Grand Slam trophy renamed in honour of Bristow!


The late Eric Bristow MBE is to be honoured by the Professional Darts Corporation with the naming of the Grand Slam of Darts trophy in memory of the five-time world champion.

The legendary ‘Crafty Cockney’ passed away suddenly on April 5th at the age of 60, having enjoyed an astonishing career in the sport. As well as winning five World Championship titles, Bristow was also a five-time World Masters winner and arguably the most iconic figure in the game’s history.

Bristow played an integral role in the forming of the PDC back in 1993, before going on to become a TV pundit and spotter on Sky Sports’ darting coverage following his retirement. He also starred in the 2012 version of ‘I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here’, where he finished in fourth position.

Already a member of the PDC Hall of Fame, Bristow’s legacy is undeniable, but he will also be remembered at the Grand Slam of Darts, with both PDC and BDO players competing to win the Eric Bristow Trophy at the cross-code event in Wolverhampton.

PDC Chairman Barry Hearn said: “Eric’s achievements marked him out as the greatest player of his generation and he’ll be remembered forever as the original superstar of darts. He was a character who transcended the sport and was known worldwide, and so many sports fans worldwide have fond memories of Eric.

“As such, we felt that it was fitting to introduce The Eric Bristow Trophy, which will be presented to the winner of the Bwin Grand Slam of Darts from 2018 onwards.

“Whilst Eric played an integral role in the creation of the PDC, the most successful period of his career came in the BDO and, as the only cross-code tournament in darts, we feel this is the most appropriate way to honour his contribution to the sport.”

Bristow is the third superstar of the sport to see their achievements recognised with the naming of a trophy. The World Darts Championship was named ‘The Sid Waddell Trophy’ in honour of the late great darting commentator, whilst the World Matchplay was named in honour of Phil Taylor, following The Power’s retirement in January.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: