PDC Order of Merit Update!

Suljovic Order of Merit.jpg

Mensur Suljovic has climbed to a career high of seventh on the PDC Order of Merit after reaching his maiden major TV final at the European Championship, whilst world number one Michael van Gerwen extended his lead at the summit by clinching his third successive European Championship crown in Hasselt.

Suljovic was 11th prior to this weekend’s event in Hasselt but the darts-control ace performed magnificently to reach the final, beating Jermaine Wattimena, Ian White, Phil Taylor and Peter Wright, before succumbing to the brilliance of ‘The Green Machine’ in the final.

Van Gerwen scooped the £100,000 winner’s cheque with a stunning 11-1 victory over Suljovic to take his ranking prize money to an astonishing £1, 371,000; almost £500,000 ahead of world number two and current world champion Gary Anderson.

Peter Wright is closing in on a spot in the world’s top four after his run to the semi-finals in Hasselt. Snakebite would have leapfrogged Phil Taylor on the Order of Merit if he’d have beaten Mensur Suljovic, but his 11-8 defeat to the Austrian leaves him trailing ‘The Power’ by just £4,750.

Robert Thornton and Dave Chisnall have fallen to 7th and 8th respectively after their first-round exits. Thornton was beaten 6-4 by Spanish star Cristo Reyes whilst Chisnall lost to Kyle Anderson, who is up to a career high of 28th in the world after recording his second appearance in a major TV quarter-final.

Elsewhere, James Wade is back up to 6th after reaching his first TV ranking semi-final since the 2015 World Matchplay.  Prior to this event, ‘The Machine’ hadn’t won a ranking TV match since the 2016 World Championships, but he defeated Gary Anderson, Max Hopp and James Wilson, before losing to eventual winner MvG.

Michael Smith has dropped out of the world’s top ten following another first-round tournament exit. ‘Bully-Boy’ acquitted himself well in Hasselt, but suffered a deciding-leg defeat to his St Helen’s compatriot Stephen Bunting, which leaves Smith ranked 11th in the world.

Five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld is down two places to 14th. Van Barneveld didn’t qualify for this weekend’s event in Hasselt and having reached the semi-finals of this event two years ago, he was unable to defend the £15,000 he won back in 2014.

Nine-time major finalist Terry Jenkins has fallen outside the world’s top 16 after suffering a disappointing first-round defeat against Ian White. Jenkins was defending £25,000 in Hasselt having reached the European Championship Final two years ago, and his premature exit saw him leapfrogged by Stephen Bunting.

Finally, James Wilson is on the verge of breaking into the world’s top 32 after reaching his first PDC major quarter-final in Hasselt this weekend. ‘The Jammie Dodger’ upset home favourite Kim Huybrechts, before edging out Mervyn King to reach the last eight. This saw Wilson climb nine places from 45th to 36th on the Order of Merit.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

PDC Order of Merit (as at October 31 2016)

Pos Name Prize Money
1 Gerwen, Michael van £1,371,500
2 Anderson, Gary £873,250
3 Lewis, Adrian £449,000
4 Taylor, Phil £436,750
5 Wright, Peter £432,000
6 Wade, James £318,500
7 Suljovic, Mensur £308,250
8 Thornton, Robert £300,750
9 Chisnall, Dave £300,250
10 Klaasen, Jelle £297,000
11 Smith, Michael £286,500
12 White, Ian £262,000
13 Huybrechts, Kim £257,500
14 Barneveld, Raymond van £255,000
15 Pas, Benito van de £237,500
16 Bunting, Stephen £215,750
17 Jenkins, Terry £203,750
18 Whitlock, Simon £196,500
19 Voort, Vincent van der £192,750
20 Price, Gerwyn £170,500
21 King, Mervyn £169,000
22 Norris, Alan £163,750
23 Webster, Mark £147,750
24 Gurney, Daryl £145,500
25 Dolan, Brendan £139,250
26 Pipe, Justin £138,000
27 Beaton, Steve £134,500
28 Anderson, Kyle £132,250
28 Caven, Jamie £132,250
30 Cullen, Joe £115,500
31 Henderson, John £102,000
32 Gilding, Andrew £101,000
33 Reyes, Cristo £99,750
34 Lewis, Jamie £99,250
35 Brown, Keegan £80,750
36 Wilson, James £79,250
37 Murnan, Joe £76,750
38 Hopp, Max £74,500
39 Hamilton, Andy £74,000
40 Webster, Darren £73,500
41 Kist, Christian £73,000
42 Rodriguez, Rowby-John £71,250
43 Huybrechts, Ronny £67,250
44 Painter, Kevin £65,750
45 Newton, Wes £64,000
46 West, Steve £63,750
47 Green, Robbie £59,500
48 Winstanley, Dean £55,750
49 Pallett, David £55,250
50 Evans, Ricky £54,000
51 Petersen, Devon £51,500
52 Payne, Josh £50,250
53 Wattimena, Jermaine £49,500
54 Dobey, Chris £42,000
55 Duijvenbode, Dirk van £41,500
56 Bergh, Dimitri Van Den £40,750
57 Boulton, Andy £39,000
57 Zwaan, Jeffrey de £39,000
59 Smith, Andy £38,250
60 Baxter, Ronnie £37,500
61 Dekker, Jan £36,500
62 Clayton, Jonny £35,250
63 Jones, Wayne £33,500
63 Artut, Jyhan £33,500

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: