PDC Order of Merit Update!

Adrian Lewis 2018.jpg

Newly crowned world champion Rob Cross is up to third on the PDC Order of Merit, after thrashing Phil Taylor 7-2 to become the first player since Raymond van Barneveld in 2007, to clinch PDC world title glory on their debut.

Cross has enjoyed a meteoric rise since joining the PDC circuit in January and he capped off an astonishing debut year by lifting the 2018 World Championship title on New Year’s Day. ‘Voltage’ claimed £400,000 for beating Taylor in an incredible final, which catapults him up to third in the world.

Cross edged out world number one Michael van Gerwen in an epic sudden-death leg in the semi-finals, but ‘The Green Machine’ still leads second place Peter Wright by over £1,000,000, after ‘Snakebite’ was beaten 4-1 by an inspired Jamie Lewis in the second-round.

Phil Taylor has risen to fourth position after reaching his 21st World Championship Final in his final competitive appearance. The 16-time world champion rolled back the years to reach his first world final since 2015 and although the departing Stoke-on-Trent veteran has relinquished his tour-card, he still remains in the world’s top four.

Two-time world champion Gary Anderson has slipped to fifth, after failing to reach the World Championship final for the first time in four years; whilst World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney is sixth after suffering a surprise second-round exit against John Henderson.

Champions League of Darts winner Mensur Suljovic has fallen to seventh after being whitewashed 4-0 by Dimitri van den Bergh, whilst Dave Chisnall, Simon Whitlock and James Wade all remain in the world’s top ten, despite their early exits at the Alexandra Palace.

Five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld sits in 11th position after losing to Van Gerwen in a dramatic final set decider in the quarter-finals. Van Barneveld was defending £70,000 in prize money having reached the semi-finals in each of the last three years at the World Championship, but is less than £3,000 behind James Wade in 10th.

Gerwyn Price is up to a career high of 13th after breaking his duck at the Alexandra Palace. ‘The Iceman’ had suffered three successive first-round defeats at the World Championship, but reached the last 16 before succumbing to Michael van Gerwen, which saw him receive a wildcard invitation for the 2018 Premier League.

Michael Smith is 12th despite losing out in the second-round to eventual winner Rob Cross. ‘Bully-Boy’ missed two match darts to defeat ‘Voltage’ in round-two, whilst Benito van de Pas remains in 14th, after his disappointing season culminated in a first-round defeat to Steve West in the World Championship.

Ian White and Alan Norris also remain in the top 16 despite their second-round exits at the Alexandra Palace, whilst last year’s Premier League duo of Kim Huybrechts and Jelle Klaasen have dropped out of the top 16 after losing in the opening-round to James Richardson and Jan Dekker respectively.

Darren Webster is up to a career high of 20th after reaching his first World Championship quarter-final since 2007, whilst two-time world champion Adrian Lewis has incredibly dropped to 21st on the Order of Merit.

‘Jackpot’ began the year ranked fourth in the world, but he has been plagued by a back injury which required surgery and barring a run to the World Matchplay semi-finals, the Stoke star has endured the toughest year of his career; culminating with a shock first-round exit against German qualifier Kevin Munch at the Ally Pally.

Lewis was defending £150,000 in prize money by virtue of reaching the final two years ago and his shock first-round defeat at the World Championships sees him miss out on a Premier League spot for the first time since 2009.

Elsewhere, Jamie Lewis is back inside the world’s top 32 after his stunning run to the semi-finals. ‘Fireball’ was ranked 46th prior to this event and only sealed his spot at the Ally Pally after winning the 3rd place play-off at the PDPA qualifier.

However, the preliminary qualifier defeated Kenny Neyens, Jonny Clayton, Peter Wright, James Richardson and Darren Webster to record his best showing in a PDC major and pocket £85,000 in prize money, before he succumbed to the departing Phil Taylor 6-1 in the semi-finals.

World Youth Champion Dimitri van den Bergh is into the world’s top 40 after defeating Stephen Bunting, Jan Dekker and Mensur Suljovic to reach the World Championship quarter-finals, whilst James Richardson has climbed into the top 50.

Steve Lennon and Peter Jacques have moved into the world’s top 64 after making their Alexandra Palace debuts, whilst Zoran Lercbacher and Antonio Alcinas have joined them after reaching the second-round and last 16 respectively at the World Championship.

Nevertheless, 2012 world finalist Andy Hamilton has relinquished his PDC tour-card by slipping to 76th after failing to qualify for this year’s event, whilst Hamilton’s former Premier League colleague Wes Newton is down to 100th. Newton will be competing at Q-School later this month, whilst Hamilton is having a year out from PDC action.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Position Name Value
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,799,250
2 Peter Wright £754,250
3 Rob Cross £611,250
4 Phil Taylor £508,000
5 Gary Anderson £458,250
6 Daryl Gurney £416,750
7 Mensur Suljovic £373,500
8 Dave Chisnall £332,500
9 Simon Whitlock £310,250
10 James Wade £276,250
11 Raymond van Barneveld £273,750
12 Michael Smith £267,750
13 Gerwyn Price £264,750
14 Benito van de Pas £255,000
15 Ian White £253,250
16 Alan Norris £244,250
17 Kim Huybrechts £236,750
18 Jelle Klaasen £233,000
19 Joe Cullen £219,250
20 Darren Webster £209,000
21 Adrian Lewis £209,000
22 Stephen Bunting £192,500
23 Kyle Anderson £182,500
24 Mervyn King £180,500
25 Steve Beaton £180,000
26 Justin Pipe £152,000
27 Robert Thornton £151,750
28 John Henderson £150,750
29 Cristo Reyes £147,750
30 Jamie Lewis £147,000
31 James Wilson £143,250
32 Jonny Clayton £143,000
33 Steve West £136,750
34 Vincent van der Voort £127,500
35 Mark Webster £122,500
36 Chris Dobey £114,750
37 Brendan Dolan £111,500
38 Christian Kist £107,500
39 Dimitri Van den Bergh £105,500
40 Jermaine Wattimena £104,250
41 Terry Jenkins £98,500
42 Robbie Green £92,250
43 Ronny Huybrechts £91,250
44 James Richardson £85,750
45 Jan Dekker £79,250
46 Jamie Caven £78,750
47 Kevin Painter £74,000
48 Keegan Brown £66,000
49 Josh Payne £63,750
50 Max Hopp £63,500
51 Devon Petersen £63,000
52 Richard North £60,000
53 Ron Meulenkamp £58,500
54 Joe Murnan £56,000
55 Jeffrey de Graaf £54,750
56 Andrew Gilding £53,500
57 William O’Connor £50,750
58 Rowby-John Rodriguez £49,000
59 Ricky Evans £48,750
60 Steve Lennon £48,250
61 Zoran Lerchbacher £47,000
62 Mick McGowan £45,500
63 Peter Jacques £43,000
64 Antonio Alcinas £41,500
65 Martin Schindler £38,750
66 Ted Evetts £37,250
67 Krzysztof Ratajski £37,000
68 John Michael £37,000
69 Berry van Peer £33,750
70 Andy Jenkins £33,750
71 Dirk van Duijvenbode £33,000
72 Andy Boulton £31,750
73 Mike De Decker £31,250
74 Jeffrey de Zwaan £29,750
75 David Pallett £29,750
76 Andy Hamilton £29,250
77 Simon Stevenson £29,000
78 Kim Viljanen £28,000
79 Mark Walsh £25,500
80 Ryan Searle £25,250
81 Robert Owen £24,000
82 Matt Clark £23,750
83 Darren Johnson £23,500
84 Vincent Kamphuis £23,000
85 Richie Corner £23,000
86 Yordi Meeuwisse £22,500
87 Nathan Aspinall £22,250
88 Chris Quantock £22,000
89 Ryan Meikle £21,250
90 John Bowles £20,750
91 Peter Hudson £20,000
92 Jimmy Hendriks £19,250
93 Paul Nicholson £18,000
94 Jamie Bain £17,750
95 Kirk Shepherd £17,750
96 Mickey Mansell £17,000
97 Diogo Portela £16,750
98 Jonathan Worsley £16,250
99 Tony Newell £16,250
100 Wes Newton £16,000

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: