Gibraltar Darts Trophy: Draw & Schedule!


The draw for the 2017 Gibraltar Darts Trophy has been confirmed ahead of this weekend’s PDC European Tour event at the Victoria Stadium, with top seed Peter Wright vying for his fourth European Tour title of the year in the absence of world number one Michael van Gerwen.

The £135,000 tournament sees a 48-player field competing at ‘The Rock’, with the 32 qualifiers entering the fray in Friday’s first-round. The field will be completed on Thursday evening with the Host Nation Qualifier for players from Gibraltar, whilst the 16 seeded participants will join the action in Saturday’s second-round.

Two former Lakeside world champions are in action on the opening day, with 1996 world champion Steve Beaton taking on young Belgian hotshot Mike De Decker. Elsewhere, 2008 Lakeside champion Christian Kist meets Ronny Huybrechts in a heavyweight first-round tussle.

Former European Tour winner Justin Pipe faces the in-form Welshman Jonny Clayton, whilst former Players Championship Finals winner Paul Nicholson makes his third appearance on the European Tour this year, with a tie against emerging left-hander Chris Quantock.

Rob Cross will hope to continue his early success on the European Tour against Dutchman Mario Robbe. Cross has reached the quarter-finals in each of his two European Tour appearances so far this year, and could face a tie against his stablemate Joe Cullen in round-two.

PDC major semi-finalist Darren Webster takes on the experienced Richie Corner on Friday afternoon, whilst a resurgent James Richardson plays Matthew Dennant. Elsewhere, the veteran Alan Tabern marks his return to the European Tour with a showdown against talented young Dutchman Jeffrey de Zwaan.

The German duo of Martin Schindler and Reine Eidams will take on Callan Rydz and John Henderson respectively, whilst Poland’s Krzysztof Ratajski will hope to continue his fine form on the European Tour as he meets Ritchie Edhouse- who defeated Michael van Gerwen on the Pro Tour earlier this year.

Finally, the quintet of James Wilson, Dimitri van den Bergh, Darren Johnson, Magnus Caris and Matt Clark will each take on players from Gibraltar in the opening round. Nevertheless, the identity of their opponents won’t be confirmed until after the conclusion of Thursday’s host-nation qualifier.

The 16 seeded players enter the tournament in Saturday’s second round, with top seed Peter Wright headlining the field alongside former Gibraltar Darts Trophy winner James Wade. Wright begins his search for a fourth European Tour title of 2017 against either Edhouse or Ratajski, whilst former winner Wade could meet Dimitri van den Bergh.

Second seed Mensur Suljovic will take on either Jeffrey de Zwaan or Tabern, whilst Simon Whitlock could potentially meet Steve Beaton. Fourth seed Dave Chisnall will aim to maintain his magnificent form when he kicks off his campaign against Clayton or Pipe, whilst sixth seed Kim Huybrechts could renew his rivalry with James Wilson.

German Darts Open finalist Benito van de Pas plays either Schindler or Rydz in his opening match, whilst UK Open finalist Gerwyn Price could face recent Pro Tour finalist Darren Johnson. Meanwhile, Alan Norris will aim to avoid his fourth straight opening-round exit on the European Tour against either Matt Clark or a host-nation qualifier.

Jelle Klaasen is hoping to reach at the least the semi-finals for the sixth European Tour event in succession and he begins with a tie against either Caris or a Gibraltar qualifier. Ian White plays either Eidams or Henderson, whilst three-time European Tour winner Michael Smith faces a difficult opener against Kist or Ronny Huybrechts.

Joe Cullen faces a likely showdown with his Nevada teammate Rob Cross, whilst recent Pro Tour winner Daryl Gurney plays Darren Webster or Richie Corner in his opening tie. Spanish star Cristo Reyes meets either Richardson or Dennant, whilst a struggling Stephen Bunting could face a resurgent Paul Nicholson in round-one.

World number one Michael van Gerwen will be absent in Gibraltar this weekend, as he focuses on defending his Premier League crown on finals night at the O2 Arena next Thursday. Gary Anderson continues his European Tour hiatus, whilst Adrian Lewis has pulled out of the competition for family reasons.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC2017 Gibraltar Darts Trophy
Draw Bracket (Second Round Onwards)

Peter Wright (1) v Ritchie Edhouse/Krzysztof Ratajski
Stephen Bunting (16) v Paul Nicholson/Chris Quantock
Gerwyn Price (8) v HNQ4/Darren Johnson
Alan Norris (9) v HNQ2/Matt Clark
James Wade (5) v Dimitri Van den Bergh/HNQ5
Michael Smith (12) v Christian Kist/Ronny Huybrechts
Dave Chisnall (4) v Jonny Clayton/Justin Pipe
Joe Cullen (13) v Mario Robbe/Rob Cross
Mensur Suljovic (2) v Jeffrey de Zwaan/Alan Tabern
Cristo Reyes (15) v Matthew Dennant/James Richardson
Benito van de Pas (7) v Martin Schindler/Callan Rydz
Jelle Klaasen (10) v Magnus Caris/HNQ1
Kim Huybrechts (6) v James Wilson/HNQ3
Ian White (11) v Rene Eidams/John Henderson
Simon Whitlock (3) v Steve Beaton/Mike De Decker
Daryl Gurney (14) v Richie Corner/Darren Webster

Schedule of Play
Friday May 12

First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Alan Tabern
Jonny Clayton v Justin Pipe
Richie Corner v Darren Webster
Matthew Dennant v James Richardson
HNQ2 v Matt Clark
Martin Schindler v Callan Rydz
Magnus Caris v HNQ1
Paul Nicholson v Chris Quantock

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
Mario Robbe v Rob Cross
Rene Eidams v John Henderson
Ritchie Edhouse v Krzysztof Ratajski
Steve Beaton v Mike De Decker
James Wilson v HNQ3
Christian Kist v Ronny Huybrechts
HNQ4 v Darren Johnson
Dimitri Van den Bergh v HNQ5

Saturday May 13
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Cristo Reyes v Dennant/Richardson
Daryl Gurney v Corner/Webster
Alan Norris v HNQ2/Clark
Benito van de Pas v Schindler/Rydz
Stephen Bunting v Nicholson/Quantock
Jelle Klaasen v Caris/HNQ1
Michael Smith v Kist/R Huybrechts
Joe Cullen v Robbe/Cross

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
Gerwyn Price v HNQ4/Johnson
Mensur Suljovic v De Zwaan/Tabern
Dave Chisnall v Clayton/Pipe
Peter Wright v Edhouse/Ratajski
James Wade v Van den Bergh/HNQ5
Kim Huybrechts v Wilson/HNQ3
Ian White v Eidams/Henderson
Simon Whitlock v Beaton/De Decker

Sunday May 14
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Third Round

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: