2016 Grand Slam of Darts schedule confirmed!


The opening day of the 2016 Grand Slam of Darts will see reigning champion Michael van Gerwen take on three-time Lakeside world champion Martin Adams, whilst world champion Gary Anderson will meet BDO world number one Glen Durrant, after the schedule of play for this year’s event was released on Tuesday.

The nine-day Grand Slam of Darts, hosted at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall and televised live on Sky Sports, begins as the 32 players are split into eight groups of four for the round-robin phase, with double-sessions taking place on the opening weekend of action.

The stand-out tie of the opening day sees defending champion and world number one Michael van Gerwen take on Martin Adams, who thrived on his Wolverhampton debut last year. The other Group A tie sees former World Grand Prix finalist Brendan Dolan lock horns with World Youth champion Max Hopp.

Another high profile clash sees world champion Gary Anderson take on BDO world number one Glen Durrant. Durrant has won eight ranking titles in 2016 and will relish the showdown with ‘The Flying Scotsman’. Elsewhere, the pair’s Group E rivals Alan Norris & Nathan Derry will also do battle on Saturday evening.

Six-time Grand Slam winner Phil Taylor will also take centre-stage on Saturday evening when he takes on BDO World Trophy winner Darryl Fitton, who reached the last eight in Wolverhampton back in 2010. The other Group D clash sees world number twelve Ian White meet PDC qualifier Darren Webster.

Elsewhere, two world champions from different codes collide, when two-time world champ Adrian Lewis meets 2015 Lakeside world champion Scott Mitchell in the standout Group H tie. The other contest in that group is a battle of the youngsters, as Benito van de Pas plays Chris Dobey.

In the afternoon session, five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld is in action against World Youth finalist Nathan Aspinall. Van Barneveld, the Grand Slam winner back in 2012, is also joined in Group F by his compatriot and BDO world number three Danny Noppert, who takes on seventh seed Mensur Suljovic.

Reigning Lakeside champion and 2010 Grand Slam winner Scott Waites takes on eighth seed and 2013 finalist Robert Thornton in an enthralling Group B tussle, whilst the other match in that group sees two-time Players Championship winner Gerwyn Price open the tournament against Belgian’s Dimitri van den Bergh.

Eight-time major winner James Wade will also feature in Saturday’s afternoon session. The 2010 Grand Slam finalist will take on BDO world number four Jamie Hughes, whilst elsewhere in Group G, 2014 finalist Dave Chisnall plays former BDO world number James Wilson, making his debut in Wolverhampton.

Fifth seed Peter Wright will close the afternoon session as he clashes with last year’s Lakeside runner-up Jeff Smith, whilst they’re joined in Group C by an in-form Simon Whitlock, who will do battle against 19-year-old PDC qualifier and local lad Ted Evetts.

Sunday’s double-session will see the groups play their second matches, with Saturday’s two winning players facing off and the losing players also clashing. The final group matches will be split across evening sessions on Monday and Tuesday, with the top two players from each group then progressing to the knockout last 16 stage.

The full schedule of play for Saturday’s double-session and the format for this year’s tournament can be viewed below, whilst the order of play for the following days will be determined in due course.

2016 SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts
Saturday November 12
Afternoon Session (1pm)
Groups B-C-F-G First Matches
Gerwyn Price v Dimitri Van den Bergh (B)
Simon Whitlock v Ted Evetts (C)
Dave Chisnall v James Wilson (G)
Mensur Suljovic v Danny Noppert (F)
Robert Thornton v Scott Waites (B)
Raymond van Barneveld v Nathan Aspinall (F)
James Wade v Jamie Hughes (G)
Peter Wright v Jeff Smith (C)

Evening Session (7.30pm)
Groups A-D-E-H First Matches
Brendan Dolan v Max Hopp (A)
Alan Norris v Nathan Derry (E)
Ian White v Darren Webster (D)
Benito van de Pas v Chris Dobey (H)
Phil Taylor v Darryl Fitton (D)
Gary Anderson v Glen Durrant (E)
Michael van Gerwen v Martin Adams (A)
Adrian Lewis v Scott Mitchell (H)

Sunday November 13
Afternoon Session (1pm)

Groups B-C-F-G Second Matches
Saturday’s Loser v Loser & Winner v Winner face each other
Order of play TBC

Evening Session (7pm)
Groups A-D-E-H Second Matches
Saturday’s Loser v Loser & Winner v Winner face each other
Order of play TBC

Monday November 14 (7pm)
Groups A-D-E-H Final Games
Order of play TBC

Tuesday November 15 (7pm)
Groups B-C-F-G Final Games
Order of play TBC

Wednesday November 16 (7pm)
4x Second Round
Winner Group A v Runner-Up Group B
Winner Group B v Runner-Up Group A
Winner Group C v Runner-Up Group D
Winner Group D v Runner-Up Group C
Order of play TBC

Thursday November 17 (7pm)
4x Second Round
Winner Group E v Runner-Up Group F
Winner Group F v Runner-Up Group E
Winner Group G v Runner-Up Group H
Winner Group H v Runner-Up Group G

Friday November 18 (7pm)
2x Quarter-Finals

Saturday November 19 (8pm)
2x Quarter-Finals

Sunday November 20
Afternoon Session (1pm)


Evening Session (7pm)

Group Stage – Best of nine legs
Second Round – Best of 19 legs
Quarter-Finals – Best of 31 legs
Semi-Finals – Best of 31 legs
Final – Best of 31 legs

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: