weeks, averaging a mere 99.15 and hitting five maximums. However, ‘The Green Machine’ did manage to produce two 170 finishes throughout the match, sealing the win with the maximum checkout, to set up a last 32 clash against Riley’s qualifier Rob Cross.

World Champion Gary Anderson produced a fine comeback to defeat fellow Premier League star Dave Chisnall, in the pick of the round-three match ups. Neither man was at their best, but Chisnall seized the initiative after posting a wonderful 138 checkout to lead 7-5.

However, ‘The Flying Scotsman’ showed admirable tenacity to fightback and he restored parity with a fine 112 checkout. Anderson held throw to move 8-7 ahead with a magnificent 11-darter, before capitalising on missed doubles from Chisnall to win his fourth leg on the spin, to complete a 9-7 triumph.

Adrian Lewis, champion at Minehead back in 2014, kicked off his campaign with a convincing 9-1 win against Tony Newell. Lewis was clinical in the finishing department and never got out of gear, boasting a checkout ratio of 70% for the majority of the encounter.

Michael Smith also progressed by virtue of a last-leg shootout, as he overcame the prodigious talent Daryl Gurney. The Northern Irishman squandered three match darts in the decider, and ‘Bully-Boy’ gratefully accepted the reprieve, pinning D20 to scrape through.

Nevertheless James Wade, a two-time UK Open champion, suffered an early exit, after he was annihilated 9-2 by Mensur Suljovic. Wade led 2-1, but the darts-control man enjoyed an extraordinary surge, reeling off eight legs in succession to oust ‘The Machine’.

Last year’s finalist Peter Wright made a strong start to his campaign, averaging over 100 as he defeated the veteran Steve Beaton 9-5. The scores were tied at 4-4 at one stage, but Snakebite went through the gears to progress to the last 32.

The Australian duo of Simon Whitlock and Kyle Anderson also won through to round-four. Whitlock won 7 out of the final 8 legs as he prevailed 9-6 against world number 12 Ian White. Kyle Anderson progressed in more serene fashion however, with a thumping 9-2 win against former world finalist Andy Hamilton.

It was a good day for the majority of Dutch Darters. Benito van de Pas edged out Mervyn King 9-7, whilst Vincent van der Voort eased past Dean Winstanley by virtue of an emphatic 9-3 scoreline.

Former world champion Jelle Klaasen secured a place in round-four with a hard-fought 9-6 win over Matt Clark, whilst Dirk van Duijvenbode and Ryan de Vreede also tasted victory, against Robbie Green and Josh Payne respectively.

2014 Lakeside world champion Stephen Bunting produced an inspired comeback to edge out young Welshman Jamie Lewis 9-8. Lewis led 8-6, but ‘The Bullet’ clinched the final three legs, which included 12 and 11-darters in the last two legs. 2014 UK Open finalist Terry Jenkins also came through an attritional battle, beating Ronny Huybrechts 9-7.

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Third Round
Main Stage
Adrian Lewis 9-1 Tony Newell
Phil Taylor 9-5 Arron Monk
Gary Anderson 9-7 Dave Chisnall
Michael van Gerwen 9-2 Ryan Harrington

Stage Two
Alan Norris 9-7 Jermaine Wattimena
Simon Whitlock 9-6 Ian White
Mark Webster 9-3 Matthew Edgar
Peter Wright 9-5 Steve Beaton

Stage Three
Joe Cullen 9-1 Mark Frost
James Wilson 9-3 Rene Eidams
Stuart Kellett 9-7 Joey Ten Berge
Ricky Evans 9-5 Andy Boulton

Stage Four
Ryan De Vreede 9-5 Josh Payne
Dirk van Duijvenbode 9-5 Robbie Green
Raymond van Barneveld 9-8 David Pallett
Jelle Klaasen 9-6 Matt Clark

Stage Five
Vincent van der Voort 9-3 Dean Winstanley
Rob Cross 9-8 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jamie Caven 9-7 Lee Evans
Terry Jenkins 9-7 Ronny Huybrechts

Stage Six
Darren Webster 9-5 Andrew Davidson
Mensur Suljovic 9-2 James Wade
Kim Huybrechts 9-1 Steve Maish
Stephen Bunting 9-8 Jamie Lewis

Stage Seven
Justin Pipe 9-6 Alex Roy
Joe Murnan 9-8 Gerwyn Price
Kyle Anderson 9-2 Andy Hamilton
Barry Lynn 9-6 Brendan Dolan

Stage Eight
Benito van de Pas 9-7 Mervyn King
Michael Smith 9-8 Daryl Gurney
John Henderson 9-4 Magnus Caris
Andy Jenkins 9-5 Richie Corner

Fourth Round Draw
Joe Cullen v Alan Norris
Mark Webster v Dirk van Duijvenbode
Vincent van der Voort v Andy Jenkins
Gary Anderson v Barry Lynn
Michael van Gerwen v Rob Cross
Jamie Caven v Stephen Bunting
Michael Smith v Stuart Kellett
Phil Taylor v Raymond van Barneveld
Joe Murnan v Jelle Klaasen
Kyle Anderson v James Wilson
Adrian Lewis v John Henderson
Ricky Evans v Darren Webster
Benito van de Pas v Simon Whitlock
Kim Huybrechts v Justin Pipe
Peter Wright v Terry Jenkins
Ryan De Vreede v Mensur Suljovic

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: