Anderson dumped out in biggest ever UK Open shock, whilst MvG posts a 9-darter!

Gary Anderson
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Barry Lynn caused arguably the biggest upset in UK Open history, as the Riley’s amateur qualifier dismantled world champion Gary Anderson 9-3 to reach the last 16. Meanwhile, Michael van Gerwen produced an extraordinary 9-darter as he continued his title defence at Butlins, Minehead, in magnificent fashion.

Lynn produced the performance of his career, averaging 94.64  hitting a mightily impressive 56% on the doubles to thrash’The Flying Scotsman’. Anderson was admittedly way below par, but take nothing away from the Essex qualifier, who was completely unfazed by the occasion.

Elsewhere, Michael van Gerwen maintained his UK Open title defence with a spectacular victory against another Riley’s qualifier; Rob Cross. ‘The Green Machine’ hit another two stunning 170 checkouts to take his tournament tally to four, but in the tenth leg, he delivered a sensational 9-dart finish.

It was an imperious display from the world number one, who posted 9 maximums and averaged over 107 en route to a 9-5 win. However, Cross also performed majestically, averaging 95 and hitting seven maximums of his own, although it wasn’t enough to overcome MvG.

Phil Taylor kept his hopes of winning a seventh UK Open crown alive, with a convincing 9-3 victory over his old rival Raymond van Barneveld. Van Barneveld averaged over 100 and the scoreline was rather harsh on the Dutchman, but the 16-time world champion was in commanding form, averaging 106 and hitting a sensational 66% on the doubles.

Two-time world champion Adrian Lewis came through a hard-fought contest against John Henderson to remain on course for a second UK Open crown. Jackpot led 6-1 at one stage, but Henderson fought back valiantly to reduce the arrears to 6-4. However, Lewis maintained his composure to close out a 9-6 win.

Last year’s finalist, Peter Wright came through a topsy-turvy clash against Terry Jenkins. The first five legs went against throw, before Jenkins fought back from 5-3 down to level up proceedings at 5-5. However, missed doubles proved costly for ‘The Raging Bull’, who lost four legs on the spin as Snakebite’s quality shone through.

Michael Smith suffered a surprise exit to Cheshire’s Stuart Kellett on board 3, with the former European Tour winner overcoming ‘Bully-Boy’ 9-5. However, Smith’s St Helen’s counterpart Stephen Bunting enjoyed better fortune, as he came through a high-quality contest against Jamie Caven to reach round-four.

Vincent van der Voort eased through to the last 16 with a comprehensive 9-2 win against veteran Andy Jenkins, whilst former world champion Mark Webster also eased through with a convincing 9-4 victory against Dirk van Duijvenbode.

Former Premier League star, Kim Huybrechts, won six legs in succession to ease past the challenge of two-time major semi-finalist Justin Pipe; whilst Darren Webster held his nerve to come through a tense last-leg decider against ‘Rapid’ Ricky Evans.

Jelle Klaasen and Mensur Suljovic also reached round-five by virtue of last-leg deciders. Klaasen overcame the challenge of Bolton’s Joe Murnan, whilst Suljovic, a quarter-finalist in last year’s competition, edged out talented Dutchman Ryan de Vreede.

Joe Cullen produced an inspired comeback to oust former world finalist Alan Norris on board three. Norris stormed into a 5-3 advantage, but ‘The Rockstar’ showed great metal to win six of the remaining seven legs and progress through to the last 16.

Kyle Anderson reached the last 16 by virtue of his second successive 9-2 triumph, as he defeated former BDO world number one James Wilson. However, Kyle’s compatriot Simon Whitlock didn’t enjoy such fortune, as he was comprehensively dispatched 9-3 by Benito van de Pas, as double-trouble haunted ‘The Wizard’.

2016 Coral UK Open
Saturday March 5

Afternoon Session (12.30pm)
Fourth Round Draw and Order of Play

Main Stage
Benito van de Pas 9-3 Simon Whitlock
Peter Wright 9-5 Terry Jenkins
Michael van Gerwen 9-5 Rob Cross – MICHAEL VAN GERWEN HITS NINE-DART FINISH!
Phil Taylor 9-3 Raymond van Barneveld

Stage Two
Stephen Bunting 9-6 Jamie Caven
Vincent van der Voort 9-2 Andy Jenkins
Adrian Lewis 9-6 John Henderson
Barry Lynn 9-3 Gary Anderson

Board Three
Joe Cullen 9-6 Alan Norris
Mark Webster 9-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Stuart Kellett  9-5 Michael Smith
Jelle Klaasen 9-8 Joe Murnan

Board Four
Kim Huybrechts 9-3 Justin Pipe
Kyle Anderson 9-2 James Wilson
Darren Webster 9-8 Ricky Evans
Mensur Suljovic 9-8 Ryan De Vreede

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: