Grand Slam of Darts: Current Qualifiers!


Former champion Scott Waites, will make his Singha Beer Grand Slam of Darts return at Wolverhampton in November, as he heads the BDO’s list of eight representatives. BDO world number one Glen Durrant is also set to make his Wolverhampton debut, alongside World Championship runner-up Jeff Smith.

The Grand Slam of Darts is the most unique tournament on the darting calendar, as the cross-code format sees representatives from the PDC and BDO lock horns. The 24 PDC representatives will include major tournament finalists from the past 12 months and eight PDC Qualifiers, with a further eight players coming from the BDO system.

Two-time Lakeside champion Waites will make his return to the Grand Slam in 2016, hoping to replicate his memorable 2010 triumph, when he produced an astonishing comeback from 8-0 down to defeat eight-time major winner James Wade 16-12 in the final.

Waites will be joined by Canada’s Jeff Smith, who was runner up in January’s Lakeside world championship. The 2015 World Masters winner, Glen Durrant, will be making his bow at the Civic Hall, whilst 2008 quarter-finalist Darryl Fitton will return to Wolverhampton, having claimed victory in May’s BDO World Trophy.

The remaining four BDO players competing at the Grand Slam will be determined by the BDO Invitational Rankings on September 30. The current list includes 2015 Lakeside champion Scott Mitchell, three-time world champion Martin Adams, world number four Jamie Hughes, and Scottish Open winner Danny Noppert.

The full list of PDC qualifiers are yet to be determined, as players still have the opportunity to claim an automatic place in the event at the Champions League of Darts, World Grand Prix, European Championship and World Series of Darts Finals.

However, one man who will be there is defending champion and world number one Michael van Gerwen. MvG qualified for this event by winning last year’s event, whilst he then went on to claim victory in the Players Championship Finals, the World Series, the Unibet Masters, the UK Open, the Premier League and the World Matchplay!

Six-time Grand Slam winner Phil Taylor will also be in Wolverhampton this year. ‘The Power’ was narrowly beaten by Van Gerwen in last year’s final, and he’ll be hoping to secure his first PDC TV ranking title since July 2014.

Raymond van Barneveld,2012 Grand Slam champion, will also be competing in Wolverhampton for the 10th year in succession. Van Barneveld reached the last four in last year’s Grand Slam, and he secured his qualification by reaching the World Cup of Darts final, alongside his compatriot MvG.

World champion Gary Anderson secured his qualification by retaining his title at Alexandra Palace in January, whilst Adrian Lewis sealed his spot by virtue of being runner-up. Elsewhere, Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall both qualified after being runners-up in the UK Open and the Unibet Masters respectively.

Max Hopp,2015 World-Youth champion, will be making his Grand Slam debut, as will Nathan Aspinall, who was edged out by the German in a deciding-leg in Minehead last year.

However, the likes of James Wade, Michael Smith, Robert Thornton and Jelle Klaasen, all of whom occupy spots in the top ten of the PDC Order of Merit, have yet to guarantee their places at the Wolverhampton Civic.

2016 SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts
PDC Representatives

(Invited in the following order up to a maximum of 16 players)
2015/16 PDC World Champion: Gary Anderson
2015 Grand Slam of Darts Champion: Michael van Gerwen
2016 Premier League Champion: (Michael van Gerwen)
2016 World Matchplay Champion: (Michael van Gerwen)
2016 World Grand Prix Champion: TBC
2015 World Youth Champion: Max Hopp
2016 Masters Champion: (Michael van Gerwen)
2016 UK Open Champion: (Michael van Gerwen)
2016 European Champion: TBC
2015 Players Championship Finals Winner: (Michael van Gerwen)
2016 World Series of Darts Finals Champion: TBC
2016 Champions League of Darts Winner: TBC
2016 World Cup of Darts Champions: Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis
2015/16 PDC World Championship Runner-Up: (Adrian Lewis)
2015 Grand Slam of Darts Runner-Up: (Phil Taylor)
2016 Premier League Runner-Up: (Phil Taylor)
2016 World Matchplay Runner-Up: (Phil Taylor)
2016 World Grand Prix Runner-Up: TBC
2015 World Youth Championship Runner-Up: Nathan Aspinall
2016 Masters Runner-Up: Dave Chisnall
2016 UK Open Runner-Up: Peter Wright
2016 European Championship Runner-Up: TBC
2015 Players Championship Finals Runner-Up: (Adrian Lewis)
2016 World Series of Darts Finals Runner-Up: TBC
2016 Champions League of Darts Runner-Up: TBC
2016 World Cup of Darts Runners-Up: (Michael van Gerwen), Raymond van Barneveld

This list can produce a maximum of 24 players. If it produces 16 players, no further players shall qualify automatically.

If it produces fewer than 16 places then additional places shall be filled from the reserve list in the following order:
2016 European Tour event winners (in ProTour Order of Merit order at Nov 7): James Wade
2016 Players Championship winners (in ProTour Order of Merit order at Nov 7): Ian White, Stephen Bunting, Benito van de Pas, Gerwyn Price, Josh Payne
2016 UK Open Qualifier winners (in ProTour Order of Merit order at Nov 7): No additional qualifiers.
Once 16 players are reached from the above criteria, then the remaining 16 places shall be filled with eight players from a PDC Qualifier and eight players from the BDO system.

BDO Representatives
2016 Lakeside Champion: Scott Waites
2016 Lakeside Championship Runner-Up: Jeff Smith
2016 World Trophy Winner: Darryl Fitton
2015 World Masters Winner: Glen Durrant
Plus top four ranked players in BDO Invitational Table at September 30

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: