Unibet Champions League of Darts Draw & Schedule!

Taylor v MvG.jpg
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor will renew their rivalry at the inaugural Champions League of Darts, which gets underway in Cardiff this Saturday. The round-robin tournament, consisting solely of the world’s top eight players, will be televised on BBC Two- the first ever PDC event to be broadcast on the BBC.

Van Gerwen has been in magnificent form over recent weeks, amassing £55,000 in prize money within the last five days alone, having won the European Darts Grand Prix last weekend, before clinching an incredible Players Championship treble in Barnsley. He’ll certainly be the man to beat at the Motorpoint Arena.

The event sees players split into two groups of four, which begins with a round-robin phase. The top two players from each group will then progress to knockout semi-finals and the final, and the eventual winner will scoop the £100,000 first prize.

Van Gerwen and Taylor will be joined in Group A by the Scottish duo of Peter Wright and Robert Thornton. Three-time major finalist Wright is fifth seed, whilst Thornton, who will be defending his World Grand-Prix title next week, is seeded eighth.

World champion Gary Anderson is the highest ranked seed in Group B, and he’ll be joined by two-time world champion Adrian Lewis, eight-time major winner James Wade and former World-Youth champion Michael Smith.

Anderson will open up the tournament with a tie against his protégé Michael Smith, before Lewis and Wade face off. Then in Group A, Taylor will take on Wright, before MvG  kicks off his campaign with a clash against Thornton, in a repeat of last year’s Grand-Prix final.

Saturday’s evening session will see the players compete in their second fixture, as the afternoon’s two winning players in each group then meet, before the two losers in each group also clash.

The players will then complete the remaining round-robin fixtures on Sunday afternoon, before the top two players from each group progress to the semi-finals, followed by the final, which will both take place on Sunday evening.

‘The Green Machine’ is the overwhelming favourite to claim victory in the BBC’s inaugural PDC event, although Taylor defeated the Dutchman in their last competitive meeting, with the 16-time world champion prevailing 11-9 in the Sydney Darts Masters.

The coverage will be headed by Jason Mohammed, whilst the commentary team will consist of Vassos Alexander, Dan Dawson, Alan Warriner-Little, Paul Nicholson and Mark Webster. Alexander is a prevalent feature on BBC Sport, and has commentated on the BDO’s World Darts Championship over recent years.

Dawson and Nicholson are regular commentators on the PDC’s European Tour, whilst Warriner-Little has been a main-stay of ITV’s darting coverage. However, Webster, a former Lakeside world champion, will be making his punditry bow on home soil.

Unibet Champions League of Darts
Group A
Michael van Gerwen (1)
Phil Taylor (4)
Peter Wright (5)
Robert Thornton (8)

Group B
Gary Anderson (2)
Adrian Lewis (3)
James Wade (6)
Michael Smith (7)

Saturday September 24
Afternoon Session (1pm)

Gary Anderson v Michael Smith (B)
Adrian Lewis v James Wade (B)
Phil Taylor v Peter Wright (A)
Michael van Gerwen v Robert Thornton (A)

Evening Session (6.30pm)
Second Group Matches
Afternoon session’s Winners play each other, and Losers play each other.

Sunday September 25
Afternoon Session (1pm)

Third Group Matches

Evening Session (6.30pm)

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: