PDPA World Championship Qualifier- Entries Confirmed!

Kevin Painter.jpg

Former World Championship finalists Kevin Painter & Andy Hamilton head the list of entrants for Monday’s William Hill World Darts Championship PDPA qualifier, which takes place at the Robin Park Tennis Centre in Wigan.

Painter has appeared in 15 consecutive World Championships since switching to the PDC from the BDO back in 2001, although ‘The Artist’ is in real danger of missing out on this year’s event after falling outside the world’s top 32.

Painter featured in the 2005 World Championship Final at the Circus Tavern when he was beaten 7-6 by Phil Taylor in a captivating tussle, but after slipping to 44th on the PDC Order of Merit, the former Players Championship Finals winner faces an uphill task to qualify for this year’s event.

Another high-profile name set to miss the cut is 2012 World Championship finalist Andy Hamilton. ‘The Hammer’ was beaten by his fellow Stoke star Adrian Lewis at the Alexandra Palace almost five years ago but has endured a miserable slump over the past two years, which has seen him plummet to 40th in the world.

Hamilton must reach the final of this weekend’s Players Championship Finals in Minehead to reclaim his top 32 spot, otherwise he’ll be amongst the 121 participants in Monday’s qualifier. Nevertheless, Hamilton faces world number one Michael van Gerwen in round-one, so reaching the final appears a very difficult prospect.

Another former World Championship finalist battling it out in Wigan on Monday will be Kirk Shepherd, who was runner up to John Part in 2008. Shepherd defeated the likes of Terry Jenkins, Peter Manley and Wayne Mardle to reach the final nine years ago, but he hasn’t appeared at the Alexandra Palace since 2011.

Former Players Championship Finals winner Paul Nicholson will also be aiming to return to the Ally Pally in 2016. ‘The Asset’ has endured a testing 18 months after being plagued by injury, but he’s fighting fit and aiming to secure qualification, as he hopes to make his eighth World Championship appearance this year.

Elsewhere, other established stars who’ll be fighting to secure a spot at the Alexandra Palace include 2007 semi-finalist Andy Jenkins, former World Masters finalist Stuart Kellett, 2014 World Youth champion Keegan Brown and exciting Shropshire star David Pallett.

They will be joined by a further five former TV major finalists, including Ronnie Baxter, Wes Newton, Mark Walsh, Wayne Jones and Barrie Bates. Former World Youth champions James Hubbard and Arron Monk will also be in attendance, as will recent Grand Slam participants Nathan Aspinall, Ted Evetts and Nathan Derry.

Andrew Gilding is the highest ranked player to have entered Monday’s qualifier. ‘Goldfinger’ currently occupies 32nd spot on the PDC Order of Merit and should not need to compete in the qualifier unless a rank outsider reaches the final or triumphs in Minehead.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The full list of entrants can be viewed below:

William Hill World Darts Championship PDPA Qualifier
Nathan Aspinall
Richard Baillie
Jamie Bain
Mark Barilli
Michael Barnard
Barrie Bates
Jeff Batham
Ronnie Baxter
Michael Blake
Nigel Boeg
Andy Boulton
John Bowles
Darren Brown
Darron Brown
Keegan Brown
Matt Clark
Brett Claydon
Jonny Clayton
Richie Corner
Terry Creed
Scott Dale
Nigel Daniels
Matt Dennant
Nathan Derry
Eddie Dootson
Kevin Dowling
Matt Edgar
Ritchie Edhouse
David Evans
Ricky Evans
Steve Evans
Ted Evetts
Jay Foreman
Mark Forman
Colin Fowler
Mark Frost
Nick Fullwell
Kevin Garcia
Andrew Gilding
Johnny Haines
Andy Hamilton
Curtis Hammond
Ryan Harrington
Kelvin Hart
Sam Head
Fabian Herz
Nigel Heydon
Steve Hine
Billy Holmes
James Hubbard
Peter Hudson
Adam Hunt
Mark Hylton
Garath Illidge
Andy Jenkins
Prakash Jiwa
Darren Johnson
Sean Johnson
Wayne Jones
Stuart Kellett
Dave Ladley
Kevin Lane
Mark Lawrence
Ian Lever
Callum Loose
Jason Lovett
Jason Marriott
Darren Mawer
Stephen McNally
Yordi Meeuwisse
Ryan Meikle
Paul Milford
Lee Moffat
Arron Monk
Ian Moss
Coni Singh Nagi
Tony Newell
Wes Newton
Paul Nicholson
Robert Owen
Kevin Painter
Joey Palfreyman
Lee Palfreyman
David Pallett
Ryan Palmer
Kurt Parry
Michael Power
Simon Preston
Chris Quantock
James Richardson
Josh Richardson
Harry Robinson
Jamie Robinson
Roger Scrivens
Kirk Shepherd
Lee Shewan
Kevin Simm
Andy Smith
Dennis Smith
Ross Smith
Simon Stevenson
Gary Stone
Stuart Stubbs
Alan Tabern
Scott Taylor
Terry Temple
Martin Thomas
Jack Todd
Mick Todd
Martyn Turner
Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jim Walker
Mark Walsh
Alan Wilkinson
Ricky Williams
Jason Wilson
Ian Withers
Luke Woodhouse
Brian Woods
Jonathon Worsley
James Young

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: