2017 PDC World Darts Championship- Schedule Confirmed!

MvG Anderson.jpg

The schedule of play for the William Hill World Darts Championship has been confirmed, and reigning world champion Gary Anderson will begin the defence of his title on the opening night, when the tournament gets underway on December 15th at the Alexandra Palace.

The 72-player field will be in action across the Christmas and New Year period as players battle to win the prestigious Sid Waddell Trophy, with a record £1.65 million prize fund on offer.

The first-round stage will span eight days, with the second-round taking place before and after the Christmas break. The third-round and quarter-finals will take place before the New Year, with the semi-finals on New Years day and the final on January 2nd.

World champion Gary Anderson headlines the opening night as he takes on PDPA qualifier Mark Frost. However, the opening match of the tournament will see former world finalist Kevin Painter take on 29th seed Jamie Caven. Jamie Lewis will meet Mick McGowan, whilst Michael Smith & Ricky Evans will contest a quick-fire showdown.

Third seed Peter Wright is the main attraction on day two, as he takes on the winner of the preliminary tie between Jerry Hendriks and Warren Parry. Gerwyn Price will take on his fellow Welshman Jonny Clayton, whilst 1996 Lakeside world champion Steve Beaton will meet South African star Devon Petersen.

The first-double session of the tournament takes place on Saturday afternoon, with nine-time major finalist Terry Jenkins in action against talented youngster Josh Payne. John Henderson and Andrew Gilding will lock horns in a heavyweight clash, whilst Fifteenth seed Benito van de Pas plays either Tengku Shah or Masumi Chino.

World number one Michael van Gerwen begins his campaign on Saturday night, with a tie against either Ross Snook or Kim Viljanen. Spanish star Cristo Reyes faces Belgian hotshot Dimitri van den Bergh, whilst former Lakeside world champion Stephen Bunting takes on recent major semi-finalist Darren Webster.

Former world champion Mark Webster is in action on Sunday afternoon when he takes on Bolton’s Joe Murnan. Recent Grand Slam quarter-finalist Chris Dobey takes on 26th seed Justin Pipe, whilst Ian White will play the winner of the preliminary encounter between Gilbert Ulang or PDPA qualifier Kevin Simm.

Phil Taylor headlines Sunday evening at the Alexandra Palace, as the 16-time world champion takes on either PDPA qualifier John Bowles or Australian qualifier David Platt. Daryl Gurney takes on quick-fire Dutchman Jermaine Wattimena, whilst last year’s quarter-finalist Alan Norris meets Greek number one John Michael.

Two-time world champion Adrian Lewis begins his assault for a third world title on Monday evening when he plays Swedish veteran Magnus Caris. Steve West takes on 22nd seed Mervyn King, whilst Joe Cullen could take on World-Youth champion Corey Cadby, presuming the Aussie defeats Qiang Sun in the preliminary round.

Five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld is the big name in action on Tuesday as he clashes with former Lakeside semi-finalist Robbie Green. Another exciting tie sees 23rd seed Brendan Dolan meet former Lakeside champion Christian Kist, whilst two-time world finalist Simon Whitlock faces either Boris Koltsov or Dragutin Horvat.

Wednesday night sees three of the world’s top ten in action. Eight-time major winner James Wade plays the experienced Ronny Huybrechts, European Championship finalist Mensur Suljovic faces Ron Meulenkamp, whilst world number nine Robert Thornton will take on either Zoran Lerchbacher or PDPA qualifier Simon Stevenson.

The final day of first-round action is headlined by Dave Chisnall, who takes on Rowby-John Rodriguez. Tenth seed Jelle Klaasen will play his compatriot Jeffrey de Graaf, Vincent van der Voort meets former World-Youth champion Max Hopp, whilst the final first-round tie sees 13th seed Kim Huybrechts play former BDO number one James Wilson.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2016/2017 William Hill World Darts Championship
Schedule of Play – (P) denotes Preliminary Round
Preliminary & First Round
Thursday December 15 (7pm)
Jamie Caven (29) v Kevin Painter
Jamie Lewis (30) v Mick McGowan
Gary Anderson (2) v Mark Frost
Michael Smith (11) v Ricky Evans

Friday December 16 (7pm)
Jerry Hendriks v Warren Parry (P)
Gerwyn Price (19) v Jonny Clayton
Steve Beaton (27) v Devon Petersen
Peter Wright (3) v Hendriks/Parry

Saturday December 17
Afternoon Session (1pm)

Tengku Shah v Masumi Chino (P)
Terry Jenkins (18) v Josh Payne
John Henderson (31) v Andrew Gilding
Benito van de Pas (15) v Shah/Chino

Evening Session (7pm)
Ross Snook v Kim Viljanen (P)
Cristo Reyes (32) v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Stephen Bunting (16) v Darren Webster
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Snook/Viljanen

Sunday December 18
Afternoon Session (1pm)

Kevin Simm v Gilbert Ulang (P)
Justin Pipe (26) v Chris Dobey
Mark Webster (25) v Joe Murnan
Ian White (14) v Simm/Ulang

Evening Session (7pm)
John Bowles v David Platt (P)
Daryl Gurney (24) v Jermaine Wattimena
Alan Norris (21) v John Michael
Phil Taylor (4) v Bowles/Platt

Monday December 19 (7pm)
Qiang Sun v Corey Cadby (P)
Mervyn King (22) v Steve West
Adrian Lewis (5) v Magnus Caris
Joe Cullen (28) v Sun/Cadby

Tuesday December 20 (7pm)
Boris Koltsov v Dragutin Horvat (P)
Brendan Dolan (23) v Christian Kist
Raymond van Barneveld (12) v Robbie Green
Simon Whitlock (17) v Koltsov/Horvat

Wednesday December 21 (7pm)
Zoran Lerchbacher v Simon Stevenson (P)
Mensur Suljovic (8) v Ron Meulenkamp
James Wade (6) v Ronny Huybrechts
Robert Thornton (9) v Lerchbacher/Stevenson

Thursday December 22 (7pm)
Jelle Klaasen (10) v Jeffrey de Graaf
Vincent van der Voort (20) v Max Hopp
Dave Chisnall (7) v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Kim Huybrechts (13) v James Wilson

Second Round
Friday December 23
Afternoon Session (1pm)

White (14)/Simm/Ulang v Price (19)/Clayton
Smith (11)/Evans v King (22)/West
Van de Pas (15)/Shah/Chino v Jenkins (18)/Payne

Evening Session (7pm)
Bunting (16)/D Webster v Whitlock (17)/Koltsov/Horvat
Anderson (2)/Frost v Henderson (31)/Gilding
A Lewis (5)/Caris v Cullen (28)/Sun/Cadby

Tuesday December 27
Afternoon Session (1pm)

Suljovic (8)/Meulenkamp v M Webster (25)/Murnan
Thornton (9)/Lerchbacher/Stevenson v Gurney (24)/Wattimena
Chisnall (7)/Rodriguez v Pipe (26)/Dobey

Evening Session (8pm)
van Barneveld (12)/Green v Norris (21)/Michael
Taylor (4)/Bowles/Platt v Caven (29)/Painter
Van Gerwen (1)/Snook/Viljanen v Reyes (32)/Van den Bergh

Wednesday December 28
Afternoon Session (1pm)

K Huybrechts (13)/Wilson v Van der Voort (20)/Hopp
Wade (6)/R Huybrechts v Beaton (27)/Petersen
Klaasen (10)/de Graaf v Dolan (23)/Kist

Evening Session (7pm)
Wright (3)/Hendriks/Parry v J Lewis (30)/McGowan
Plus 2x Third Round games.

Thursday December 29
Afternoon Session (1pm)

3x Third Round games

Evening Session (7pm)
3x Third Round games

Friday December 30
Afternoon Session (1pm)

2x Quarter-Finals

Evening Session (7pm)
2x Quarter-Finals

Sunday January 1 (7pm)

Monday January 2 (8pm)


Preliminary Round Best of three sets
First Round Best of five sets
Second & Third Round Best of seven sets
Quarter-Finals Best of nine sets
Semi-Finals Best of 11 sets
Final Best of 13 sets

All sets are the best of five legs.
A tie-break would be in operation in all matches except the Preliminary Round.
Any match which goes to a deciding set must be won by two clear legs. If the score in the final set reaches 5-5, a sudden-death leg will be played.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: