Krcmar posts stunning 121.86 average en route to sealing Ally Pally qualification

James Wilson, Nick Kenny and Boris Krcmar claimed the last three places in next month’s William Hill World Darts Championship at the Tour Card Holder Qualifier in Barnsley on Monday, after Krcmar produced an astronomical average en route to qualification.

Krcmar – who featured at the recent Grand Slam of Darts – posted a remarkable 121.86 average in a 6-0 demolition of John Brown, firing in legs of 13, 11, 15, 14, 10 and 11 to wrap up victory within nine minutes.

The imposing Croatian then recovered from 4-1 adrift to edge out Scotland’s Ryan Murray in a last-leg decider, before battling past the veteran Alan Tabern to set up a decisive tussle against Peter Hudson, and Krcmar ran out a convincing 7-3 winner to book his spot in a third PDC World Championship.

Elsewhere, two-time televised quarter-finalist Wilson secured his fifth consecutive World Championship appearance with a narrow 7-5 defeat of Mike De Decker in their board final.

The former BDO No 1 has been plagued by injury problems over the last 18 months, but he displayed impressive consistency to prevail at the Barnsley Metrodome, having also backed up successive 6-3 wins over David Evans and Adam Gawlas with a 6-5 success over Andy Boulton in a high-quality contest.

The final player to come through Monday’s event was Kenny, who repeated his heroic’s from last year’s Tour Card qualifier to make it back-to-back Alexandra Palace appearances.

The Welshman edged out Brett Claydon and Matthew Edgar to book his place in the last 16, before following up an emphatic victory over Michael Unterbuchner by breezing past Gordon Mathers to seal his qualification.

Three spots were on offer at the qualifier after Ted Evetts – a ProTour Order of Merit qualifier – won Sunday’s PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship final, although a host of high-profile names were denied a place in the sport’s flagship event.

Former World Matchplay semi-finalist Jeffrey de Zwaan is the highest-ranked player in the PDC to miss out on this year’s showpiece, while former Lakeside champions Jelle Klaasen and Scott Waites succumbed at the first hurdle.

Reigning World Cup of Darts champion John Henderson will miss out on the World Championship for the first time since 2013 after suffering a 6-1 defeat to Tabern, with former World Youth champions Max Hopp and Keegan Brown also failing to qualify.

Former major semi-finalist Darren Webster has relinquished his PDC Tour Card after losing out in the second round of qualifying, while 2017 UK Open quarter-finalist Steve West will not make a sixth consecutive Ally Pally appearance next month.

Nearly a decade on from reaching the PDC World Championship final, Andy Hamilton will be forced to return to Qualifying School if he wants to compete on the Pro Tour circuit in 2022, while 2018 Lakeside finalist Mark McGeeney was thrashed by Unterbuchner in the opening qualifying round, despite averaging 99.

Image Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The draw for the 2022 William Hill World Darts Championship will take place tonight (Monday November 29) on Sky Sports News at 7:15pm.

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: