2016 World Matchplay Field Confirmed!

World Matchplay
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The field for the 2016 World Matchplay was confirmed after the conclusion of the Players Championship double-header in Barnsley.  Robbie Green secured a last-gasp qualification with a fine run to the quarter-finals at the Metrodome on Sunday afternoon.

A 32-player field will compete in the BetVictor World Matchplay from July 16-24 at Blackpool’s Winter Gardens, as the top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit will be joined by 16 qualifiers from the rolling one-year ProTour Order of Merit.

Green will be making his long-awaited Blackpool return, having lost 10-7 to Bob Anderson in round-one of the World Matchplay twelve years ago, back in 2004. Green’s run to the last eight in Players Championship 11 saw him pip Rowby-John Rodriguez for the final qualification spot, which will be a bitter pill to swallow for the Austrian.

There will also be three debutants in this year’s competition. Former World Championship finalist Alan Norris has been rewarded for his remarkable Pro Tour consistency, having finished 4th on the Pro Tour Order of Merit.

Daryl Gurney will also be making his World Matchplay first appearance this year. Gurney reached the final of the Dutch Darts Masters; the first European Tour event of this year. This saw him represent Northern Ireland in last month’s World Cup of Darts, and Daryl sealed his qualification, as the 7th Pro Tour qualifier.

The third and final Blackpool debutant in 2016 will be exciting youngster Josh Payne. The 22-year-old is one of the most highly-rated talents in the PDC, and he lived up to the billing by winning his maiden Players Championship title in April.

Kyle Anderson will compete in Blackpool for a second-straight year, whilst the in-form Joe Cullen, a finalist in Sunday’s Players Championship 11, returns to the Matchplay stage after a four-year absence. The legendary Steve Beaton also confirmed his spot by reaching the final of Players Championship 10 on Saturday.

Defending champion Michael van Gerwen is the number one seed, and he’ll be hoping to secure back-to-back titles this year. World Champion Gary Anderson is seeded second, whilst Phil Taylor, going in search of an incredible sixteenth World Matchplay crown, is third seed for this year’s event.

Two-time world champion Adrian Lewis is seeded fourth, whilst former World Matchplay winner James Wade is sixth seed. Vincent van der Voort will be seeded by virtue of clinging on to 16th position on the PDC Order of Merit, whilst his compatriot, five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld, is 11th seed.

The draw for the World Matchplay will be made live on Sky Sports News at 9:45am on Thursday 7th July, and the schedule will then be released in due course.

BetVictor World Matchplay
Top 16 Seeded Players

1 Michael van Gerwen
2 Gary Anderson
3 Phil Taylor
4 Adrian Lewis
5 Peter Wright
6 James Wade
7 Michael Smith
8 Robert Thornton
9 Dave Chisnall
10 Jelle Klaasen
11 Raymond van Barneveld
12 Ian White
13 Kim Huybrechts
14 Stephen Bunting
15 Terry Jenkins
16 Vincent van der Voort

ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers
Benito van de Pas
Mensur Suljovic
Gerwyn Price
Alan Norris
Simon Whitlock
Joe Cullen
Daryl Gurney
Mervyn King
Steve Beaton
Justin Pipe
Mark Webster
Jamie Caven
Kyle Anderson
Brendan Dolan
Josh Payne
Robbie Green

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: