World Cup of Darts 2018: Nations confirmed!

Van Gerwen Van Barneveld WCOD

The 32 competing nations for the 2018 Betway World Cup of Darts have been confirmed ahead of the tournament’s eighth staging from May 31st-June 3rd in Frankfurt.

The World Cup of Darts sees nations represented by two-player teams, who compete in a combination of singles and doubles matches across the course of the four-day knockout event.

The Netherlands will be defending their crown at the Eissporthalle in Germany, after Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld defeated the Welsh duo of Gerwyn Price and Mark Webster in last year’s final, which secured Netherlands their third World Cup of Darts title.

England are the only other nation to secure World Cup of Darts glory, although it’s set to be a new-look line-up for the four-time winners in 2018. For the first time in the tournament’s history, neither Phil Taylor or Adrian Lewis are set to feature for England, although world champion Rob Cross is set to make his debut in the pair’s event.

Peter Wright and Gary Anderson, ranked 2nd and 4th in the world respectively, are expected to represent 2015 runners-up Scotland, whilst former finalists Australia, Wales and Belgium will also feature once again.

Qualifying events have already taken place in some nations, and Diogo Portela will lead Brazil’s charge for the second straight year, as he’s partnered by Bruno Rangel. Meanwhile, Hungary will be represented by Nandor Bezzeg and Tamas Alexits.

Danish stalwart Per Laursen will maintain his record of having competed in all eight World Cup of Darts events and he’ll be partnered by debutant Henrik Primdal. Another newcomer includes two-time Q-School participant Michel Furlani, who is set to represent Italy alongside Alessio Medaina.

Finland will be led by the dangerous pairing of Marko Kantele and Kim Viljanen, whilst Cody Harris, who has moved to the UK in order to compete on the PDC Pro Tour circuit in 2018, will once again represent New Zealand. He will be paired alongside the veteran Warren Parry, who is the top-ranked player on the DartPlayers New Zealand circuit.

Nevertheless, Swedish veteran Magnus Caris will miss out on the World Cup of Darts for the first time in the tournament’s history. Daniel Larsson will compete for the second straight year alongside former BDO star Dennis Nilsson- a recent Challenge Tour event winner.

Eight nations will be seeded for the first round draw, based on the lowest cumulative ranking of the nation’s players on the PDC Order of Merit at the cut-off date for selection. The full list of representatives for each nation will be confirmed in due course, and the 32-nation line-up can be viewed below.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Betway World Cup of Darts
Competing Nations
Brazil – Diogo Portela & Bruno Rangel
Czech Republic
Denmark – Per Laursen & Henrik Primdal
Finland – Kim Viljanen & Marko Kantele
Hong Kong
Hungary – Tamas Alexits & Nandor Bezzeg
Italy – Michel Furlani & Alessio Medaina
New Zealand – Cody Harris & Warren Parry
Northern Ireland
Republic of Ireland
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Liam O’Brien
Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Dennis Nilsson
United States of America



Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: