Van de Pas storms to Players Championship Nine glory with 111 average!

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Benito van de Pas won his second Pro Tour title of the year with a stunning 6-0 whitewash victory over Joe Cullen in the final of Players Championship Nine at the Ricoh Arena, Coventry, on Sunday afternoon.

Van de Pas enjoyed a fine day at the Ricoh, reaching his third Pro Tour final of the year and averaging 111 in Sunday’s curtain-raiser. Cullen averaged an impressive 102.38, but he wasn’t given a sniff. Benito kicked off proceedings with victory over his fellow Dutchman Christian Kist, before easing past Andy Boulton 6-2.

‘Big Ben’ then breezed through to the quarter-finals, dropping just one leg against Nathan Aspinall and Jason Wilson respectively. Van de Pas later defeated Justin Pipe 6-3 in the last eight, after Pipe had previously seen off Stephen Bunting and Chris Dobey.

Van de Pas then romped into the final after dismantling Darren Webster 6-1. Webster had claimed a series of creditable scalps throughout the afternoon, beating Kyle Anderson, Kevin Painter, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Mark Walsh and Alan Norris. Nevertheless, his fine run was ended by the 23-year-old Dutchman in the last four.

However, Joe Cullen also continued his tremendous run of form by reaching his maiden senior Pro Tour final in Coventry.  Cullen battled past Simon Preston in round-one, before surviving a deciding-leg against Andy Hamilton to reach the third-round.

‘The Rockstar’ eased past Antonio Alcinas to reach the last 16, before sealing his semi-final berth by virtue of successive 6-4 victories against Andrew Gilding and Dave Chisnall. Cullen faced Steve Beaton in the last four, prevailing by virtue of another deciding leg.

However, Beaton performed superbly throughout the day, defeating a number of in-form players with emphatic ease. ‘The Bronzed Adonis’ defeated Darren Johnson and former BDO world number one James Wilson to reach the last 32, before dropping just six legs in beating the trio of Jelle Klaasen, Mensur Suljovic and Peter Wright.

However, James Wade, Michael Smith and Robert Thornton were three high-profile seeds to depart in the opening round on Sunday. Wade and Smith were edged out by Andrew Gilding and Jermaine Wattimena respectively, whilst Thornton was thrashed 6-1 by Jason Wilson.

Vincent van der Voort and Ian White also suffered surprise early exits. Van der Voort was beaten 6-4 by his compatriot Yordi Meeuwisse, whilst White suffered a deciding-leg defeat against Ron Meulenkamp.

Jeffrey de Zwaan claimed the headlines at the Ricoh Arena, hitting a 9-darter in his second-round victory against Meulenkamp. ‘The Black Cobra’ edged out Simon Stevenson in his opening match, before hitting the perfect leg in a 6-3 win against Meulenkamp. However, he was beaten in a deciding leg by semi-finalist Darren Webster in the last 32.

The likes of Michael van Gerwen, Phil Taylor, Gary Anderson, Adrian Lewis and Raymond van Barneveld were not present in Coventry this weekend, as they prepare for the Dubai Darts Masters, which begins on Thursday.

Players Championship Nine
Sunday May 22, Ricoh Arena Coventry
First Round

Peter Wright (1) 6-3 Robert Owen
Steve Hine 6-4 Mike De Decker
Robbie Green (32) 6-3 Dennis Smith
Mick Todd 6-1 Mark Frost
Daryl Gurney (16) 6-1 Nigel Daniels
Tony Newell 6-0 Matthew Dennant
Mervyn King (17) 6-4 Matt Clark
Jim Walker 6-3 Alan Tabern
Jelle Klaasen (8) 6-5 Ross Smith
Ted Evetts 6-2 Mike Zuydwijk
Steve Beaton (25) 6-4 Darren Johnson
James Wilson 6-4 Magnus Caris
Mensur Suljovic (9) 6-0 Scott Dale
Peter Hudson 6-3 Jonathan Worsley
Josh Payne (24) 6-4 Mick McGowan
William O’Connor 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Dave Chisnall (5) 6-5 Ronnie Baxter
Mark Barilli 6-2 Jeffrey de Graaf
Max Hopp (28) 6-4 John Bowles
Harry Robinson 6-4 Ken MacNeil
Gerwyn Price (12) 6-2 Dave Ladley
Ray Campbell 6-5 Stuart Kellett
Jamie Caven (21) 6-1 Paul Milford
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Devon Petersen
Andrew Gilding 6-5 James Wade (4)
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Jyhan Artut
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Jamie Lewis (29)
Steve West 6-0 Ryan Meikle
Simon Whitlock (13) 6-1 Steve McNally
Antonio Alcinas 6-3 Ryan Palmer
Joe Cullen (20) 6-3 Simon Preston
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Kevin Dowling 6-5 Michael Smith (2)
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Andy Smith
Cristo Reyes (31) 6-3 John Part
Chris Dobey 6-2 Vincent Kamphuis
Stephen Bunting (15) 6-4 Curtis Hammond
Paul Nicholson 6-2 Darron Brown
Justin Pipe (18) 6-0 Ricky Williams
Nathan Derry 6-2 Steve Brown
Benito van de Pas (7) 6-3 Christian Kist
Andy Boulton 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez (26)
Jason Marriott 6-2 Jerry Hendriks
Jason Wilson 6-1 Robert Thornton (10)
Ricky Evans 6-2 Keegan Brown
Mark Webster (23) 6-1 Wes Newton
Brian Woods 6-2 Ian Moss
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Ian White (6)
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Simon Stevenson
Darren Webster 6-3 Kyle Anderson (27)
Kevin Painter 6-4 Shaun Griffiths
Terry Jenkins (11) 6-5 Lee Evans
Jamie Robinson 6-3 Prakash Jiwa
Nigel Heydon 6-3 Brendan Dolan (22)
Mark Walsh 6-4 Terry Temple
Kim Huybrechts (3) 6-2 Pete Dyos
Berry van Peer 6-2 Jason Lovett
Jan Dekker 6-5 John Henderson (30)
Joe Murnan 6-4 Wayne Jones
Alan Norris (14) 6-1 Dick van Dijk
Dean Winstanley 6-5 Stephen Willard
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-4 Vincent van der Voort (19)
James Richardson 6-2 Andy Jenkins

Second Round
Peter Wright 6-2 Steve Hine
Mick Todd 6-5 Robbie Green
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Tony Newell
Mervyn King 6-1 Jim Walker
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Ted Evetts
Steve Beaton 6-3 James Wilson
Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Peter Hudson
Josh Payne 6-5 William O’Connor
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Mark Barilli
Max Hopp 6-1 Harry Robinson
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Ray Campbell
Jamie Caven 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Ronny Huybrechts
Steve West 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Antonio Alcinas 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Joe Cullen 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Kevin Dowling 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Chris Dobey 6-5 Cristo Reyes
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Justin Pipe 6-0 Nathan Derry
Benito van de Pas 6-2 Andy Boulton
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Jason Marriott
Jason Wilson 6-4 Ricky Evans
Mark Webster 6-1 Brian Woods
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp – Jeffrey de Zwaan hits nine-dart finish
Darren Webster 6-5 Kevin Painter
Jamie Robinson 6-2 Terry Jenkins
Mark Walsh 6-2 Nigel Heydon
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Berry van Peer
Joe Murnan 6-2 Jan Dekker
Alan Norris 6-2 Dean Winstanley
James Richardson 6-3 Yordi Meeuwisse
Losers £500

Third Round
Peter Wright 6-0 Mick Todd
Mervyn King 6-1 Daryl Gurney
Steve Beaton 6-1 Jelle Klaasen
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Josh Payne
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Max Hopp
Jamie Caven 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Steve West
Joe Cullen 6-2 Antonio Alcinas
Chris Dobey 6-1 Kevin Dowling
Justin Pipe 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Benito van de Pas 6-0 Nathan Aspinall
Jason Wilson 6-5 Mark Webster
Darren Webster 6-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Mark Walsh 6-2 Jamie Robinson
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Joe Murnan
Alan Norris 6-3 James Richardson
Losers £1,000

Fourth Round
Peter Wright 6-4 Mervyn King
Steve Beaton 6-2 Mensur Suljovic
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Jamie Caven
Joe Cullen 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Justin Pipe 6-4 Chris Dobey
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Jason Wilson
Darren Webster 6-1 Mark Walsh
Alan Norris 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Losers £1,500

Steve Beaton 6-3 Peter Wright
Joe Cullen 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Benito van de Pas 6-3 Justin Pipe
Darren Webster 6-5 Alan Norris
Losers £2,250

Steve Beaton v Joe Cullen
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Darren Webster
Losers £3,000

Benito van de Pas 6-0 Joe Cullen
Winner £10,000
Runner-Up £6,000

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: