2019 BDO World Championship Draw!

Durrant GSOD L16.jpg

Glen Durrant could begin his bid for a third successive Lakeside World Championship title against Adam Smith-Neale, in a repeat of this year’s World Masters Final, after the draw for the BDO World Championship was made on Thursday evening.

Smith-Neale, who defeated Durrant to clinch World Masters glory back in October, faces experienced New Zealander Mark McGrath in the preliminary round, for the right to face ‘Duzza’ in round-one. McGrath impressed on the PDC World Series circuit this summer, and even claimed the scalp of Premier League finalist Michael Smith.

Last year’s finalist Mark McGeeney takes on 23-year-old Dutchman Derk Telnekes- the youngest player in this year’s field, whilst 2015 world champion Scott Mitchell kicks off his campaign against either Oliver Ferenc or Ryan Hogarth.

Two-time Lakeside world champion Scott Waites faces Dutch debutant Jeffrey van Egdom, while Wesley Harms and Tony O’Shea lock horns in a repeat of their memorable 2012 semi-final tussle.

Grand Slam quarter-finalist Michael Unterbuchner, who reached the semi-finals on debut in January, meets the winner of the all-Australian preliminary round-tie between Mal Cuming and Justin Thompson. Meanwhile, 2015 quarter-finalist Ross Montgomery plays Scott Baker, who made his World Championship debut twelve months ago.

BDO number three Jim Williams- the winner of five titles on the circuit this season, plays either Belgium’s Roger Janssen or Dutchman Wouter Vaes in his opener, whilst last year’s quarter-finalist Wayne Warren locks horns with the veteran Mark Layton- making his BDO World Championship debut.

Martin Phillips, making his 16th Lakeside appearance in January, faces a tough opening-round assignment against Conan Whitehead, whilst 2016 semi-finalist Richard Veenstra will face either American Jim Widmayer or former PDC star Nigel Heydon in round-one.

Former PDC Development Tour winner Dean Reynolds faces Daniel Day, debutant Dave Parletti takes on either Brian Lokken or Krzysztof Kciuk, whilst Dutchman Chris Landman plays talented Northern Irishman Kyle McKinstry.

However, the preliminary round also features two former Premier League stars, in the form of Andy Hamilton and Wes Newton.

Hamilton- a PDC World Championship finalist back in 2012, plays Canadian David Cameron for the right to take on BDO stalwart Gary Robson in the first-round. Newton has also been handed a tough draw, as he takes on UK Open giant-killer Paul Hogan, for the right to then play quick-fire Dutchman Willem Mandigers.

In the women’s section, the highlight of the opening round sees four-time world champion Lisa Ashton taking on Lakeside debutant Mikuru Suzuki. Suzuki- twice a World Masters quarter-finalist, is enjoying a twelve-month unbeaten run in Japan, and she reached the semi-finals of last weekend’s PDC Women’s Rest of the World qualifier.

Anastasia Dobromyslova, who secured her Alexandra Palace return with victory over Suzuki in last weekend’s qualifier, plays debutant Laura Turner, whilst legendary ten-time champion Trina Gulliver meets Polish qualifier Karolina Podgorska.

Former finalists Corrine Hammond and Fallon Sherrock collide in round-one for the second straight year, whilst Deta Hedman begins her bid for a first world title against her England teammate Maria O’Brien.

Number one seed Lorraine Winstanley plays 2017 quarter-finalist Casey Gallagher, two-time semi-finalist Aileen de Graaf takes on Paula Jacklin, whilst seventh seed Sharon Prins meets debutant Roz Bulmer.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC


Mark McGeeney (1) v Derk Telnekes

Martin Philips (16) v Conan Whitehead

Richard Veenstra (8) v Jim Widmayer or Nigel Heydon

Scott Waites (9) v Jeffrey van Egdom

Michael Unterbuchner (5) v Mal Cuming or Justin Thompson

Wayne Warren (12) v Mark Layton

Wesley Harms (4) v Tony O’Shea

Willem Mandigers (13) v Paul Hogan or Wesley Newton

Jim Williams (3) v Roger Janssen or Wouter Vaes

Daniel Day (14) v Dean Reynolds

Scott Mitchell (6) v Oliver Ferenc or Ryan Hogarth

Dave Parletti (11) v Brian Lokken or Krzystof Kciuk

Gary Robson (7) v David Cameron or Andy Hamilton

Chris Landman (10) v Kyle McKinstry

Glen Durrant (2) v Mark McGrath v Adam Smith-Neale

Ross Montgomery (15) v Scott Baker


Lorraine Winstanley (1) v Casey Gallagher

Trina Gulliver (8) v Karolina Podgorska

Anastasia Dobromyslova (4) v Laura Turner

Aileen de Graaf (5) v Paula Jacklin

Deta Hedman (3) v Maria O’Brien

Fallon Sherrock (6) v Corrine Hammond

Lisa Ashton (2) v Mikuru Suzuki

Sharon Prins (7) v Roz Bulmer

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: