PDC Order of Merit Update!

Wright leapfrogs Anderson

Peter Wright has leapfrogged his compatriot Gary Anderson to become the Scottish number one, whilst World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney is up to a career high of fourth on the PDC Order of Merit following last weekend’s European Championship in Hasselt.

Wright moved up to a career high of world number two earlier this month, but that lasted for just eight days as ‘The Flying Scotsman’ reclaimed the position he has occupied for over three years following Wright’s quarter-final exit at the European Darts Trophy.

Nevertheless, with Anderson absent from the European Championship after failing to compete in any of the twelve European Tour events this year, ‘Snakebite’ moved £29,000 clear of the two-time world champion following his run to the last eight in Hasselt, where he was beaten 10-5 by World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney.

The Northern Irishman is also a significant mover on the Order of Merit. ‘Super-Chin’ began the weekend ranked sixth in the world, but wins over Steve Beaton, Stephen Bunting and Wright saw Gurney reach the semi-finals and climb to a career high of fourth in the world; above the decorated Stoke duo of Adrian Lewis and Phil Taylor.

Lewis and Taylor are now ranked 5th and 6th respectively, just ahead of Champions League of Darts winner Mensur Suljovic. ‘The Gentle’ had the opportunity to leapfrog the 16-time world champion with a run to the final, but his hopes were thwarted by nine-dart hero Kyle Anderson, who triumphed 10-7 in a hard-fought quarter-final.

At the top of the tree, Michael van Gerwen stretched his lead after securing his record-equalling fourth consecutive European Championship title last night. ‘The Green Machine’ leads his closest challenger Wright by almost £1m, and will be hopeful of extending that buffer in the tournaments to come.

Four-time major finalist Dave Chisnall remains in eighth position, above five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld- who was also absent in Hasselt. Elsewhere, former World-Youth champion Michael Smith is back in the world’s top ten having reached the quarter-finals in Belgium over the weekend.

Simon Whitlock continued his resurgence to reach the European Championship last eight- only losing out to eventual winner Michael van Gerwen. This sees Whitlock up to his highest ranking position for over three years, whilst James Wade- who failed to qualify for the European Championship, slips to world number twelve.

One of the biggest movers on the Order of Merit is Rob Cross. ‘Voltage’ continued his spectacular debut year on the PDC circuit by reaching his first major televised final in Hasselt- beating Martin Schindler, Dave Chisnall, Michael Smith and Daryl Gurney en route.

He performed magnificently against Van Gerwen in a thrilling final; averaging 102.39 and landing six maximums, but it wasn’t enough to defeat the imperious Dutchman, who prevailed 11-7 with a 108.91 average. However, Cross’ heroics see him climb to 23rd in the world, having already clinched a total of £172,250 in an extraordinary debut season.

Kyle Anderson is up three places to 22nd following his run to the last four in Hasselt. ‘The Original’ defeated John Henderson, Jelle Klaasen and Mensur Suljovic and landed a nine-darter against Michael van Gerwen, but he was denied a place in his first major ranking final after missing two match darts in a gripping deciding-leg.

Belgian star Kim Huybrechts has slipped outside the world’s top 16 following his first-round exit on home soil against Mensur Suljovic, whilst two-time major PDC winner Robert Thornton- another high profile star who failed to qualify for the European Championship, is now down to 26th- his lowest position since 2012.

The current PDC Order of Merit can be viewed below…

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Position Name Value
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,691,250
2 Peter Wright £730,250
3 Gary Anderson £701,750
4 Daryl Gurney £399,250
5 Adrian Lewis £390,000
6 Phil Taylor £385,500
7 Mensur Suljovic £362,000
8 Dave Chisnall £347,500
9 Raymond van Barneveld £317,750
10 Michael Smith £306,250
11 Simon Whitlock £305,250
12 James Wade £294,750
13 Jelle Klaasen £293,500
14 Benito van de Pas £275,000
15 Alan Norris £260,250
16 Ian White £253,250
17 Kim Huybrechts £252,250
18 Gerwyn Price £244,750
19 Joe Cullen £215,750
20 Mervyn King £188,500
21 Stephen Bunting £180,000
22 Kyle Anderson £176,500
23 Steve Beaton £175,500
24 Rob Cross £172,250
25 Darren Webster £166,000
26 Robert Thornton £159,750
27 Mark Webster £145,000
28 Cristo Reyes £144,250
29 John Henderson £132,750
30 Vincent van der Voort £127,000
31 Terry Jenkins £125,000
32 Justin Pipe £124,500
33 James Wilson £117,250
34 Brendan Dolan £112,000
35 Steve West £109,750
36 Christian Kist £109,000
37 Jamie Caven £99,750
38 Chris Dobey £95,750
39 Jonny Clayton £94,500
40 Ronny Huybrechts £92,750
41 Robbie Green £89,750
42 Jermaine Wattimena £87,750
43 Dimitri Van den Bergh £80,500
44 Jamie Lewis £79,000
45 Kevin Painter £75,500
46 Max Hopp £73,500
47 Joe Murnan £69,500
48 Andrew Gilding £68,500
49 Rowby-John Rodriguez £64,000
50 Ricky Evans £63,750
51 Josh Payne £63,750
52 Jan Dekker £58,250
53 James Richardson £56,250
54 Keegan Brown £55,500
55 Ron Meulenkamp £53,500
56 Jeffrey de Graaf £52,250
57 Devon Petersen £52,000
58 Mick McGowan £45,500
59 David Pallett £44,750
60 Richard North £44,000
61 Dirk van Duijvenbode £43,000
62 Andy Boulton £41,750
63 Andy Hamilton £39,250
64 John Michael £37,000
65 Jeffrey de Zwaan £34,250
66 Andy Jenkins £33,750
67 William O’Connor £31,750
68 Wes Newton £31,000
69 Simon Stevenson £29,000
70 Mike De Decker £28,750
71 Martin Schindler £27,750
72 Ted Evetts £26,250
73 Krzysztof Ratajski £26,000
74 Zoran Lerchbacher £26,000
75 Mark Walsh £25,500
76 Peter Jacques £24,000
77 Matt Clark £23,750
78 Berry van Peer £23,750
79 Vincent Kamphuis £23,000
80 Richie Corner £23,000
81 Ryan Searle £22,750
82 Yordi Meeuwisse £22,500
83 Nathan Aspinall £22,250
84 Steve Lennon £22,250
85 Chris Quantock £22,000
86 Robert Owen £21,500
87 Ryan Meikle £21,250
88 Darren Johnson £21,000
89 John Bowles £20,750
90 Jamie Bain £17,750
91 Kirk Shepherd £17,750
92 Peter Hudson £17,500
93 Kim Viljanen £17,000
94 Jimmy Hendriks £16,750
95 Jonathan Worsley £16,250
96 Tony Newell £16,250
97 Paul Nicholson £15,500
98 Mark Barilli £14,250
99 Mick Todd £13,500
100 Wayne Jones £12,500

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: