PDC World Darts Championship 2022: Schedule confirmed, as Price & Lewis feature on opening night

Gerwyn Price will begin the defence of his World Darts Championship crown on the opening night of this year’s event, while two-time world champion Adrian Lewis will also be in action, with the schedule of play for the first and second rounds now confirmed.

The opening two rounds will be played across nine days from December 15-23, as fans return to Alexandra Palace for a fascinating pre-Christmas period, which will see 96 players whittled down to just 32.

The opening night on Wednesday December 15 will see world No 1 Price take on the winner of the clash between Ritchie Edhouse and Lihao Wen, who have the honour of kicking off this year’s competition on the iconic Ally Pally stage.

Elsewhere, two-time world champion Lewis plays Canadian Matt Campbell in an intriguing first-round encounter, while ‘Rapid’ Ricky Evans meets India’s Nitin Kumar.

The first double session of the tournament takes place on Thursday December 16, headlined by two-time world champion Gary Anderson, who could potentially take on Lewis in a repeat of their 2011 and 2015 finals, plus there’s Ron Meulenkamp’s encounter with four-time women’s world champion Lisa Ashton.

Second seed Peter Wright begins his quest for a second Sid Waddell Trophy in three years against either Ryan Meikle or 16-year-old German Fabian Schmutzler on Friday December 17, which also sees 67-year-old legend Paul Lim return to the sport’s flagship event.

Michael van Gerwen begins his assault for a fourth World Championship crown against either Chas Barstow or John Norman Jr on Saturday December 18, before ‘Queen of the Palace’ Fallon Sherrock returns to the scene of her history-making exploits when she plays the timeless Steve Beaton in round one on Sunday December 19.

Sherrock headlines a blockbuster Sunday evening session at Alexandra Palace, as Jonny Clayton kicks off his bid for a fifth televised title of 2021 against Keane Barry or Royden Lam, while Florian Hempel and Martin Schindler lock horns in a mouth-watering all-German affair.

Five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld makes his World Championship return against Lourence Ilagan on Monday December 20, before three-time semi-finalist James Wade takes on either Maik Kuivenhoven or Ky Smith in the evening’s finale.

The first round will draw to a close during the double session on Tuesday December 21, as 2019 runner-up Michael Smith and world No 5 Dimitri Van den Bergh prepare for second round action.

On Wednesday December 22, 2010 runner-up Simon Whitlock, two-time semi-finalist Nathan Aspinall and UK Open runner-up Luke Humphries are among the seeded names in second round action, alongside last weekend’s Players Championship Finals runner-up Ryan Searle.

Three-time Lakeside champion Glen Durrant will look to kick-start his revival as he begins his campaign on Wednesday, while Sherrock will return to face Kim Huybrechts, if she can overcome ‘The Bronzed Adonis’ in her opener.

The second round will conclude across two sessions on Thursday December 23, with world No 7 Jose De Sousa in action alongside 2018 champion Rob Cross, who could potentially face Van Barneveld for a place in round three.

Following a three-day Christmas break, the third and fourth rounds will be held from December 27-30, with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final taking place from January 1-3.

Image Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2021/22 William Hill World Darts Championship
Schedule of Play
Wednesday December 15 (1900 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round

Ritchie Edhouse v Lihao Wen (R1)
Ricky Evans v Nitin Kumar (R1)
Adrian Lewis v Matt Campbell (R1)
Gerwyn Price v Edhouse/Wen (R2)

Thursday December 16
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round

Steve Lennon v Madars Razma (R1)
Scott Mitchell v Chris Landman (R1)
Chas Barstow v John Norman Jnr (R1)
Daryl Gurney v Evans/Kumar (R2)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round

William O’Connor v Danny Lauby (R1)
Ryan Meikle v Fabian Schmutzler (R1)
Ron Meulenkamp v Lisa Ashton (R1)
Gary Anderson v Lewis/Campbell (R2)

Friday December 17
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round

Ryan Joyce v Roman Benecky (R1)
Keane Barry v Royden Lam (R1)
Jermaine Wattimena v Boris Koltsov (R1)
Krzysztof Ratajski v Lennon/Razma (R2)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round

Joe Murnan v Paul Lim (R1)
William Borland v Bradley Brooks (R1)
Ross Smith v Jeff Smith (R1)
Peter Wright v Meikle/Schmutzler (R2)

Saturday December 18
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

3x First Round, 1x Second Round
Jamie Hughes v Raymond Smith (R1)
Callan Rydz v Yuki Yamada (R1)
Darius Labanauskas v Charles Losper (R1)
Ian White v Mitchell/Landman (R2)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round

Adam Hunt v Boris Krcmar (R1)
Ted Evetts v Jim Williams (R1)
Rowby-John Rodriguez v Nick Kenny (R1)
Michael van Gerwen v Barstow/Norman Jnr (R2)

Sunday December 19
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round

Maik Kuivenhoven v Ky Smith (R1)
Jason Heaver v Juan Francisco Rodriguez (R1)
Alan Soutar v Diogo Portela (R1)
Stephen Bunting v Ross Smith/J Smith (R2)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round
Martijn Kleermaker v John Michael (R1)
Florian Hempel v Martin Schindler (R1)
Steve Beaton v Fallon Sherrock (R1)
Jonny Clayton v Barry/Lam (R2)

Monday December 20 (1900 GMT)
3x First Round, 1x Second Round
Luke Woodhouse v James Wilson (R1)
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez v Ben Robb (R1)
Raymond van Barneveld v Lourence Ilagan (R1)
James Wade v Kuivenhoven/K Smith (R2)

Tuesday December 21
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

2x First Round, 2x Second Round
Lewy Williams v Toyokazu Shibata (R1)
Jason Lowe v Daniel Larsson (R1)
Mervyn King v Joyce/Benecky (R2)
Dave Chisnall v Labanauskas/Losper (R2)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
4x Second Round

Vincent van der Voort v Hunt/Krcmar (R2)
Michael Smith v Meulenkamp/Ashton (R2)
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Hempel/Schindler (R2)
Devon Petersen v Hughes/Raymond Smith (R2)

Wednesday December 22
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)
4x Second Round

Ryan Searle v Borland/Brooks (R2)
Glen Durrant v O’Connor/Lauby (R2)
Luke Humphries v Rowby-John Rodriguez/Kenny (R2)
Joe Cullen v Evetts/J Williams (R2)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
4x Second Round

Nathan Aspinall v Murnan/Lim (R2)
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Wattimena/Koltsov (R2)
Kim Huybrechts v Beaton/Sherrock (R2)
Simon Whitlock v Kleermaker/Michael (R2)

Thursday December 23
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)
4x Second Round

Damon Heta v Woodhouse/Wilson (R2)
Brendan Dolan v Rydz/Yamada (R2)
Mensur Suljovic v Soutar/Portela (R2)
Jose de Sousa v Lowe/Larsson (R2)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
4x Second Round

Danny Noppert v Heaver/Juan Francisco Rodriguez (R2)
Gabriel Clemens v L Williams/Shibata (R2)
Rob Cross v Van Barneveld/Ilagan (R2)
Chris Dobey v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez/Robb (R2)

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: