2020 Ladbrokes Masters draw confirmed!

Newly crowned world champion Peter Wright will take on Joe Cullen in his first match since claiming Alexandra Palace glory, with the draw for the 2020 Ladbrokes Masters now confirmed following the conclusion of the PDC World Championship.

The eighth staging of the season-opening tournament will be held from January 31-February 2 at Milton Keynes’ Marshall Arena, as the world’s top 16 battle for the first piece of silverware of the new darting season.

Snakebite’s first competitive outing since being crowned world champion will see him come up against world No 15 Cullen, as he bids for a first Masters crown. Wright dominates the pair’s head-to-head record, having won 15 of his 19 tussles against ‘The Rockstar’.

Michael van Gerwen was denied a fourth World Championship crown after losing to Wright on New Year’s Day, although the world No 1 will aim to return to winning ways by claiming a sixth straight Masters title when he kicks off his campaign against Jonny Clayton.

Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price labelled Simon Whitlock ‘pathetic’ following the Australian’s alleged gamesmanship in their last 16 clash at the World Championship and the duo will renew their rivalry in Milton Keynes.

Fourth seed Rob Cross locks horns with Adrian Lewis in a battle of the former world champions, whilst former World Championship finalist Michael Smith meets Mensur Suljovic, who suffered a shock defeat to Fallon Sherrock in his last televised outing.

Two-time world champion Gary Anderson makes his Masters return after missing out on last year’s event due to injury and he faces his close friend Ian White. Elsewhere, seventh seed Daryl Gurney plays 2016 finalist Dave Chisnall for a place in the last eight.

UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall has broken into the world’s top eight after reaching back-to-back World Championship semi-finals and the Stockport star will make his tournament debut against last year’s finalist James Wade, who missed out on this year’s Premier League.

The tournament will be broadcast live on ITV4 and through the PDC’s worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and RTL7, whilst the schedule of play will be announced in due course.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2020 Ladbrokes Masters draw bracket
(1) Michael van Gerwen v (16) Jonny Clayton
(8) Nathan Aspinall v (9) James Wade
(4) Rob Cross v (13) Adrian Lewis
(5) Michael Smith v (12) Mensur Suljovic
(2) Peter Wright v (15) Joe Cullen
(7) Daryl Gurney v (10) Dave Chisnall
(3) Gerwyn Price v (14) Simon Whitlock
(6) Gary Anderson v (11) Ian White

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: