PDC Order of Merit: Latest Update!

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Phil Taylor and Raymond van Barneveld have climbed back into the world’s top eight following the conclusion of the BetVictor World Matchplay, whilst James Wade has fallen to his worst ranking position in over a decade.

Phil Taylor is up to fourth on the PDC Order of Merit after winning his 16th World Matchplay title with an 18-8 victory over Peter Wright last weekend. Competing at the Winter Gardens for the final time, ‘The Power’ rolled back the years to seal his first ranking major since July 2014- clinching the £115,000 winner’s prize.

Taylor was in danger of falling out of the world’s top ten if he suffered an early exit in Blackpool, but he defeated the decorated quintet of Gerwyn Price, Raymond van Barneveld, Michael van Gerwen, Adrian Lewis and Peter Wright to round-off one of the finest victories of his illustrious career.

Peter Wright remains in third after becoming the first Scottish player to reach a World Matchplay final, but he’s closed the gap on his compatriot Gary Anderson. Snakebite would have leapfrogged Anderson to become world number two if he’d ruined Taylor’s Blackpool farewell, but he now trails ‘The Flying Scotsman’ by less than £50,000.

Raymond van Barneveld has regained his place in the world’s top eight due to his run to the second-round. The five-time world champion defeated Joe Cullen 10-8 in a thrilling first-round contest- his first win at the Winter Gardens since 2014. This has sealed the Dutchman’s debut in next month’s Champions League of Darts.

Nevertheless, Van Barneveld’s rise comes at the expense of James Wade, who has fallen outside the world’s top eight for the first time in a decade. ‘The Machine’ has endured a disappointing year thus far and the eight-time major winner suffered a painful first-round defeat at the hands of Darren Webster last week.

Adrian Lewis and Dave Chisnall have also fallen one place each to fifth and sixth respectively, although Mensur Suljovic remains in seventh. Elsewhere, Daryl Gurney has climbed four places to a career high of 12th in the world, after maintaining his fine form to reach the World Matchplay semi-finals last weekend.

Alan Norris is also on the verge of breaking into the world’s top 16 for the first time after reaching the last eight in Blackpool. Norris defeated Kim Huybrechts and Dave Chisnall in dramatic tussles, before succumbing to Adrian Lewis in a quarter-final classic.

Norris trails Robert Thornton in 16th by just £4,500, as the Scot’s poor form continues. ‘The Thorn’ had won just one of his previous eight clashes in Blackpool prior to last week, and his miserable record was maintained after he was thrashed 10-3 by Cristo Reyes in round-one.

Simon Whitlock has also slipped two places to 18th following his second-round Matchplay exit. ‘The Wizard’ dumped out his fellow Aussie Kyle Anderson in the opening round, before he was comprehensively beaten 11-3 by world number one Michael van Gerwen in the last 16.

Darren Webster is up to 26th after his impressive run to the quarter-finals at the Winter Gardens, whilst Steve West is on the brink of breaking into the world’s top 32 after reaching round-two on his first appearance at the World Matchplay.

Rob Cross is another man moving in the right direction after reaching round-two in Blackpool. Cross defeated Ian White in his Matchplay debut, before losing out to a clinical Adrian Lewis in the last 16. Cross averaged 104 in defeat, but just over six months after securing his tour card, he’s up to 40th on the world rankings.

Andrew Gilding has slipped eight places to 48th after failing to qualify for this year’s Matchplay, whilst Andy Hamilton’s top 64 status is now under serious threat. ‘The Hammer’ reached round-two at the Winter Gardens in 2015, but he’s now fallen to 61st, which puts his long-term status on the PDC circuit under real jeopardy.

Position Name Value
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,660,750
2 Gary Anderson £760,000
3 Peter Wright £715,250
4 Phil Taylor £409,250
5 Adrian Lewis £408,000
6 Dave Chisnall £356,500
7 Mensur Suljovic £346,000
8 Raymond van Barneveld £324,500
9 Michael Smith £312,750
10 James Wade £312,500
11 Jelle Klaasen £312,250
12 Daryl Gurney £279,500
13 Kim Huybrechts £279,250
14 Ian White £272,000
15 Benito van de Pas £265,750
16 Robert Thornton £255,750
17 Alan Norris £251,250
18 Simon Whitlock £250,000
19 Gerwyn Price £226,500
20 Mervyn King £189,000
21 Joe Cullen £187,750
22 Stephen Bunting £175,250
23 Mark Webster £164,000
24 Steve Beaton £157,250
25 Terry Jenkins £156,250
26 Darren Webster £150,000
27 Cristo Reyes £144,500
28 Vincent van der Voort £135,500
29 Justin Pipe £134,500
30 Kyle Anderson £130,250
31 Brendan Dolan £125,500
32 John Henderson £108,750
33 James Wilson £106,250
34 Jamie Caven £100,750
35 Steve West £99,750
36 Christian Kist £99,250
37 Jamie Lewis £93,000
38 Robbie Green £92,750
= Chris Dobey £92,750
40 Rob Cross £80,750
41 Max Hopp £79,250
42 Jermaine Wattimena £77,750
= Ronny Huybrechts £77,750
44 Rowby-John Rodriguez £75,000
45 Kevin Painter £74,250
46 Dimitri Van den Bergh £74,000
47 Jonny Clayton £72,000
48 Andrew Gilding £71,500
49 Joe Murnan £70,500
50 Ricky Evans £66,000
51 Josh Payne £63,500
52 David Pallett £52,500
53 Devon Petersen £52,250
54 Jeffrey de Graaf £49,750
55 Keegan Brown £49,500
56 Jan Dekker £48,750
57 Dirk van Duijvenbode £47,000
58 James Richardson £44,750
59 Ron Meulenkamp £43,250
60 Mick McGowan £42,000
61 Andy Hamilton £40,250
62 Andy Boulton £38,500
63 Andy Jenkins £33,500
64 Wes Newton £33,000
65 John Michael £32,500
66 Jeffrey de Zwaan £31,750
67 William O’Connor £31,000
68 Simon Stevenson £26,500
69 Ted Evetts £23,750
70 Mark Walsh £23,500
71 Mike De Decker £23,250
72 Matt Clark £22,250
= Berry van Peer £22,250
74 Richard North £21,750
75 Zoran Lerchbacher £21,000
76 Vincent Kamphuis £20,500
77 Darren Johnson £20,000
= Richie Corner £20,000
79 John Bowles £18,750
80 Peter Jacques £17,500
81 Ryan Meikle £17,250
= Yordi Meeuwisse £17,250
83 Kim Viljanen £17,000
84 Ryan Searle £16,250
85 Tony Newell £15,750
86 Steve Lennon £14,500
= Chris Quantock £14,500
= Peter Hudson £14,500
89 Robert Owen £14,000
90 Martin Schindler £13,750
= Mark Barilli £13,750
92 Jamie Bain £13,250
= Jonathan Worsley £13,250
94 Krzysztof Ratajski £13,000
= Paul Nicholson £13,000
96 Kirk Shepherd £12,750
97 Wayne Jones £11,500
= Jimmy Hendriks £11,500
99 Matthew Dennant £10,750
100 Mick Todd £10,500

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: