Beaton, Barney & Durrant among European Tour qualifiers!

Steve Beaton, Stephen Bunting and Kyle Anderson were among eight players to secure a European Tour qualification double in Wigan on Friday, as Raymond van Barneveld and Glen Durrant also qualified for one event apiece.

Four qualifying events took place at the Robin Park Tennis Centre for the German Darts Grand Prix (ET3) and the German Darts Open (ET4), which will take place in Munich and Saarbrucken respectively in April.

Beaton maintained his impressive record of having qualified for every European Tour event in 2019 after producing a series of impressive displays, while former Lakeside world champion Stephen Bunting and Australian ace Kyle Anderson also did the double.

Premier League contender Chris Dobey was the fourth UK representative to qualify for both of April’s events, alongside World Championship quarter-finalist Brendan Dolan and former BDO star Jamie Hughes, who averaged an incredible 112.70 to confirm his spot in ET4.

Ted Evetts enjoyed a perfect Friday afternoon, as he qualified for both events and landed a nine-dart finish en route – his second perfect leg of the season. Ritchie Edhouse also conjured up a magical nine-darter, but it wasn’t enough to defeat Mickey Mansell in the final round of ET4 qualification.

Elsewhere, Germany’s Gabriel Clemens was the only player to qualify from both West & South Europe Tour Card Holder Qualifying events for the third and fourth European Tour events of the year.

Three-time Lakeside world champion Glen Durrant posted three successive ton-plus averages to seal his place at the German Darts Grand Prix, including a stunning 110.70 average in the final round.

‘Duzza’ will be joined in his second European Tour event by Alan Norris, as well as former World Youth finalists Ricky Evans, Keegan Brown and Josh Payne. Nathan Derry, Ritchie Edhouse, Mark Barilli, Ross Smith, Arron Monk and Mark Wilson were the other players to seal their spots in Munich.

UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall was among the UK Qualifiers for Saarbrucken along with fellow Premier League Contenders John Henderson, Steve Lennon and Luke Humphries. David Pallett, Steve West, James Wilson, Kirk Shepherd, Wayne Jones and James Richardson also progressed.

German number two Martin Schindler will make his first European Tour appearance of 2019 at the German Darts Grand Prix along with former European Tour winner Kim Huybrechts, three-time PDC ranking winner Krzysztof Ratajski, Danny Noppert and Cristo Reyes.

Five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld will make his second European Tour appearance of the year at the German Darts Open, having posted a 106 average against Jelle Klaasen en route to qualification. Barney didn’t feature in the ET3 qualifier as he is unable to play in Munich.

Premier League Contenders Dimitri Van den Bergh and Jeffrey de Zwaan will also feature in Saarbrucken, alongside the Dutch duo of Vincent Kamphuis and Vincent van der Meer.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

UK ET3 Qualifiers: Keegan Brown, Ricky Evans, Alan Norris, Glen Durrant, Stephen Bunting, Steve Beaton, Nathan Derry, Chris Dobey, Ritchie Edhouse, Kyle Anderson, Josh Payne, Ted Evetts, Mark Barilli, Ross Smith, Arron Monk, Mark Wilson, Brendan Dolan, Jamie Hughes

UK ET4 Qualifiers: Ted Evetts, David Pallett, Steve West, James Wilson, Stephen Bunting, Steve Beaton, Steve Lennon, Chris Dobey, John Henderson, Kyle Anderson, Kirk Shepherd, Mickey Mansell, Wayne Jones, Nathan Aspinall, Luke Humphries, James Richardson, Brendan Dolan, Jamie Hughes

European ET3 Qualifiers: Kim Huybrechts, Danny Noppert, Krzysztof Ratajski, Gabriel Clemens, Cristo Reyes, Martin Schindler

European ET4 Qualifiers: Vincent Kamphuis, Dimitri Van den Bergh, Gabriel Clemens, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Vincent van der Meer, Raymond van Barneveld

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: