2019 PDC Awards confirmed!

Peter Wright scooped a hat-trick of honours by virtue of his World Championship success, whilst Michael van Gerwen was crowned Player of the Year for the fifth consecutive year after the PDC awards for 2019 were presented on Thursday.

Wright defeated Van Gerwen in this year’s showpiece on New Year’s Day to become the oldest first-time winner of the PDC World Championship, which saw him awarded Televised Performance of the Year.

Snakebite’s exploits were also recognised by his fellow professionals and fans alike, as the colourful Scot was crowned PDPA Players’ Player of the Year and Fans’ Player of the Year.

However, Van Gerwen once again received the Player of the Year award following another trophy-laden campaign. The world No 1 claimed 14 titles across the calendar year, including seven televised triumphs.

The 30-year-old won a fourth successive Premier League and retained his World Grand Prix and Masters titles, whilst also winning the Champions League of Darts and the World Series Finals.

The Dutchman also walked away with the Pro Tour Player of the Year award, despite featuring sporadically on the Players Championship circuit. Nevertheless, Van Gerwen was a dominant force on the European Tour, winning four titles and reaching three further finals.

Glen Durrant was crowned Best Newcomer following his impressive debut season in the PDC. The three-time BDO world champion reached three major semi-finals at the World Matchplay, World Grand Prix and Grand Slam, whilst also scooping two Pro Tour titles.

Elsewhere, World Youth champion Luke Humphries was deservedly recognised as the Young Player of the Year. ‘Cool Hand’ followed up his World Youth triumph by reaching a second consecutive World Championship quarter-final last month.

Players who achieved a perfect leg in PDC tournaments during 2019 were recognised with places in the PDC Nine-Dart Club, with Van Gerwen’s televised perfect leg at the Players Championship Finals earning him a commemorative gold pin badge.

Silver pin badges are awarded to recognise the record-breaking 46 perfect legs hit away from the TV cameras on the PDC circuit last year, with Dave Chisnall, Geert Nentjes and Van Gerwen landing three apiece.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2019 PDC Award Winners

Player of the Year
 Michael van Gerwen
Nominated: Peter Wright, Gerwyn Price, Rob Cross

Fans’ Player of the Year
Winner: Peter Wright
Runner-up: Gerwyn Price

PDPA Players’ Player of the Year
Peter Wright
Runner-up: Gerwyn Price, Nathan Aspinall (joint-second)

Televised Performance of the Year
Winner: Peter Wright (World Championship Final v Michael van Gerwen)
Nominated: Gerwyn Price (Grand Slam of Darts Final v Peter Wright), Michael van Gerwen (World Grand Prix Final v Dave Chisnall), Glen Durrant (World Matchplay Last 16 v Michael van Gerwen)

Best Newcomer
 Glen Durrant
Nominated: Jamie Hughes, Darius Labanauskas, Jose De Sousa

ProTour Player of the Year
Winner: Michael van Gerwen
Nominated: Ian White, Gerwyn Price, Peter Wright

Young Player of the Year
Winner: Luke Humphries
Nominated: Ted Evetts, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Max Hopp

PDC Nine-Dart Club
Gold Pins: Michael van Gerwen
Silver Pins: Dave Chisnall (x3), Geert Nentjes (x3), Michael van Gerwen (x3), Gerwyn Price (x2), Ritchie Edhouse (x2), Ted Evetts (x2), Peter Jacques, Chris Dobey, Ricky Evans, Scott Baker, Danny Noppert, Brian Raman, James Wade, Mark McGeeney, Harry Ward, Callan Rydz, Steve Beaton, Geert De Vos, Michael Rasztovits, Robert Thornton, Madars Razma, Lourence Ilagan, Dimitri Van den Bergh, Andy Jenkins, Kyle Anderson, Boris Koltsov, Simon Preston, John Henderson, Matt Clark, Jose De Sousa, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Rob Cross, Ian White, Cody Harris, Mensur Suljovic, James Beeton, Keane Barry

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: