Noppert & Jeff Smith to compete at PDC Q-School!

Danny Noppert PDC.jpg

Former BDO World Championship finalists Danny Noppert and Jeff Smith have both confirmed that they will be attempting to secure PDC Tour Cards at Q-School later this month.

For the first time in PDC history, there will be two separate Q-Schools taking place across different venues. Wigan’s Robin Park Tennis Centre will again host the four-day qualifying school in the UK, but Hildesheim in Germany will hold the inaugural European Qualifying School, which further evidences the global reach of the sport.

Noppert, who triumphed on home soil in the Finder Darts Masters last month, confirmed his intention to attend Q-School via his Facebook page, following his last 16 exit at the hands of second seed Mark McGeeney at the Lakeside on Wednesday afternoon.

‘Noppie’ reached the BDO World Championship final twelve months ago, but it’s been a tumultuous few weeks for the Dutchman. Noppert’s mother tragically passed away on New Year’s Eve, but the 27-year-old opted to compete in the tournament and showed a great deal of courage in doing so.

However, the 2017 Lakeside finalist took to social media to inform fans of his decision to attend Q-School. The Dutchman has already enjoyed some experience in the PDC, having competed in the Grand Slam of Darts for the last two years.

Noppert reached the last 16 on his Grand Slam debut back in 2016, defeating Mensur Suljovic and Nathan Aspinall in the group-stages, before succumbing to Gary Anderson in a thrilling last-leg decider. He returned to Wolverhampton in November, but narrowly missed out on group-stage qualification via legs difference.

Nevertheless, Noppert won’t be the only former Lakeside finalist attempting to secure a PDC Tour Card next week. 2016 BDO World Championship runner-up Jeff Smith will also be bidding to seal a place on the PDC circuit, following on from his PDC World Championship debut at the Alexandra Palace back in December.

‘The Silencer’ enjoyed a successful 2017 but was unable to qualify for the 2018 BDO World Championship. However, the Canadian was handed a reprieve after receiving a wildcard to compete in the PDC World Championship by virtue of being NDFC (National Darts Federation of Canada) number one.

Smith defeated Development Tour winner Luke Humphries in a high-quality preliminary round contest, converting six of his seven attempts at a double. However, he was then beaten in straight sets by two-time world champion Gary Anderson in round-one, yet this wasn’t Smith’s first experience on the PDC circuit.

The Canadian claimed a PDC-Tour card back in 2011, competing in the 2013 World Cup of Darts alongside three-time world champion John Part. He returned to the BDO fold in 2014 but made his Grand Slam debut in 2016, reaching the knockout stages before losing to 16-time world champion Phil Taylor.

However, whilst Noppert heads to Hildesheim, Smith will be competing at the UK Qualifying School in Wigan, which he confirmed via his twitter account on Wednesday morning, telling fans: ‘The decision has been made. I will be headed to Wigan for Q-School.’

Despite this, Noppert and Smith won’t be the only high-profile names featuring at Q-School. Former PDC number one Colin Lloyd will be aiming to regain his place on the circuit after a two-year hiatus, whilst former Premier League star Wes Newton will also be in attendance after falling to 100th on the PDC Order of Merit.

The full list of confirmed entries for both the UK and European Q-Schools can be found below. The events will take place from Thursday 18th January to Sunday 21st January, with Tuesday 16th January the final deadline for entries.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

UK Q-School Entries (166):

1 Gilitwala Amit
2 Corner Richie
3 Lloyd Colin
4 Delahunty Jason
5 Kirkby Steven
6 Hurley Ian
7 Murphy Jay
8 Comerford Stuart
9 Budgen Lee
10 Gardner George
11 Wilson David
12 Cornwall Andy
13 Smith Morgan
14 Bailey Leon
15 Burgoyne Peter
16 Beard Michael
17 Slocombe Keith william
18 Preston Simon
19 Quinn Craig
20 Holloway Paul
21 Main Jack
22 Pullen Neil
23 Atkins Martin
24 Ladley Dave
25 Roberts Ronnie
26 Barnard Michael
27 Tabern Jnr Alan
28 Ward Harry
29 Kellett Stuart
30 Rafferty Nathan
31 Sudale Ricky
32 Smith Ross
33 Graham Mark
34 Power Michael
35 Richardson Dave
36 Todd Jack
37 Wynn Jonathan
38 Boulton Andy
39 McCall Kris
40 Lovely Thomas
41 Lishman Tommy
42 Wilson Mark
43 Lovely Edward
44 Jones Emyr
45 Blackwood Gary
46 White Chris
47 Welding James
48 Perren Steve
49 Matthews Callum
50 Worsley Jonathan
51 Bates Barrie
52 Goldie John
53 Mitchell Peter
54 Temple Terry
55 Warne Anthony
56 Bramley Peter
57 Stanley Kevin
58 Ingram Craig
59 Fuller Jack
60 Bell Nicholas
61 Kelling Jamie
62 Beard Greg
63 Layden Darren
64 Adams Lance
65 Nott Mike
66 Culleton Niall
67 Eastwood Gary
68 Osborne Colin
69 Evans David
70 Ono Keita
71 Darlow Antony
72 Richardson Tony
73 Cole Tony
74 Hall Rees
75 Walker Jim
76 Pallett David
77 Marcroft James
78 Copley David
79 Harrington Ryan
80 Lee Daniel
81 McKirdy Jimmy
82 Martin Tony
83 Smith Steven
84 Hyde Dean
85 Muramatsu Haruki
86 Cadby Corey
87 Kearns Brendan
88 Hamilton Carl
89 Mckenzie Robert
90 Treadgold Nathan
91 McCloskey Michael
92 Richards Ian
93 Hicks David christopher
94 Randall Steve
95 Roach Terry
96 Newton Wes
97 Brown Anthony
98 Cole Daniel
99 Guilfoyle Jamie
100 Davies Ben
101 Price Shane
102 Simpson Ben
103 Lukeman Martin
104 Burkhill Trevor
105 Clements Joshua
106 Mackay Callum
107 Norton Mike
108 Owen Robert
109 Scheffer Warrick
110 James Lee
111 Vallely Trevor
112 Reidy Shane
113 Howson Richie
114 Hart Ryan
115 Brooks Rachel
116 Beveridge Darren
117 Foreman Jay
118 Smith-Neale Adam
119 Marson David
120 Selby Jaikob
121 Gibson Glenn
122 Hewson Rob
123 Fawcett George
124 Walsh Mark
125 Harwood Will
126 McGill Andre Luke
127 Wilson Jason
128 Kemp Charlie
129 Davison Gary
130 Dinning Paul
131 Broton Justin
132 Gengler Danny
133 Meikle Andrew
134 Morris John
135 Hutchings Andy
136 Scrivens Roger
137 Dootson Eddie
138 Goffin Callum
139 Thomas Douglas
140 Hajdar James
141 Taylor Steve
142 Mortensen Josh
143 Carter Keith Robert
144 Stubbs Stuart
145 Holgate Ashley
146 Timmins Kieran
147 Collins Robert
148 Fatum David
149 Harris Lee
150 Lauby Daniel
151 MacNeil Ken
152 Lawrence Mark
153 Stevenson Simon
154 Bailey James
155 Davey John
156 Fairhurst BJ
157 Ryan Sean
158 Simm Kevin
159 Barton James
160 Sanders Zac
161 Corcoran Karl
162 Dowling Kevin
163 Harbert Steven
164 Hubbard James
165 Tyler Barry
166 Booth Sam

Current European Q-School Entries (64):

1 Eidams Rene
2 Blum Nico
3 Hendriks Jerry
4 Hyvonen Heikki
5 Van Dijk Michael
6 Junghans Thomas
7 van Duijvenbode Dirk
8 de Zwaan Jeffrey
9 Herz Fabian
10 Taferner Stefan
11 Ceder Ulf
12 Rasztovits Michael
13 Heldt Tom
14 Pongracz Milan
15 Sedlacek Karel
16 Humpula Frantisek
17 Haverinen Teuvo
18 Martin Peter
19 Ploetz Tobias
20 Gerock Thomas
21 Carballo Ricardo Fernandez
22 Van De Wal Christoff
23 Apollonio Marco
24 Hofsink Wim
25 Balfoort Ronald
26 Justicia Perales Jose Antonio
27 Plooy Michael
28 van Peer Carlo
29 Tessmann Danny
30 Anliker Tobias
31 Gugger Marcel
32 Pacic Igor
33 Mandl Nico
34 Hoentsch Tobias
35 Goedl Christian
36 Graudenz Jochen
37 Konterman Arjan
38 Hardeman Fons
39 Gradert Andreas
40 Hendriks Leo
41 Schouten Ron
42 Michael John
43 Drobick Gino
44 Mozelewski Frederic
45 Holtkamp Ole
46 Rettig Holger
47 Burquel Tom
48 Marijanovic Robert
49 Ata Duvaan
50 Salge Anton
51 Luetolf Jean-Marc
52 Glanzer Armin
53 Hurrebrink Remon
54 De Vreede Ryan
55 Reiszner Karl
56 Meischner Till
57 Robbe Mario
58 Michels Mareno
59 Berndt Rene
60 Clemens Gabriel
61 van Peer Berry
62 Rodriguez Roxy-James
63 de Fijter Melvin
64 Perea Jesus Noguera


Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: