2017 Auckland Darts Masters Draw!

Auckland Darts Masters

Gary Anderson will begin the defence of his Auckland Darts Masters title against his name-sake Kyle Anderson, whilst emerging Australian Corey Cadby will lock horns UK Open champion Peter Wright.

Gary Anderson defeated Adrian Lewis to triumph in New Zealand twelve months ago, but ‘The Flying Scotsman’ faces a difficult opening assignment against ‘The Original’, who won his first PDC title at Players Championship 17 last weekend; hitting a nine-darter en route to glory.

Gary defeated Michael van Gerwen to win the first World Series event of 2017 in Dubai back in May and the two-time world champion is top seed in the absence of ‘The Green Machine’, who is not competing down under after the birth of his first child.

World-Youth champion Corey Cadby will aim to cause another World Series upset against another Scottish star Peter Wright. Cadby stunned Phil Taylor at the Perth Darts Masters last year and remains one of the most highly-rated youngsters on the PDC circuit. Nevertheless, he’ll have to be at his best to dump out the world number three.

Following on from securing his 16th World Matchplay title at the Winter Gardens a fortnight ago,  Phil Taylor’s last appearance in New Zealand will begin with a first-round tie against TV debutant Darren Herewini.

‘The Power’ could potentially meet his old-adversary Raymond van Barneveld in the last eight. The five-time world champion is seeded third in Auckland, but first must overcome the experienced Kiwi Warren Parry in round-one.

Simon Whitlock faces a potential banana-skin against the talented New-Zealander Cody Harris, whilst Michael Smith marks his World Series debut with a showdown against another Kiwi- in the shape of former World Championship competitor Rob Szabo.

Elsewhere, fourth seed James Wade will play Mark Cleaver- who competed in Auckland back in 2015, whilst recent U.S Masters finalist Daryl Gurney will aim to replicate his showing in Las Vegas as he prepares to take on Australian qualifier Rob Modra.

However, Michael van Gerwen isn’t the only big name absentee for this weekend’s event. Adrian Lewis is also missing out on the World Series triple-header in Australasia after his wife Sarah gave birth to their daughter Amelia last Friday. The full draw and schedule of play for the event can be viewed below!

Draw Bracket 
Gary Anderson (1) v Kyle Anderson
Simon Whitlock v Cody Harris
James Wade (4) v Mark Cleaver
Daryl Gurney v Rob Modra
Peter Wright (2) v Corey Cadby
Michael Smith v Rob Szabo
Raymond van Barneveld (3) v Warren Parry
Phil Taylor v Darren Herewini

Schedule of Play (7pm local time)
Friday August 11

First Round
Michael Smith v Rob Szabo
Daryl Gurney v Rob Modra
James Wade (4) v Mark Cleaver
Raymond van Barneveld (3) v Warren Parry
Phil Taylor v Darren Herewini
Simon Whitlock v Cody Harris
Gary Anderson (1) v Kyle Anderson
Peter Wright (2) v Corey Cadby

All games best of 11 legs

Saturday August 12 (7pm local time)

Order of Play TBC

All games best of 19 legs

Sunday August 13 (6pm local time)
Semi Finals

All games best of 21 legs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: