Sherrock, Van Barneveld headline opening night at Grand Slam of Darts

Fallon Sherrock and Raymond van Barneveld will headline the opening night of the 2021 Grand Slam of Darts in Wolverhampton, which also features a clash between three-time champion Michael van Gerwen and Lisa Ashton.

Jose de Sousa will be defending his title at the Aldersley Leisure Village from November 13-21, with £550,000 in prize money and the Eric Bristow Trophy on offer in the unique 32-player event.

The players are split into eight groups of four before the top two from each group progress to the knockout stages, although the round-robin action begins with a blockbuster double session on Saturday November 13.

Groups A-D will feature in Saturday’s afternoon session, headlined by two-time champion and world No 1 Gerwyn Price, who kicks off his campaign against Northern Ireland’s Nathan Rafferty in Group A.

Premier League and World Grand Prix champion Jonny Clayton faces Rusty-Jake Rodriguez in his Group B opener, after the young Austrian sealed his qualification by topping the PDC Unicorn European Development Tour rankings last weekend.

Elsewhere, three-time finalist and world No 4 James Wade meets former Lakeside finalist Jim Williams in a tantalising Group C showdown, before newly crowned European Champion Rob Cross comes up against Croatia’s Boris Krcmar.

World Matchplay finalist Dimitri Van den Bergh plays Rowby-John Rodriguez in the afternoon’s Group D finale, after World Championship semi-finalist Stephen Bunting has the honour of kicking off the tournament against Ryan Joyce.

World Youth Champion Bradley Brooks makes his Grand Slam bow against the veteran Mervyn King in Group B, while World Matchplay semi-finalist Krzysztof Ratajski faces a tough assignment against an in-form Martin Schindler in Group A.

On Saturday evening, Group F sees reigning champion De Sousa open up his title defence against Canada’s Matt Campbell, before UK Open runner-up Luke Humphries takes on former major winner Mensur Suljovic in an intriguing tie.

The night is headlined by clashes between Michael van Gerwen and Lisa Ashton and Peter Wright’s meeting with Fallon Sherrock, as the two leading lights of the women’s game lock horns against two of the sport’s ultimate superstars.

Five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld is set to make his big stage return after progressing through Friday’s qualifier to secure his first appearance at this event since 2018.

Van Barneveld – the 2012 champion – takes on world No 10 Michael Smith to round off Saturday’s proceedings, while the other Group G clash sees two-time world champion Gary Anderson up against World Youth finalist Joe Davis.

Saturday night’s action gets underway with a tussle between German No 1 Gabriel Clemens and Belgian qualifier Mike De Decker in Group E, while the other Group A contest features a meeting between world No 14 Joe Cullen and World Cup winner John Henderson.

Sunday’s second group matches will see Saturday’s winners face each other and the losing players also meet, before the final group matches are held on Monday and Tuesday respectively.

The top two players from each group will progress to the knockout stage of the event, with the last 16 action beginning on Wednesday November 17 and running through to the semi-finals and final on Sunday November 21.

2021 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts
Schedule of Play
Saturday November 13
Afternoon Session (1300 GMT)

8x Group Matches
Stephen Bunting v Ryan Joyce (D)
Krzysztof Ratajski v Martin Schindler (A)
Mervyn King v Bradley Brooks (B)
James Wade v Jim Williams (C)
Rob Cross v Boris Krcmar (C)
Jonny Clayton v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (B)
Gerwyn Price v Nathan Rafferty (A)
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Rowby-John Rodriguez (D)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
8x Group Matches
Gabriel Clemens v Mike De Decker (E)
Jose de Sousa v Matt Campbell (F)
Luke Humphries v Mensur Suljovic (F)
Gary Anderson v Joe Davis (H)
Michael van Gerwen v Lisa Ashton (G)
Joe Cullen v John Henderson (G)
Peter Wright v Fallon Sherrock (E)
Michael Smith v Raymond van Barneveld (H)

Sunday November 14
Afternoon Session (1300 GMT)

8x Group Matches
Groups A-D Second Matches

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
8x Group Matches
Groups E-H Second Matches

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: