Durrant tests positive for coronavirus

Newly crowned Premier League champion Glen Durrant has withdrawn from this weekend’s International Darts Open after returning a positive test for Covid-19.

Durrant, who defeated Nathan Aspinall to claim his first major PDC title at the Ricoh Arena last Thursday, had been poised to compete in the European Tour event in Riesa, although he will now be forced to self-isolate as per government guidelines.

From the original field of qualifiers, young Dutchman Niels Zonneveld has also withdrawn, having informed the PDC that he was required to self-isolate after returning a positive test earlier this month, but all other personnel have tested negative upon arrival.

Former world champions Adrian Lewis and Stephen Bunting will return to competitive action in Riesa this weekend after they were forced to miss out on the World Grand Prix, although world champion Peter Wright will not feature.

The world No 3 has withdrawn from the event due to personal reasons, whilst World Grand Prix finalist Dirk van Duijvenbode and Ryan Murray have also pulled out, meaning eight players will come from the Host Nation Qualifier on Thursday night to complete the 48-player field.

Gerwyn Price will begin his quest for a third consecutive International Darts Open title against either┬áMario Vandenbogaerde or┬áRoss Smith, whilst world No 1 Michael van Gerwen meets either Latvia’s Madars Razma or Hong Kong’s Kai Fan Leung in his opener.

Last weekend’s winner Jose De Sousa is among the seeded players following the withdrawals of Wright and Durrant, and the mercurial Portuguese arrowsmith faces either home favourite Max Hopp or former world champion Jelle Klaasen in the last 32.

Image Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2020 International Darts Open
Tournament Draw Bracket – Second Round Onwards

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Madars Razma/Kai Fan Leung
(16) Stephen Bunting v Simeon Heinz/Andy Hamilton
(8) James Wade v Benito van de Pas/Andreas Harrysson
(9) Nathan Aspinall v Scott Marsh/Jason Lowe
(4) Krzysztof Ratajski v Martijn Kleermaker/Arsen Ballaj
(13) Rob Cross v Franz Roetsch/Brendan Dolan
(5) Mensur Suljovic v Gabriel Clemens/Philipp Hagemann
(12) Jamie Hughes v Steve West/Toni Alcinas
(2) Gerwyn Price v Mario Vandenbogaerde/Ross Smith
(15) Jose De Sousa v Max Hopp/Jelle Klaasen
(7) Dave Chisnall v Michael Rosenauer/Ron Meulenkamp
(10) Joe Cullen v Jamie Lewis/Robert Marijanovic
(3) Ian White v Maik Kuivenhoven/Jesus Noguera
(14) Michael Smith v Tytus Kanik/Martin Schindler
(6) Daryl Gurney v Scott Baker/Michael Unterbuchner
(11) Adrian Lewis v Danny Noppert/Sebastian Pohl

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: