BDO participants for the Grand Slam of Darts revealed!


Glen Durrant, Danny Noppert and Scott Mitchell will return to compete in November’s Grand Slam of Darts after the eight BDO representatives for next month’s cross code event were confirmed, but there’s no place for legendary three-time world champion Martin Adams.

The Grand Slam of Darts sees stars from both the PDC and BDO systems competing live on Sky Sports across nine days of action at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall. Only four men have ever won this prestigious title- Phil Taylor, Scott Waites, Raymond van Barneveld and Michael van Gerwen.

Lakeside world champion Glen Durrant was already assured of a spot after clinching world title glory in January, as was runner-up Danny Noppert, who impressed on his Grand Slam debut last year- eventually losing out in a last-leg decider to Gary Anderson in the last 16.

Australian ace Peter Machin was also guaranteed a spot after winning the BDO World Trophy back in May. Machin, who initially came through the qualifiers at the Memo Arts Centre, defeated the decorated quintet of Geert de Vos, Scott Mitchell, Martin Adams, Wesley Harms and Martin Phillips to clinch his first BDO major title.

However, Durrant, Noppert and Machin will be joined by the next five non-qualified players on the BDO rankings. One of the new faces set to appear in Wolverhampton next month include current BDO number one Mark McGeeney- a World Masters finalist in both 2016 and 2017.

Home favourite Jamie Hughes will make his return after reaching the second-round on his debut last year, and ‘Yozza’ will be joined by 2015 Lakeside champion Scott Mitchell- making his third consecutive Grand Slam appearance.

The final two BDO participants include the Scottish duo of Ross Montgomery and Cameron Menzies- both of whom will be making their debuts in the cross-code event. Montgomery won the British Open last month, whilst Menzies reached the semi-finals at the recent World Masters- losing out to eventual champion Krzysztof Ratajski.

Nevertheless, there is no place for three-time world champion Martin Adams. ‘Wolfie’ has been an extremely popular figure during his previous two appearances, but he currently sits in 17th position on the BDO rankings, one spot below two-time Lakeside winner and 2010 Grand Slam champion Scott Waites.

The tournament will be held from November 11th-19th at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall, with the first round seeing the 32 players split into eight groups, with the top two in each group progressing to the last 16 knockout phase.

Daryl Gurney and Simon Whitlock became the latest PDC stars to book their place in the event after their World Grand Prix exploits last weekend. Gurney clinched his first PDC major title in a gripping tussle against ‘The Wizard’- who was appearing in his first major final since 2013.

Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Peter Wright, Phil Taylor, Raymond van Barneveld, Mensur Suljovic, James Wade, Dave Chisnall, Gerwyn Price and Mark Webster have also sealed their qualification. They will be joined by Corey Cadby and Berry van Peer, who contested last year’s World Youth Championship final.

The PDC stars will have further opportunities to qualify at the upcoming European Championship and World Series of Darts Finals. However, there will also be a further eight places on offer at the PDC Tour Card Holders’ Qualifier on Monday November 6th.

The full list of both PDC and BDO qualifiers can be viewed below.

Photo Credit: Chris Dean/PDC

2017 bwin Grand Slam of Darts
Qualifying Players:
(invited in the following order up to a maximum of 16 players)
2016/17 PDC World Champion – MICHAEL VAN GERWEN – 1
2016 Grand Slam Champion – (Michael van Gerwen)
2017 Premier League Champion – (Michael van Gerwen)
2017 World Matchplay Champion – PHIL TAYLOR – 2
2017 World Grand Prix Champion – DARYL GURNEY – 3
2016 World Youth Champion – COREY CADBY – 4
2017 Masters Champion – (Michael van Gerwen)
2017 UK Open Champion – PETER WRIGHT – 5
2017 European Champion –
2016 Players Champion – (Michael van Gerwen)
2017 Champions League Champion – MENSUR SULJOVIC – 6
2017 World Series of Darts Finals Champion –
2017 World Cup winners (2 players with highest individual taking preference if only one spot available) – (Michael van Gerwen), RAYMOND VAN BARNEVELD – 7
2016/17 PDC World Championship runner-up – GARY ANDERSON – 8
2016 Grand Slam runner-up – JAMES WADE – 9
2017 Premier League runner-up – (Peter Wright)
2017 World Matchplay runner-up – (Peter Wright)
2017 World Grand Prix runner-up – SIMON WHITLOCK – 10
2016 World Youth Championship runner-up – BERRY VAN PEER – 11
2017 Masters runner-up – (Gary Anderson)
2017 UK Open runner-up – GERWYN PRICE – 12
2017 European Championship runner-up –
2016 Players Championship runner-up – DAVE CHISNALL – 13
2017 Champions League runner-up – (Gary Anderson)
2017 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up –
2017 World Cup runners-up (2 players with highest individual taking preference if only one spot available) – (Gerwyn Price), MARK WEBSTER – 14

BDO Qualifiers
2017 Lakeside Champion – GLEN DURRANT
2017 Lakeside Championship runner-up – DANNY NOPPERT
2016 World Masters Champion – (Glen Durrant)
2017 BDO World Trophy Champion – PETER MACHIN
Plus top five players from BDO Rankings at September 30 2017:

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: