Premier League Darts 2021: Fixtures confirmed for opening nine nights

The 2021 Premier League season will begin on Monday April 5th with a rematch of the World Championship final between Gerwyn Price and Gary Anderson, while Glen Durrant and Nathan Aspinall will collide in a repeat of last year’s Premier League showpiece.

The opening nine nights of the 2021 Premier League season will be staged at Milton Keynes’ Marshall Arena from April 5-9 and April 19-22, with the ten players facing each other once before the bottom two are eliminated on Judgement Night.

Details ahead of the second half of the season – featuring seven further league nights and the Play-Offs, comprising the top four players – are to be made in due course, although this year’s event is set to begin with a bang on Easter Monday.

The tournament kicks off with a repeat of the 2020 final between reigning champion Durrant and former UK Open winner Aspinall, as world champion Price kicks off his campaign against two-time Premier League winner Anderson – their first meeting on the televised since Price’s Alexandra Palace triumph.

Elsewhere, five-time Premier League winner Michael van Gerwen locks horns with World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh – one of three debutants in this year’s field.

Former Premier League finalists Peter Wright and Rob Cross come up against debutants Jonny Clayton and Jose de Sousa respectively as the 2021 Masters and 2020 Grand Slam of Darts winners also begin their Premier League journeys.

Night Two will be headlined by a blockbuster clash between Van Gerwen and Wright – who contested an epic Premier League final in 2017- while Wright’s clash against his former World Cup team-mate Anderson promises to be the highlight of Night Three.

Price and Van Gerwen renew their rivalry on Night Four as the world’s top two go head-to-head, and Night Five sees the world champion take on the Premier League champion when Price plays Durrant.

The tournament resumes on April 19 following a ten-day hiatus, featuring an intriguing clash between Durrant and Van Gerwen – two of only three players in Premier League history to finish top of the league phase.

Night Seven features blockbuster clashes between Van Gerwen and Anderson, and the two most recent world champions; Price and Wright, before Night Eight features a repeat of the 2020 World Matchplay final as Van den Bergh and Anderson do battle.

The penultimate night of league action before Judgement Night also features the all-Welsh clash between Price and Clayton, after the pair teamed up to lift Wales’ maiden World Cup of Darts crown last November.

Judgement Night sees the players competing in their ninth league match before the bottom two are eliminated – with ties including Price against Van den Bergh, Clayton playing Van Gerwen, De Sousa facing Wright, Durrant taking on Cross and Aspinall’s clash with Anderson.

2021 Unibet Premier League
Night One – Monday April 5

Nathan Aspinall v Glen Durrant
Rob Cross v Jose de Sousa
Peter Wright v Jonny Clayton
Gerwyn Price v Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Night Two – Tuesday April 6
Gary Anderson v Jose de Sousa
Jonny Clayton v Glen Durrant
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Nathan Aspinall
Michael van Gerwen v Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price v Rob Cross

Night Three – Wednesday April 7
Rob Cross v Michael van Gerwen
Glen Durrant v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Peter Wright v Gary Anderson
Nathan Aspinall v Gerwyn Price
Jose de Sousa v Jonny Clayton

Night Four – Thursday April 8
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Peter Wright
Jonny Clayton v Rob Cross
Jose de Sousa v Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price v Michael van Gerwen
Gary Anderson v Glen Durrant

Night Five – Friday April 9
Gary Anderson v Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright v Rob Cross
Michael van Gerwen v Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price v Glen Durrant
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Jose de Sousa

Night Six – Monday April 19
Rob Cross v Gary Anderson
Jose de Sousa v Gerwyn Price
Jonny Clayton v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Glen Durrant v Michael van Gerwen
Nathan Aspinall v Peter Wright

Night Seven – Tuesday April 20
Glen Durrant v Jose de Sousa
Rob Cross v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Nathan Aspinall v Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright v Gerwyn Price
Michael van Gerwen v Gary Anderson

Night Eight – Wednesday April 21
Rob Cross v Nathan Aspinall
Gary Anderson v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Michael van Gerwen v Jose de Sousa
Gerwyn Price v Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright v Glen Durrant

Judgement Night – Thursday April 22
Jonny Clayton v Michael van Gerwen
Glen Durrant v Rob Cross
Jose de Sousa v Peter Wright
Nathan Aspinall v Gary Anderson
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Gerwyn Price

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: