World Series of Darts Finals: Field Confirmed!

Phil Taylor World Series.jpg

World number one Michael van Gerwen will go in search of a third successive title at the World Series of Darts Finals in November, but there will be no Phil Taylor, as the 24-man field for next month’s event has been finalised.

Van Gerwen has triumphed for the previous two years in the season-ending tournament at Glasgow’s Braehead Arena, which takes place at the culmination of the global World Series of Darts tour.

Eight players qualify directly through the World Series of Darts Order of Merit, and they will automatically enter the competition at the last 16 stage. However, Van Gerwen will not be the top seed on this occasion.

That accolade goes to two-time world champion Gary Anderson. ‘The Flying Scotsman’ retained his Dubai Darts Masters title back in May, before defeating Raymond van Barneveld to win the most recent World Series event- the Perth Darts Masters.

Anderson sits just ahead of ‘The Green Machine’- who tasted success in the Shanghai Darts Masters and the inaugural U.S Masters this year, as MvG missed all three events in Australasia due to the birth of his first child.

Peter Wright will be the third seed on home soil, whilst five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld is seeded fourth. The legendary Dutchman is the only man to have competed in all 26 World Series events since its inception back in 2013, and he reached his third final in August’s Perth Darts Masters.

Van Barneveld was originally set to be the fifth seed, but he has climbed up one place in the absence of 16-time world champion Phil Taylor, who will not be enjoying a Glasgow farewell ahead of his impending retirement.

‘The Power’ defeated Peter Wright to win this year’s Melbourne Darts Masters- his seventh title on Australian soil. Yet as with the recent World Grand Prix, the 57-year-old has opted out of the tournament, which means he will only compete in the Grand Slam of Darts and the World Championship before hanging up his arrows competitively.

The other players to have qualified via the World Series Order of Merit include eight-time major winner James Wade, World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney, Auckland Darts Masters winner Kyle Anderson and UK Open finalist Gerwyn Price.

Elsewhere, the top four non-qualified players from the PDC Order of Merit will also feature in Glasgow, meaning that Adrian Lewis, Mensur Suljovic, Dave Chisnall and Jelle Klaasen will be in action next month.

Lewis, Suljovic & Klaasen have yet to appear in any World Series events so far this year, but Suljovic has been handed a wildcard for next week’s German Darts Masters. Chisnall reached the final of July’s Shanghai Darts Masters, whilst his only other World Series appearance of 2017 came in Dubai.

The PDC have also allocated four wildcards, one of which goes to Australian number one Simon Whitlock, who reached the final of last weekend’s World Grand Prix- his first appearance in a major PDC final since July 2013.

His compatriot Corey Cadby has also been handed an invitation after impressing in the Australasia triple-header in August. The World-Youth champion defeated Raymond van Barneveld, Phil Taylor and Peter Wright across the events, and lost in the final of the Auckland Darts Masters to Kyle Anderson by virtue of a thrilling deciding-leg shootout.

Two other former World-Youth champions have also been handed wildcards. World number thirteen Michael Smith has been included after making his World Series bow earlier this year, and he’ll be joined by German number one Max Hopp- who will be appearing on home soil at next week’s inaugural German Darts Masters in Dusseldorf.

Elsewhere, Rob Cross leads the list of eight players who came through Monday’s qualifier to seal their spot in Glasgow. Cross- who has won four Players Championship titles in an incredible debut season, secured his place alongside Mark Webster, Jonny Clayton, Justin Pipe, Dimitri van den Bergh, Jan Dekker, Chris Dobey and Simon Stevenson.

The tournament begins on Friday November 3rd, with the top eight seeds entering the event in the second round on Saturday November 4th. The tournament’s decisive third day on Sunday November 5th will see the quarter-finals take place in the afternoon session, before the semi-finals and final will be held in a blockbuster evening session.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2017 Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals
Eight Players from World Series Rankings

Gary Anderson (Scotland)
Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
Peter Wright (Scotland)
Raymond van Barneveld (Netherlands)
James Wade (England)
Daryl Gurney (Northern Ireland)
Kyle Anderson (Australia)
Gerwyn Price (Wales)

PDC Order of Merit Qualifiers
Adrian Lewis (England)
Mensur Suljovic (Austria)
Dave Chisnall (England)
Jelle Klaasen (Netherlands)

Invited Players
Simon Whitlock (Australia)
Corey Cadby (Australia)
Michael Smith (England)
Max Hopp (Germany)

PDC Tour Card Qualifiers

Rob Cross (England)
Dimitri van den Bergh (Belgium)
Chris Dobey (England)
Justin Pipe (England)
Jonny Clayton (Wales)
Mark Webster (Wales)
Jan Dekker (Netherlands)
Simon Stevenson (England)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: