BDO World Trophy: Day Three Report!

Martin Adams

World champions Glen Durrant and Martin Adams continued their bids for a maiden World Trophy title, as the big names continued to tumble on another eventful session of darts in Barry on Sunday afternoon.

World champion Glen Durrant produced an imperious display to ease past an impressive Andy Fordham in a high-quality affair. ‘The Viking’ acquitted himself well, but Durrant averaged 99.84, piled in six maximums, whilst also landing a 10-darter and two 12-dart legs en route to recording an emphatic 6-2 triumph.

‘Duzza’ will face the last remaining Dutchman Wesley Harms in the last eight, after ‘Sparky’ recorded a convincing 6-3 win against James Hurrell. Harms had seen his compatriots Danny Noppert and Richard Veenstra dumped out in the opening round, but he kept the Dutch flag flying;  averaging 91.02 to comfortably see off Hurrell.

Three-time world champion Martin Adams fended off a valiant fightback from Dean Reynolds to seal his progression to the last eight. ‘Wolfie’ registered finishes of 104 and 107 to establish a commanding 5-1 cushion, before Reynolds reeled off three straight legs. However, Adams held his nerve to sink tops and triumph with an 87.99 average.

Adams will face last year’s finalist Peter Machin in Monday’s quarter-finals, after the Australian continued his love affair with the World Trophy to dump out 2015 world champion Scott Mitchell. Machin averaged 90.60 and fired in two maximums to claim the scalp of an under-par ‘Scotty-Dog’.

Emerging Welsh star Nick Kenny conjured up a majestic display on home soil to whitewash a shell-shocked Jeff Smith. Kenny averaged 92.01, crashed in three maximums and dispatched a sensational 142 outshot to stun the beleaguered Canadian, who did little wrong for much of the tussle.

Kenny will aim to secure a place in his maiden BDO major semi-final when he takes on Scottish star Ross Montgomery in the last eight. The former Zuiderduin Masters winner defied four maximums from Dutchman Willem Mandigers; averaging 89.25 and registering three maximums to prevail 6-4 in a hard-fought affair.

Conan Whitehead secured a spot in his first major BDO quarter-final with a dramatic deciding-leg victory over Lithuanian star Darius Labanauskus. Whitehead trailed 5-2, but produced a stunning comeback to triumph; averaging 93.78 and crashing in five 180s as he reeled off four consecutive legs to dump out the former World Cup finalist.

Whitehead will face Martin Phillips tomorrow afternoon, after the veteran Welshman produced a brilliant display to thrash second seed Mark McGeeney. The former World Masters winner registered seven perfect darts, as he threatened to record his second televised nine-darter, before eventually clinching an emphatic 6-1 win.

In the women’s section, world number one Deta Hedman survived a scare to defeat Rachel Brooks and book her place in the last four. ‘The Dark Destroyer’ lost the opening two legs and struggled for much of the contest, but she won the remaining four legs to triumph with a 69.27 average.

However, Hedman will face three-time world champion Anastasia Dobromyslova in the semi-finals, after the Russian star swept aside Australia’s Corrine Hammond. The 2017 World Championship finalist was unable to replicate her first-round performance, as Dobromyslova averaged 71.79 to record a routine 4-1 victory.

Aileen de Graaf eased into finals’ day with an emphatic victory over Rhian Griffiths, who had secured her place in the last eight with a stunning whitewash win over Lorraine Winstanley. However, she was unable to overcome the former World Masters champion, as De Graaf prevailed with a 79.80 average.

De Graaf will face her compatriot Anca Ziljstra in Monday’s semi-finals, after the Dutch star eased past an off-colour Trina Gulliver. Ziljstra produced a remarkable display to defeat world champion Lisa Ashton on Saturday and she continued her fine run to ease past ‘The Golden Girl’; despite averaging a modest 67.44.

Men’s results

Glen Durrant 6-2 Andy Fordham

Wesley Harms 6-3 James Hurrell

Martin Adams 6-4 Dean Reynolds

Peter Machin 6-3 Scott Mitchell

Nick Kenny 6-0 Jeff Smith

Ross Montgomery 6-4 Willem Mandigers

Conan Whitehead 6-5 Darius Labanauskas

Martin Phillips 6-1 Mark McGeeney

Women’s results

Deta Hedman 4-2 Rachael Brooks

Anastasia Dombrobyslova 4-1 Corrine Hammond

Aileen De Graaf 4-1 Rhian Griffiths

Anca Zijlstra 4-1 Trina Gulliver

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: