Josh Payne is the shock Players Championship 6 winner!

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Josh Payne won his first senior PDC title at Players Championship six, as he came through an enthralling last-leg decider to edge out eight-time major winner James Wade at the Barnsley Metrodome on Saturday afternoon.

Payne, 22, has won three Development Tour titles, but this is without doubt the finest moment of his career, as he scooped the £10,000 winner’s cheque by beating ‘The Machine’ in an epic curtain-raiser.

Payne saw off the established trio of Gerwyn Price, Ronny Huybrechts and Wes Newton, before he secured his quarter-final berth with a 6-4 victory over former world finalist Kevin Painter. Payne then edged out Mensur Suljovic 6-5 in the last eight, before overcoming Steve Brown 6-3 to reach his maiden Pro Tour final.

It was a fantastic day for Brown however, as he reached his first PDC ranking semi-final for over 5 years, beating the likes of Joe Cullen, James Richardson, Antonio Alcinas, James Wilson and Simon Whitlock.

Payne faced James Wade in the final, as ‘The Machine’ set his sights on his first Pro Tour victory since July 2015. The left-hander dropped just three legs in dispatching Dave Ladley and Dean Winstanley, before coming through a deciding-leg against Devon Petersen to reach the last 16.

Wade earned a hard-fought win against Jim Walker, before coming through another last-leg shootout against fellow Premier League star Peter Wright. Wade then secured his spot in Saturday’s final with a 6-4 triumph against Vincent van der Voort, who enjoyed a welcome return to form in Barnsley.

Van der Voort had failed to register a single Pro Tour victory in 2016 before today’s action, but he overcame Peter Hudson, Paul Nicholson, Robert Thornton, Jamie Caven and Nathan Aspinall, before succumbing to Wade.

The final between Payne and Wade was an extremely even affair, but with Wade sat on D20 to clinch the title, the 22-year-old from Kent stunned ‘The Machine’ with a brilliant 116 checkout.

Elsewhere, Irish star Mick McGowan enjoyed a fine run to the last 16, where he was joined by the likes of Ryan Meikle, Jim Walker and Jonny Clayton. However, Ian White and Benito van de Pas, who both tasted victory in the previous Pro Tour weekend, were beaten in round-one by Simon Stevenson and Vincent Kamphuis respectively.

Dave Chisnall recorded his sixth nine-dart finish on the PDC tour during his third-round clash against Jamie Caven, although this wasn’t enough for Chizzy to progress, as Jabba edged through in an eleventh and final leg, before losing to Van der Voort in the last 16.

Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Phil Taylor and Raymond van Barneveld were not present in Barnsley, whilst out of the original list of entrants, two-time world champion Adrian Lewis also pulled out.

Players Championship Six
Saturday April 30, Barnsley Metrodome
First Round

Peter Wright (1) 6-3 Mark Walsh
Dick van Dijk 6-2 Arron Monk
Jason Marriott 6-3 Cristo Reyes (32)
Prakash Jiwa 6-1 Berry van Peer
Max Hopp 6-3 Daryl Gurney (16)
Mick McGowan 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Curtis Hammond 6-4 Justin Pipe (17)
Tony Newell Bye (Terry Temple withdrew through illness)
James Wade (8) 6-1 Dave Ladley
Dean Winstanley 6-5 Nick Fullwell
Devon Petersen 6-2 Keegan Brown (25)
Chris Dobey 6-3 Ronnie Baxter
Jim Walker 6-3 Terry Jenkins (9)
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Ian Moss
Jamie Lewis (24) 6-4 Shaun Griffiths
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Dave Chisnall (5) 6-1 Jonathan Worsley
Alan Tabern 6-2 Stephen Willard
Jamie Caven (28) 6-5 Christian Kist
Mike De Decker 6-3 Ross Smith
Robert Thornton (12) 6-2 Jason Lovett
Ricky Evans 6-4 Magnus Caris
Vincent van der Voort (21) 6-3 Peter Hudson
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Jan Dekker
Simon Stevenson 6-5 Ian White (4)
Ryan Meikle 6-3 Jerry Hendriks
Steve West 6-1 Robbie Green (29)
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Dennis Smith
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Alan Norris (13)
Darren Webster 6-1 Mark Barilli
Mark Webster (20) 6-0 Barrie Bates
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Michael Smith (2) 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Darron Brown 6-3 Kevin Thomas
Scott Dale 6-5 David Pallett (31)
Kevin Painter 6-3 William O’Connor
Wes Newton 6-4 Mervyn King (15)
Paul Milford 6-2 Steve McNally
Josh Payne 6-4 Gerwyn Price (18)
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Mick Todd
Jelle Klaasen (7) 6-4 Harry Robinson
Wayne Jones 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Joe Murnan (26) 6-4 Johnny Haines
Robert Owen 6-3 Ricky Williams
Mensur Suljovic (10) 6-3 Andy Boulton
Jamie Robinson 6-4 Simon Preston
Mark Frost 6-1 Steve Beaton (23)
Jason Wilson 6-3 Andy Smith
Vincent Kamphuis 6-3 Benito van de Pas (6)
James Wilson 6-2 Andy Parsons
Kyle Anderson (27) 6-4 Ray Campbell
Darren Johnson 6-2 Ted Evetts
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Stephen Bunting (11)
Antonio Alcinas 6-4 Matt Clark
Steve Brown 6-5 Joe Cullen (22)
James Richardson 6-2 Nigel Daniels
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Kim Huybrechts (3)
Steve Hine 6-5 Mickey Mansell
John Henderson (30) 6-3 John Part
Stuart Kellett 6-2 Jyhan Artut
Simon Whitlock (14) 6-1 Jay Foreman
John Bowles 6-4 Lee Evans
Brendan Dolan (19) 6-3 Nathan Derry
Nigel Heydon 6-1 Ryan Palmer

Second Round
Peter Wright 6-1 Dick van Dijk
Prakash Jiwa 6-4 Jason Marriott
Mick McGowan 6-5 Max Hopp
Tony Newell 6-1 Curtis Hammond
James Wade 6-2 Dean Winstanley
Devon Petersen 6-1 Chris Dobey
Jim Walker 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Jamie Lewis
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Alan Tabern
Jamie Caven 6-4 Mike De Decker
Robert Thornton 6-3 Ricky Evans
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Steve West
Andrew Gilding 6-1 Darren Webster
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Mark Webster
Michael Smith 6-1 Darron Brown
Kevin Painter 6-3 Scott Dale
Wes Newton 6-1 Paul Milford
Josh Payne 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Wayne Jones
Joe Murnan 6-0 Robert Owen
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Jamie Robinson
Jason Wilson 6-4 Mark Frost
James Wilson 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Darren Johnson
Antonio Alcinas 6-2 Andy Jenkins
Steve Brown 6-4 James Richardson
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Steve Hine
Stuart Kellett 6-5 John Henderson
Simon Whitlock 6-1 John Bowles
Nigel Heydon 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Losers £500

Third Round
Peter Wright 6-2 Prakash Jiwa
Mick McGowan 6-5 Tony Newell
James Wade 6-5 Devon Petersen
Jim Walker 6-5 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jamie Caven 6-5 Dave Chisnall – Dave Chisnall hits nine-dart finish
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Robert Thornton
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Kevin Painter 6-3 Michael Smith
Josh Payne 6-3 Wes Newton
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Joe Murnan
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Jason Wilson
James Wilson 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Steve Brown 6-3 Antonio Alcinas
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Stuart Kellett
Simon Whitlock 6-0 Nigel Heydon
Losers £1,000

Fourth Round
Peter Wright 6-3 Mick McGowan
James Wade 6-4 Jim Walker
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Jamie Caven
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Josh Payne 6-4 Kevin Painter
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Steve Brown 6-2 James Wilson
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Losers £1,500

James Wade 6-5 Peter Wright
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Josh Payne 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Steve Brown 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Losers £2,250

James Wade 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Josh Payne 6-3 Steve Brown
Losers £3,000

Josh Payne 6-5 James Wade
Winner £10,000
Runner-Up £6,000

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: