German Darts Championship Draw!


Steve West will face his brother Tony West when the German Darts Championship gets underway on Friday in Hildesheim, in the final European Tour event of the year. Steve has enjoyed a fine few weeks, which culminated with him dumping out Phil Taylor in the first-round of the World Grand Prix.

Steve’s brother Tony, who is based in Holland, came through the European qualifier to seal his spot in Hildesheim, and the former World Masters winner will be hoping to build upon his showing at the last European Tour event, where he reached the second-round of the European Darts Grand Prix.

However, it’s a match of critical importance for Steve, who may have to defeat his brother to keep alive his hopes of qualifiying for the European Championships in Hasselt at the end of this month.

Another tasty tie sees former European Tour winner Mervyn King take on former world champion Mark Webster, with the winner to face sixth seed Michael Smith in round-two. Elsewhere, Kyle Anderson takes on diminutive Austrian Rowby-John Rodriguez, and the reward for the victor is a second-round showdown with Jelle Klaasen.

Former Lakeside champion Christian Kist takes on Robbie Green in the pick of Friday afternoon’s matches, but the winner will face the unenviable task of playing world number one Michael van Gerwen in round-two.

Brendan Dolan will aim to improve his fortunes on the European Tour when he faces David Pallett, who is also looking for an upturn in results. Kevin Painter takes on Yordi Meeuwisse, whilst former Austrian Darts open winner Vincent van der Voort meets ‘The Rock’, Peter Hudson.

Spanish star Cristo Reyes will lock horns with former UK Open finalist Mark Walsh on Friday evening, whilst Chris Dobey and Ted Evetts will clash in a battle of the youngsters, with fifth seed Kim Huybrechts awaiting the winner in round-two.

Andy Boulton and Scott Taylor will face off, whilst in-form Mickey Mansell takes on former European Tour winner Justin Pipe, with the winner to face a rejuvenated Simon Whitlock. Elsewhere, Hungary’s Janos Vegso, who defeated five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld to qualify for Hildesheim, plays Darren Johnson.

Finally, Andy Smith, Eddie Dootson, Steve Hine and Ron Meulenkamp will all face German opposition, with Stefan Stoyke, Mike Holz, Robert Allenstein and Marko Puls coming through Thursday night’s Host Nation Qualifiers. Puls claimed the notable scalp of World-Youth champion Max Hopp to secure his qualification spot.

After Friday’s first-round action concludes, the sixteen seeded players will enter the fray in Saturday’s double-session. Michael van Gerwen has won an incredible six European Tour events this year, and he’ll be confident of adding to his tally in the absence of Gary Anderson, Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis, James Wade & Raymond van Barneveld.

However, International Darts Open winner Mensur Suljovic is present in Hildesheim, and the Austrian could meet ‘The Green Machine’ in the quarter-finals. Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall are seeded second and third respectively, whilst the in-form duo of Jelle Klaasen and Simon Whitlock could be dark-horses in Germany this weekend.

The full draw and tournament bracket for the 2016 HappyBet German Darts Championship can be viewed below.

2016 HappyBet German Darts Championship
Draw Bracket
Dave Chisnall (3) v Peter Hudson/Vincent van der Voort
Simon Whitlock (14) v Mickey Mansell/Justin Pipe
Michael Smith (6) v Mark Webster/Mervyn King
Terry Jenkins (11) v Andy Smith/Stefan Stoyke
Benito van de Pas (7) v Cristo Reyes/Mark Walsh
Jelle Klaasen (10) v Rowby-John Rodriguez/Kyle Anderson
Peter Wright (2) v Mike Holz/Eddie Dootson
Joe Cullen (15) v Steve Hine/Robert Allenstein
Ian White (4) v Kevin Painter/Yordi Meeuwisse
Alan Norris (13) v Andy Boulton/Scott Taylor
Kim Huybrechts (5) v Chris Dobey/Ted Evetts
Stephen Bunting (12) v Steve West/Tony West
Mensur Suljovic (8) v Janos Vegso/Darren Johnson
Gerwyn Price (9) v David Pallett/Brendan Dolan
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Robbie Green/Christian Kist
Daryl Gurney (16) v Ron Meulenkamp/Marko Puls

Schedule of Play
Friday October 14 – First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

First Round x8
Andy Boulton v Scott Taylor
Mickey Mansell v Justin Pipe
Janos Vegso v Darren Johnson
Ron Meulenkamp v Marko Puls
David Pallett v Brendan Dolan
Robbie Green v Christian Kist
Mike Holz v Eddie Dootson
Peter Hudson v Vincent van der Voort

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
First Round x8
Steve West v Tony West
Mark Webster v Mervyn King
Chris Dobey v Ted Evetts
Cristo Reyes v Mark Walsh
Andy Smith v Stefan Stoyke
Rowby-John Rodriguez v Kyle Anderson
Kevin Painter v Yordi Meeuwisse
Steve Hine v Robert Allenstein

Saturday October 15 – Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Second Round
Gerwyn Price v Pallett/Dolan
Daryl Gurney v Meulenkamp/Puls
Alan Norris v Boulton/Taylor
Simon Whitlock v Mansell/Pipe
Stephen Bunting v S West/T West
Terry Jenkins v A Smith/Stoyke
Benito van de Pas v Reyes/Walsh
Ian White v Painter/Meeuwisse

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
Second Round
Dave Chisnall v Hudson/van der Voort
Michael Smith v Webster/King
Joe Cullen v Hine/Allenstein
Mensur Suljovic v Vegso/Johnson
Jelle Klaasen v Rodriguez/Anderson
Peter Wright v Holz/Dootson
Michael van Gerwen v Green/Kist
Kim Huybrechts v Dobey/Evetts

Sunday October 16
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Third Round x8
Played in Draw Bracket order

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals, Final
Played in Draw Bracket order

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: