BDO World Championship 2018: Day Six Report!

Justin van Tergouw

Dutch darting sensation Justin van Tergouw produced an incredible display to retain his BDO World Youth Championship title on another eventful double-session of action at the Lakeside on Thursday. 

However, the performance of the day saw 17-year-old Van Tergouw retain his World Youth Championship title with a brilliant 3-1 victory over 15-year-old Irish star Killian Heffernan. Heffernan did himself proud, but Van Tergouw reeled off nine successive legs to triumph with a 93.04 average, four ton-plus finishes and a 56% checkout success rate.

Heffernan made a blistering start to the contest, converting brilliant 156 and 87 finishes to take control of the set. Van Tergouw then hammered home a spectacular 170 outshot to open his account, but the Irishman held firm to peg tops and draw first blood.

However, the defending champion then produced a stunning burst to storm to victory, winning nine legs in succession to retain his title in emphatic fashion. His clinical finishing was the highlight of his performance, as he took out 100 and 131 en route to victory, which he duly sealed with a majestic 132 outshot (Bull, T14, D20).

In the men’s section, Jim Williams edged out Conan Whitehead in a pulsating seven-set tiebreak to set up a quarter-final showdown against defending champion Glen Durrant. In a dramatic contest containing 21 maximums, ‘The Quiff’ survived two match darts to prevail with a 90.18 average, eleven maximums and a 27% checkout success rate.

Whitehead won a nervy opening set despite Williams crashing in two maximums, but the Welshman crashed in a classy 121 finish on the bullseye to level. However, ‘The Barbarian’ regained the lead courtesy of a majestic checkout of his own- dispatching a brilliant 134 (T18, D20, D20) to wrestle back the initiative.

The ninth seed responded strongly; winning six of the next nine legs to establish a 3-2 lead, only for Whitehead to capitalise on a multitude of missed doubles from Williams to force a seventh and deciding set. ‘The Barbarian’ moved 2-0 ahead in the decider and left himself on 57 after just 12 darts as he closed in on victory.

Nevertheless, Williams conjured up an inspired 161 finish to stay alive and although Whitehead fashioned out match darts in the next leg he was unable to cross the line. The Englishman then spurned further darts at double in the fifth as Williams followed up a brilliant 174 by pegging D16, before he sealed his dramatic progression via D8.

2016 semi-finalist Richard Veenstra breezed through to the quarter-finals with a straight sets demolition of sixth seed Geert de Vos. Veenstra dropped only three legs en route to victory, averaging 90.85 and crashing in seven maximums to dispatch the off-colour Belgian, who averaged a miserly 77.37 in one of his worst ever televised displays.

The Dutchman stormed to the opening set without reply, with De Vos averaging just 75. The Belgian opened his account early in the second with a tidy two-dart 85 combination, but this didn’t provide the necessary spark, as Veenstra reeled off three more legs on the spin to double his lead.

De Vos conjured up a stunning 133 finish out of nowhere to kick off set three but Veenstra won three consecutive legs to continue the procession, and the pattern continued in the fourth. The Belgian drew first blood with a clinical 120 kill, but he was unable to make further inroads, as the 11th seed won the next three legs to ease through.

Elsewhere, German qualifier Michael Unterbuchner continued his fairy-tale run at the Lakeside to dump out the veteran Martin Phillips and book a place in the World Championship quarter-finals on debut. It was a topsy-turvy tussle, but Unterbuchner averaged 88.88 and landed five maximums to defeat the 14th seed 4-2.

The debutant drew first blood in a scrappy first set decider with Phillips averaging just 77, before doubling his lead in the second after punishing profligacy from the former Wales captain. However, Phillips halved the deficit after edging a nervy third set, before levelling up proceedings by wrapping up the fourth set to nil in just 46 darts.

The 57-year-old had the momentum, but he was punished for more spurned opportunities in the fifth, missing nine doubles across two legs as Unterbucher dispatched a two-dart 84 outshot to regain the lead. The German then kicked off the sixth with a classy 102 kill, before overcoming finishing-line nerves to close out victory on D1.

In the women’s section, top seed Deta Hedman booked her place in the semi-finals with a straight sets win over Sharon Prins. The first nine legs incredibly all went against throw, with Prins landing a fine 138 finish midway through set two. However, Hedman held when it mattered; dispatching an 84 kill on the bullseye to prevail with a 78.15 average.

Lisa Ashton continued her title defence with a 2-0 victory over 2015 finalist Fallon Sherrock. The three-time world champion converted finishes of 116 and 83 to clinch the opener, before surviving two set darts in the second to triumph with a 73.39 average-maintaining her record of having not dropped a set at the Lakeside since 2016.

Three-time world champion Anastasia Dobromyslova is through to the last four without dropping a leg, after dismantling third seed and world number one Lorraine Winstanley in six straight legs. The Russian was in imperious form; averaging 85.08, landing a maximum and converting 58% of her attempts at double to progress emphatically.

She will now face ten-time world champion Trina Gulliver, who breezed into yet another World Championship semi-final after dumping out second seed Aileen de Graaf. The pair exchanged early breaks, before Gulliver capitalised on Aileen’s 9% checkout success rate to reel off five straight legs and triumph with a 77.62 average.

Photo Credit: David Gill Media

2018 BDO World Championship
Thursday January 11
Afternoon Session (12:30pm)
Justin van Tergouw 3-1 Killian Heffernan (World Youth Final)
Deta Hedman 2-0 Sharon Prins
Jim Williams 4-3 Conan Whitehead
Trina Gulliver MBE 2-0 Aileen de Graaf

Evening Session (7pm)
Lisa Ashton 2-0 Fallon Sherrock
Michael Unterbuchner 4-2 Martin Phillips
Anastasia Dobromyslova 2-0 Lorraine Winstanley
Richard Veenstra 4-0 Geert de Vos


Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: