Quartet seal World Series Finals spots

Joe Cullen, Steve Beaton, Vincent van der Voort & Harry Ward secured their places in the bwin World Series of Darts Finals after prevailing in Friday’s Tour Card Holder Qualifier.

The six days of PDC action in Niedernhausen began as Tour Card Holders battled for spots in next weekend’s World Series of Darts Finals event, which will be held in Salzburg.

Cullen – a quarter-finalist at the World Series Finals back in 2016 – sealed his place with victories over Ryan Meikle, Barrie Bates, Callan Rydz and Jesus Noguera.

The evergreen Beaton continued his impressive qualification record, as he claimed the scalps of Dirk van Duijvenbode, Andy Hamilton, Steve Lennon and Gabriel Clemens to ensure he’ll be making his third tournament appearance.

Van der Voort will make his debut in the World Series of Darts Finals, having dumped out former Lakeside world champion Scott Waites en route to qualification. The Dutchman also saw off Josh Payne, Marko Kantele and Madars Razma to clinch his spot.

Former Pro Tour winner Ward will be another debutant in Salzburg next week, after registering wins over Jan Dekker, William O’Connor, Christian Bunse, Joe Murnan and Chris Dobey on Friday.

The quartet will join new World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh, Premier League table-topper Glen Durrant, former major winner Mensur Suljovic, Australian duo Simon Whitlock and Damon Heta, as well as history maker Fallon Sherrock in the first round on September 18.

Multiple PDC event winners Dave Chisnall, Ian White and Krzysztof Ratajski are joined by Lithuania’s Darius Labanauskas, Canada’s Jeff Smith and New Zealand’s Cody Harris in completing the invited players who will also be in first round action.

The world’s top eight players are seeded and will enter the event at the second round stage, led by world number one and reigning champion Michael van Gerwen and world champion Peter Wright.

Former World Series Finals winner James Wade is joined amongst the remaining seeds by the Premier League quintet of Gerwyn Price, Michael Smith, Rob Cross, Nathan Aspinall and Daryl Gurney, and the draw for the tournament will take place on Saturday September 12.

Image Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

bwin World Series of Darts Finals
Tour Card Holder Qualifier
Friday September 11, H+ Hotel, Niedernhausen
Last 16

Gabriel Clemens 5-3 Jonny Clayton
Steve Beaton 5-2 Steve Lennon
Joe Cullen 5-2 Callan Rydz
Jesus Noguera 5-0 Max Hopp
Chris Dobey 5-1 Ron Meulenkamp
Harry Ward 5-3 Joe Murnan
Madars Razma 5-2 Jamie Hughes
Vincent van der Voort 5-2 Scott Waites

Last Eight
Steve Beaton 5-3 Gabriel Clemens
Joe Cullen 5-3 Jesus Noguera
Harry Ward 5-3 Chris Dobey
Vincent van der Voort 5-3 Madars Razma

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: