2020 Premier League Darts fixtures: Sherrock to face Durrant!

Newly crowned world champion Peter Wright will take on Michael van Gerwen in a repeat of their World Championship final clash on New Year’s Day, whilst Fallon Sherrock will face three-time BDO world champion Glen Durrant when she features as a ‘Challenger’ in Nottingham.

As has become tradition, the opening night of the roadshow will include a repeat of the World Championship final, where ‘Snakebite’ produced a stunning display to dethrone Van Gerwen and clinch his maiden world crown.

The pair will headline the tournament’s opening night in Aberdeen on Thursday February 6 and Wright is set to receive a hero’s welcome from his home crowd when he locks horns with the defending Premier League champion.

Gary Anderson will make his Premier League return against Daryl Gurney after missing out on last year’s bonanza with a back injury, whilst John Henderson – the first of this year’s ‘challengers’ – meets debutant Nathan Aspinall.

2018 finalist Michael Smith plays three-time BDO world champion Durrant in the tournament’s curtain-raiser, whilst the evening concludes with a clash between Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price and World Matchplay winner Rob Cross.

Sherrock, who created history as the first female to taste victory at the World Championship in December, will appear as a Challenger on Night Two in Nottingham, taking on Durrant.

The night also features a rematch of the 2019 UK Open final as Aspinall plays Cross, while Scottish World Cup champions Wright and Anderson collide.

Home favourite Price will take on Gurney on Night Three as the Premier League visits Cardiff, where Welsh number two Jonny Clayton appears as a Challenger against Smith, while Van Gerwen plays Aspinall in a repeat of their recent World Championship semi-final.

Night Four in Dublin sees Ireland’s World Cup finalist William O’Connor compete as a Challenger against Van Gerwen, as Price and Wright meet in a rematch of their thrilling tussles in the 2019 Grand Slam of Darts final and recent World Championship semi-finals.

World Youth Champion Luke Humphries’ appearance as a Challenger in Exeter will see him take on Anderson, while Van Gerwen and Smith meet in a repeat of the 2018 Premier League and 2019 World Championship finals.

The meeting between Van Gerwen and Price will headline the visit to Liverpool’s M&S Bank Arena on Night Six, where former BDO world champion Stephen Bunting returns to the Premier League after a lengthy hiatus to take on stablemate Cross.

Chris Dobey takes to the stage in Newcastle on Night Seven, with the local hero set to face Gurney on a night which also sees Middlesbrough’s Durrant take on World Champion Wright and Van Gerwen’s clash with Cross.

The first phase of the Premier League season then concludes with a double-header at Rotterdam Ahoy on March 25-26, which includes Judgement Night as the ninth-placed player in the league table is eliminated.

Night Eight sees Van Gerwen taking on Durrant, while rising Dutch star Jeffrey de Zwaan will take on Wright in a repeat of their dramatic showdown at Alexandra Palace.

The fixtures on Judgement Night include Van Gerwen resuming his rivalry with Anderson on the Premier League stage and Price facing Dutch Challenger Jermaine Wattimena.

Following Judgement Night, the remaining eight players meet once more in the remaining seven league nights in Belfast, Sheffield, Manchester, Berlin, Birmingham, Glasgow and Leeds.

The top four players then progress to face off for the title, and a £250,000 top prize, in the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on Thursday May 21. The fixtures for the opening nine weeks can be viewed below.

2020 Unibet Premier League
Night One, Thursday February 6 – Aberdeen

Michael Smith v Glen Durrant
Gary Anderson v Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen v Peter Wright
Nathan Aspinall v John Henderson
Gerwyn Price v Rob Cross

Night Two, Thursday February 13 – Nottingham
Rob Cross v Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price v Michael Smith
Gary Anderson v Peter Wright
Glen Durrant v Fallon Sherrock
Daryl Gurney v Michael van Gerwen

Night Three, Thursday February 20 – Cardiff
Peter Wright v Rob Cross
Jonny Clayton v Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen v Nathan Aspinall
Daryl Gurney v Gerwyn Price
Glen Durrant v Gary Anderson

Night Four, Thursday February 27 – Dublin
Glen Durrant v Nathan Aspinall
Rob Cross v Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney v Michael Smith
William O’Connor v Michael van Gerwen
Gerwyn Price v Peter Wright

Night Five, Thursday March 5 – Exeter
Rob Cross v Daryl Gurney
Gerwyn Price v Glen Durrant
Nathan Aspinall v Peter Wright
Gary Anderson v Luke Humphries
Michael Smith v Michael van Gerwen

Night Six, Thursday March 12 – Liverpool
Michael Smith v Peter Wright
Daryl Gurney v Glen Durrant
Gerwyn Price v Michael van Gerwen
Rob Cross v Stephen Bunting
Gary Anderson v Nathan Aspinall

Night Seven, Thursday March 19 – Newcastle
Michael Smith v Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen v Rob Cross
Nathan Aspinall v Gerwyn Price
Chris Dobey v Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright v Glen Durrant

Night Eight, Wednesday March 25 – Rotterdam
Gary Anderson v Gerwyn Price
Nathan Aspinall v Daryl Gurney
Michael Smith v Rob Cross
Michael van Gerwen v Glen Durrant
Peter Wright v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Judgement Night, Thursday March 26 – Rotterdam
Glen Durrant v Rob Cross
Nathan Aspinall v Michael Smith
Peter Wright v Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen v Gary Anderson
Jermaine Wattimena v Gerwyn Price

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: