2016 World Series of Darts Finals Draw & Schedule!


Michael van Gerwen will begin the defence of his World Series of Darts Finals title against either Gerwyn Price or Steve Beaton when the £155,000 tournament gets underway at Glasgow’s Braehead Arena this coming Saturday.

‘The Green Machine’ edged out Peter Wright 11-10 to win the tournament’s inaugural staging last year, which was the culmination of the annual worldwide tour. There were six World Series events held this year, in Dubai, Auckland, Shanghai, Tokyo, Sydney and Perth.

Van Gerwen will be top seed in Glasgow this weekend after topping the World Series of Darts rankings for the second year in succession. MvG won both the Shanghai and Perth Darts Masters, whilst he was also a runner-up in Dubai, Tokyo and Sydney.

The world number one will begin his campaign against either Gerwyn Price or Steve Beaton. Van Gerwen demolished Price 10-2 in the second-round of last week’s European Championship, whilst he also defeated Steve Beaton in the first-round of last month’s World Grand Prix.

World champion Gary Anderson is second seed, despite winning three of the six World Series tournaments hosted in 2016. ‘The Flying Scotsman’ was yet to win a World Series event prior to this year, but he claimed glory in Dubai, Auckland and Tokyo, beating Van Gerwen in two of those finals.

Anderson will be hoping to delight the partisan Scottish crowd when he faces either Joe Murnan or Joe Cullen, both of whom will be making their World Series of Darts Finals debuts. Murnan came through the PDC qualifier in Barnsley to seal his spot, whilst Cullen was selected by the PDC as one of the eight ‘global prospects’.

Phil Taylor could face Mensur Suljovic in a repeat of their European Championship quarter-final clash. Taylor, who won his fourth consecutive Sydney Darts Masters title in August, will meet either European Championship finalist Suljovic, or 2015 World Grand Prix champion Robert Thornton.

Fourth seed Dave Chisnall, finalist at the Perth Darts Masters, will face a very tough assignment against either Jelle Klaasen or Kim Huybrechts in round-two. Elsewhere, either World Youth champion Max Hopp or Spanish star Cristo Reyes will play fifth seed Adrian Lewis, a runner-up in Auckland back in June.

Last year’s beaten finalist Peter Wright will begin his assault for a maiden TV title against either Daryl Gurney or Josh Payne, both of whom received wildcard invitations from the PDC. Gurney reached a European Tour final back in February, whilst Payne won his maiden PDC title in a Players Championship event earlier this year.

Five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld could face the in-form Simon Whitlock in the second-round. Van Barneveld is seeded eighth for this year’s event, having reached the semi-finals in Auckland and Perth. RvB has been pitted against either Whitlock or Brendan Dolan, both of whom came through the qualifiers.

Finally, Shanghai Darts Masters finalist James Wade will take on either Benito van de Pas or Michael Smith. Smith was one of the four participants to be invited based on his world ranking, whilst Van de Pas was chosen as one of the eight global prospects on the back of winning three Players Championship titles in 2016.

The tournament will be broadcast live on ITV4, with the first and second rounds taking place across Saturday’s double session. The tournament then concludes on Sunday, with the quarter-finals in the afternoon session followed by the semi-finals and final in the evening session.

2016 Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals
Saturday November 5
Afternoon Session (12.45pm-5pm)
First Round
Max Hopp v Cristo Reyes
Benito van de Pas v Michael Smith
Jelle Klaasen v Kim Huybrechts
Brendan Dolan v Simon Whitlock
Mensur Suljovic v Robert Thornton
Joe Murnan v Joe Cullen
Gerwyn Price v Steve Beaton
Daryl Gurney v Josh Payne

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Second Round
Adrian Lewis (5) v Hopp/Reyes
James Wade (6) v van de Pas/Smith
Dave Chisnall (4) v Klaasen/Huybrechts
Raymond van Barneveld (8) v Dolan/Whitlock
Phil Taylor (3) v Suljovic/Thornton
Gary Anderson (2) v Murnan/Cullen
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Price/Beaton
Peter Wright (7) v Gurney/Payne

Sunday November 6
Afternoon Session (12.45pm-5pm)


Evening Session (7pm-11pm)

First Round – Best of 11 legs
Second Round – Best of 11 legs
Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 legs
Semi-Finals – Best of 21 legs
Final – Best of 21 legs


Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: