World Cup of Darts Teams Announced!

Holland World Cup of Darts.jpg
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The teams for the 2016 Betway World Cup of Darts have been announced, and five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld will represent tournament favourites Netherlands along with world number one Michael van Gerwen, following Jelle Klaasen’s withdrawal last week.

Van Barneveld and Van Gerwen won the title together in 2014, and they’ll be hoping to repeat this success in Frankfurt this year. Netherlands, who also won the inaugural staging of this competition in 2010, are 6/4 favourites with title sponsor Betway to lift this trophy for a third time, but they’ll be seeded third in Germany.

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis will represent reigning champions England for the fifth consecutive year, as they bid for a fourth World Cup title together. The Stoke duo defeated Scotland in last year’s final, and they will be looking forward to continuing their partnership as top seeds in 2016.

World champion Gary Anderson will once again represent Scotland, although he’ll be doing so alongside World Grand-Prix champion Robert Thornton; not Peter Wright, who is ranked above ‘The Thorn’ on the PDC Order of Merit.

Snakebite’s wife Joanne was embroiled in a social media storm when discussing the Premier League clash between Adrian Lewis and Anderson a fortnight ago. As a consequence, Peter made himself unavailable for selection. However, the Scots are second seeds for this event, and will hope to go one better than last year.

Northern Ireland will be the fourth seeds for this year’s event, as former World Grand-Prix finalist Brendan Dolan teams up with World Cup of Darts debutant Daryl Gurney, who has broken into the world’s top 32 after a fine run of results on the Pro Tour.

Elsewhere, former world champion Mark Webster will represent fifth seeds Wales for the sixth consecutive year, alongside Gerwyn Price, who has won two Players Championship events over the last month.

Sixth seeds Australia will be captained by Simon Whitlock, but for the first time in World Cup history, ‘The Wizard’ will not be teaming up with Paul Nicholson. ‘The Asset’ has been replaced by the high-flying Kyle Anderson.

Belgium, finalists in 2013, will again be represented by the Huybrechts brothers and they’re seeded seventh in this year’s competition. The final seeded nation is Austria, as Mensur Suljovic teams up with Rowby-John Rodriguez for the second year in succession.

In terms of the unseeded nations, hosts Germany will be represented by World-Youth champion Max Hopp and veteran Jyhan Artut, as they prepare to take on Australia in the opening round.

Spain will meet England in round-one, as they hope to repeat their 2010 victory over the three-time champions. Antonio Alcinas, who was part of that Spanish side which caused the tournament’s greatest ever shock six years ago, will compete alongside Cristo Reyes.

The New Zealand duo of Warren Parry and Cody Harris will team up to face last year’s finalists Scotland, whilst Russia’s Aleksandr Oreshkin and Boris Koltsov will lock horns with Van Gerwen and Van Barneveld.

Hong Kong, quarter-finalists in Frankfurt twelve months ago, will face the Republic of Ireland in round-one. Royden Lam and Scott MacKenzie will be hoping to repeat last year’s heroics, when they meet William O’Connor and Mick McGowan.

2016 World Championship qualifier Alex Tagarao will now compete for the Philippines as a replacement for Lourence Ilagan, who withdrew through illness. Tagarao will line-up with Gilbert Ulang for their first round clash against the strong American pairing of Darin Young and Larry Butler.

Three-time world champion John Part will lead Canada’s campaign alongside his experienced compatriot Ken MacNeil. Canada take on Greece, who are making their first ever World Cup appearance. The Greeks will be marshalled by John Michael and Ioannis Selachoglou.

Devon Petersen and Graham Filby will lead South Africa’s assault in Frankfurt, when they meet Singapore, who are represented by Harith Lim, and the legendary Paul Lim. The first-round will also host an all-Scandinavian affair, as Denmark’s Per Laursen and Daniel Jensen do battle against Sweden’s Magnus Caris and Daniel Larsson.

Finland’s dangerous duo of Marko Kantele and Kim Viljanen will take on fifth seeds Wales, whilst Poland’s Krzysztof Ratajski and Mariusz Paul are tasked with dislodging the Huybrechts brothers.

Elsewhere, Italy’s Daniele Petri and Michel Furlanis will do battle against eighth seeds Austria, whilst Japan’s pairing of Keita Ono and Haruki Muramatsu take on fourth seeds Northern Ireland in round-one.

Robert Wagner will represent Norway once again this year, alongside debutant Cor Dekker. The Norwegian duo will face Gibraltar’s Manuel Vilerio, and Dyson Parody, who reached the quarter-finals of the recent Gibraltar Darts Masters.

The Czech Republic’s Michal Kocik and Pavel Drtil will play China’s Yuanjun Liu and Wenge Xie, whilst finally, Thailand’s Thanawat Gaweenuntawong and Attapol Eupakaree will lock horns against the Hungarian duo of Nandor Bezzeg and Patrik Kovaks.

Betway World Cup of Darts-Seeded Nations
1 – England – Phil Taylor & Adrian Lewis
2 – Scotland – Gary Anderson & Robert Thornton
3 – Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld
4 – Northern Ireland – Brendan Dolan & Daryl Gurney
5 – Wales – Mark Webster & Gerwyn Price
6 – Australia – Simon Whitlock & Kyle Anderson
7 – Belgium – Kim Huybrechts & Ronny Huybrechts
8 – Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez
NB: The Order of Merit totals for Northern Ireland & Wales were identical (49) and therefore the team with the highest-ranked individual (Brendan Dolan) received the higher seeding. Scotland’s Peter Wright and Netherlands’ Jelle Klaasen made themselves unavailable for selection.

Unseeded Nations
Canada – John Part & Ken MacNeil
China – Yuanjun Liu & Wenge Xie
Czech Republic – Michal Kocik & Pavel Drtil
Denmark – Per Laursen & Daniel Jensen
Finland – Kim Viljanen & Marko Kantele
Germany – Max Hopp & Jyhan Artut
Gibraltar – Dyson Parody & Manuel Vilerio
Greece – John Michael & Ioannis Selachoglou
Hong Kong – Ting Chi Royden Lam & Scott MacKenzie
Hungary – Nandor Bezzeg & Patrik Kovaks
Italy – Daniele Petri & Michel Furlanis
Japan – Keita Ono & Haruki Muramatsu
New Zealand – Warren Parry & Cody Harris
Norway – Robert Wagner & Cor Dekker
Philippines – Gilbert Ulang & Alex Tagarao
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Mariusz Paul
Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor & Mick McGowan
Russia – Aleksandr Oreshkin & Boris Koltsov
Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Graham Filby
Spain – Cristo Reyes & Antonio Alcinas
Sweden – Magnus Caris & Daniel Larsson
Thailand – Thanawat Gaweenuntawong & Attapol Eupakaree
USA – Darin Young & Larry Butler

First Round Draw & Tournament Draw Bracket
England (1) Spain
Czech Republic v China
Austria (8) v Italy
South Africa v Singapore
Wales (5) v Finland
Greece v Canada
Northern Ireland (4) v Japan
Republic of Ireland v Hong Kong
Scotland (2) v New Zealand
Norway v Gibraltar
Belgium (7) v Poland
Hungary v Thailand
Australia (6) v Germany
Denmark v Sweden
Netherlands (3) v Russia
USA v Philippines

One thought on “World Cup of Darts Teams Announced!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: