2020 BDO World Championship – Day Two Report

Michael Unterbuchner, Wayne Warren and Paul Hogan all progressed on day two at the BDO World Championship, as World Masters champion John O’Shea and three-time women’s world finalist Deta Hedman bowed out on another action-packed day at the Indigo at The O2.

Unterbuchner has reached successive semi-finals in his two previous BDO World Championship appearances and he defeated dangerous Dutchman Willem Mandigers in a repeat of last year’s quarter-final.

The German prevailed 5-4 on that occasion although this was a more convincing victory. The 31-year-old from Munich claimed the opening set despite averaging five points less than Mandigers, although the Dutchman defied a 111 checkout to level the contest, having missed the bull for a 170.

However, the turning point came in set three. Mandigers fired in a timely maximum to give himself three set darts but he was unable to capitalise and Unterbuchner’s clinical finishing was the decisive factor – the former Grand Slam star converted 11 of his 19 attempts at double to triumph.

Fifth seed Wayne Warren battled past Australian qualifier Justin Thompson in a gruelling five-set tussle to book his place in the last 16. Thompson breezed past Scott Williams in the preliminary round on Saturday, although he was unable to record his best showing at the BDO World Championship.

Thompson drew first blood in the opening set after Warren was unable to register a dart at double from 66, but the Welshman recovered to restore parity. Warren then established a 2-1 cushion despite Thompson converting a 144 checkout and missing double 18 for a 141 outshot in set three.

The Australian rallied to force a deciding set but Warren’s class shone through in the fifth. The 57-year-old wrapped up the decider without reply, producing a classy 120 checkout on tops to seal his progression with a solid 92.75 average.

Elsewhere, former UK Open star Paul Hogan produced an efficient display to defeat Brian Raman and set up a last 32 tie against 10th seed Adam Smith Neale. Hogan averaged 88.51, registered six maximums and produced a stunning 158 checkout to record a 3-1 victory over the 23-year-old Belgian.

The highest winning average of the day saw Martijn Kleermaker breeze past former PDC World Championship participant Gino Vos in a one-sided all-Dutch affair. Kleermaker averaged 93.27, converted an effortless 160 finish and also wired the bull for a 170 en route to sealing his last 16 spot.

Reigning World Masters champion John O’Shea was left to rue missed opportunities as he bowed out against Andreas Harryson in a scrappy preliminary affair. Harryson took out a fine 121 combination to win the opening set, before doubling his tally with O’Shea averaging below 70.

The Irishman rallied to reduce the arrears in set three and kicked off the fourth with a terrific 134 outshot – eventually wrapping it up to force a decider. Nevertheless, O’Shea spurned a number of opportunities in the fifth which enabled the Swede to claim an unlikely victory.

Another five-set tussle saw debutant Ben Hazel fend off a valiant fightback from American qualifier Joe Chaney to set up a meeting with 13th seed Gary Robson. Chaney kicked off proceedings with a stunning 142 outshot but Hazel displayed little sign of debut nerves to clinch the opening two sets.

The mid-game interval inspired a revival from Chaney, who won six of the next seven legs to restore parity at two apiece, clinching set four with a 120 outshot. The fifth set was a nip and tuck affair, although ‘Mr Ben’ held his nerve to prevail in a tie-break via double 12.

In the women’s draw, third seed Aileen de Graaf recovered from a set down to defeat debutant Kirsty Hutchinson and set up a quarter-final showdown against teenage sensation Beau Greaves.

Hutchinson converted a clinical 75 checkout that helped her to the opening set, although five-time televised winner De Graaf levelled proceedings with a classy 86 checkout to wrap up set two.

The Dutch star began to switch to the treble 19’s and this approach saw her begin to dominate the scoring stakes However, De Graaf’s profligacy gave Hutchinson a reprieve as five match darts went begging, only for the third seed to wrap up the win in a last-leg decider with a 78 kill on tops.

The other women’s tie saw Laura Turner register her first win on the World Championship stage, beating three-time finalist Deta Hedman in straight sets. It was a nervy affair with neither player performing to their potential, but Turner’s superior finishing proved decisive, as she won through to set up a last eight clash against 2017 finalist Corrine Hammond.

Sunday January 5
Afternoon session (from 13:00)

Wayne Warren 3-2 Justin Thompson (First Round)
Joe Chaney 2-3 Ben Hazel (Prelims)
Aileen de Graaf 2-1 Kirsty Hutchinson (First Round)
Willem Mandigers 1-3 Michael Unterbuchner (First Round)

Evening session (from 7 p.m.)

Andreas Harrysson 3-2 John O’Shea (Prelims)
Deta Hedman 0-2 Laura Turner (First Round)
Paul Hogan 3-1 Brian Raman (Prelims)
Martijn Kleermaker 3-0 Gino Vos (First Round)

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: