‘Challengers’ confirmed for 2020 Premier League!

The nine challengers who will feature in the opening nine weeks of the 2020 Unibet Premier League have been confirmed, with Fallon Sherrock one of four debutants set to start in the sport’s biggest roadshow.

Following last year’s popular format, nine players will compete under the re-branded ‘Challengers’ banner, with John Henderson and Queen of the Palace Sherrock already confirmed as the guest players for the opening two nights in Aberdeen and Nottingham respectively.

Henderson enjoyed a rapturous reception in Scotland last year when he faced Michael van Gerwen and he will kick off this year’s roadshow with a flourish, before Sherrock becomes the first woman to star in the Premier League at the Motorpoint Arena on February 13.

The tournament then rolls into Cardiff and Dublin where Welsh No 2 Jonny Clayton and Irish World Cup of Darts finalist William O’Connor make their respective debuts on home soil.

World Youth champion Luke Humphries will feature in Exeter for the second straight year having shared the spoils with Gerwyn Price 12 months ago, before former BDO world champion Stephen Bunting makes his long-awaited Premier League return during Week Six in Liverpool.

Chris Dobey will be hoping to enjoy another memorable night in Newcastle after enjoying a breakthrough 2019 which saw him reach two televised semi-finals, having kicked off the ‘contenders’ format in last year’s competition.

The Premier League then heads to Rotterdam for a Dutch double-header and Jeffrey de Zwaan will entertain the sea of orange at the Ahoy Arena alongside Netherlands’ World Cup star Jermaine Wattimena.

Points won by Challengers will not count towards the league table, however their opponents will retain any points gained from the matches. Challengers will receive financial bonuses for winning or drawing their matches.
Following the opening nine nights of fixtures, the player in ninth position on the Premier League table following Judgement Night in Rotterdam on March 26 will be eliminated from the competition, with the remaining eight players left battling it out for a Play-Off spot at the O2 on Thursday May 21.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2020 Unibet Premier League field
Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price
Rob Cross
Michael Smith
Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney
Nathan Aspinall
Glen Durrant

2020 Unibet Premier League Challengers
John Henderson (Aberdeen, Night One)
Fallon Sherrock (Nottingham, Night Two)
Jonny Clayton (Cardiff, Night Three)
William O’Connor (Dublin, Night Four)
Luke Humphries (Exeter, Night Five)
Stephen Bunting (Liverpool, Night Six)
Chris Dobey (Newcastle, Night Seven)
Jeffrey de Zwaan (Rotterdam, Night Eight)
Jermaine Wattimena (Rotterdam, Night Nine)

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: