Nordic Darts Masters field confirmed

Former World Youth champion Dimitri Van den Bergh has been given a wildcard for the inaugural Nordic Darts Masters, as world number five Michael Smith and two-time major winner Daryl Gurney miss out on selection for this summer’s extravaganza in Copenhagen.

World number one Michael van Gerwen, world champion Peter Wright and ‘Queen of the Palace’ Fallon Sherrock are among the eight PDC stars that will feature in the World Series’ first visit to Scandinavia on June 12-13.

Sherrock was given a spot in all six 2020 World Series events following her incredible exploits at the recent PDC World Championship and she reaffirmed her big stage pedigree in last Thursday’s Premier League – drawing 6-6 with Glen Durrant in her appearance as a ‘challenger’.

Van den Bergh was perhaps a surprise inclusion, although there is no denying the Belgian’s prodigious talent. The two-time World Youth champion reached his second World Championship quarter-final in December and previously reached the German Darts Masters final in 2018.

Joining the aforementioned quartet in Denmark will be two-time world champion Gary Anderson – a winner of six World Series events, as well as reigning US Masters winner Nathan Aspinall, who is currently featuring in his debut Premier League campaign.

Rob Cross will also maintain his record of having featured in every World Series event since being crowned world champion in January 2018, whilst world number three Gerwyn Price makes up this year’s star-studded field.

Nevertheless, there is no place for world number five Michael Smith, who has also been omitted from this year’s US Masters despite reaching the final 12 months ago. Daryl Gurney – twice a World Series finalist, is another high-profile absentee.

The 16-player tournament will see the eight PDC stars come up against eight players from Scandinavia and there’s an international flavour to the list of local qualifiers, which is headlined by World Championship quarter-finalist Darius Labanauskas.

Swedish World Cup star Daniel Larsson, who came through European Qualifying School in January, will also compete alongside Finland’s Marko Kantele and Latvian ace Madars Razma, with the remaining four places to be split among three Danish representatives and an additional qualifier.

Photo Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2020 Nordic Darts Masters
PDC Representatives

Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
Peter Wright (Scotland)
Gerwyn Price (Wales)
Rob Cross (England)
Gary Anderson (Scotland)
Nathan Aspinall (England)
Dimitri Van den Bergh (Belgium)
Fallon Sherrock (England)

Nordic & Baltic Representatives
Marko Kantele (Finland)
Darius Labanauskas (Lithuania)
Daniel Larsson (Sweden)
Madars Razma (Latvia)
3x Danish Representatives
1x Qualifier

2020 Nordic Darts Masters
Friday June 12

Evening Session
First Round

Saturday June 13
Afternoon Session


Evening Session
Semi-Finals & Final

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: