Van Barneveld & Wade to feature in World Series treble!

Raymond van Barneveld and James Wade will compete in the PDC World Series of Darts events in Brisbane, Melbourne and Hamilton in August after being confirmed alongside four further Oceanic qualifiers.

Van Barneveld is a former World Series finalist in both Australia and New Zealand and the five-time world champion will feature in the Oceanic treble-header in August, as he continues his final year on the professional circuit before his retirement.

The legendary Dutchman will be joined by reigning World Series champion James Wade – a former Perth Darts Masters finalist. ‘The Machine’ finished third in this year’s Premier League and has picked up five ranking titles in the space of nine months.

Van Barneveld and Wade will join the previously-announced Michael van Gerwen, Rob Cross, Gary Anderson, Daryl Gurney, Peter Wright and Simon Whitlock as the eight PDC representatives for the three tournaments, where they will take on eight Oceanic representatives in each first round.

Former Auckland Darts Masters champion Kyle Anderson and 2016 World Youth champion Corey Cadby will also feature in all three events, while Cody Harris will compete in Hamilton, having recently led New Zealand to their first ever World Cup of Darts quarter-final.

Harris’ World Cup teammate Haupai Puha and two-time World Cup representative Craig Caldwell will also compete in the NZ Darts Masters, as the top two players from the Darts Players New Zealand rankings.

Elsewhere, Australian pair Damon Heta and James Bailey have clinched their spots in the Brisbane Darts Masters and Melbourne Darts Masters, having finished in the top two of the DartPlayers Australia standings.

Heta reached the quarter-finals in Melbourne 12 months ago and also competed in last year’s World Series Finals, while Bailey appeared in Melbourne last year and also made his PDC World Championship debut at Alexandra Palace in December.

A further three places in the Brisbane Darts Masters and Melbourne Darts Masters will be on offer in DPA Qualifiers from July 4-7, with one spot available in the NZ Darts Masters. The DPNZ Qualifiers, held on June 29-30, will offer two places in the NZ Darts Masters and one apiece in Brisbane and Melbourne.

Photo Credit: Orange Pictures

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: