PDC Order of Merit: Peter Wright closing in on World No. 1 spot

Peter Wright could potentially dethrone Gerwyn Price as world No 1 this weekend, following the Scot’s sparkling start to 2022.

‘Snakebite’ closed to within touching distance of Price on the PDC Order of Merit by capturing his second World Championship crown in January; reducing the arrears further with an emphatic start to the new Pro Tour season.

Wright was beaten by Ryan Searle in the semi-finals of Saturday’s opening Players Championship event, but he responded by defeating Price in Sunday’s showpiece to scoop his 43rd PDC title.

The 51-year-old also made a blistering start to this year’s Premier League, accounting for Michael Smith, Gary Anderson and Jonny Clayton to claim the spoils on Night One of the revamped roadshow in Cardiff.

I had a bad tournament at The Masters so I felt I had to show why I am World Champion. I’ve got a new feeling when I play now,” claimed Wright after his Premier League exploits.

“I used to wonder how Phil [Taylor] concentrated for each match but now I’ve got that feeling. I believe I can go on and win every single tournament I play, but I also know I can play better.

Wright trails Price by just £5,500 on the Order of Merit ahead of this weekend’s Players Championship double-header in Wigan, although ‘The Iceman’ has no prize money to defend on the rolling two-year system, whereas Wright has £6,000 at stake.

The two-time world champion is bidding to become the 11th player in PDC history to be crowned world No 1, along with Alan Warriner-Little, Rod Harrington, Dennis Priestley, Peter Manley, John Part, Colin Lloyd, Phil Taylor, Raymond van Barneveld, Michael van Gerwen and Price.

Image Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

1Gerwyn Price£1,208,500
2Peter Wright£1,203,000
3Michael van Gerwen£656,750
4James Wade£564,500
5Michael Smith£539,500
6Gary Anderson£481,250
7Jose de Sousa£431,500
8Jonny Clayton£417,250
9Dimitri Van den Bergh£410,000
10Rob Cross£359,250
11Joe Cullen£315,250
12Krzysztof Ratajski£313,500
13Dave Chisnall£289,000
14Ryan Searle£268,500
14Dirk van Duijvenbode£268,500
16Nathan Aspinall£263,500
17Mervyn King£241,500
18Luke Humphries£238,500
19Danny Noppert£232,250
20Stephen Bunting£228,250
21Daryl Gurney£217,500
22Gabriel Clemens£216,000
23Brendan Dolan£202,000
24Ian White£199,750
25Simon Whitlock£199,250
26Devon Petersen£195,500
27Mensur Suljovic£193,500
28Damon Heta£181,500
29Vincent van der Voort£178,000
30Callan Rydz£176,000
31Glen Durrant£167,500
32Chris Dobey£157,750
33Ross Smith£141,750
34Ryan Joyce£127,750
35Kim Huybrechts£125,000
36Jermaine Wattimena£116,000
37William O’Connor£113,500
38Jamie Hughes£109,250
39Adrian Lewis£104,250
40Martijn Kleermaker£104,000
41Ricky Evans£102,750
42Adam Hunt£86,000
43Steve Lennon£85,000
44Darius Labanauskas£84,750
45Jason Lowe£82,250
45Jeffrey De Zwaan£82,250
47Madars Razma£72,750
48Luke Woodhouse£71,750
49Maik Kuivenhoven£68,750
50Alan Soutar£67,750
51Steve Beaton£66,750
52Ron Meulenkamp£63,500
53Andy Boulton£58,500
54Steve West£58,250
55William Borland£57,250
56Raymond van Barneveld£55,000
57Keegan Brown£54,250
58Boris Krcmar£54,000
59Ryan Meikle£53,750
60Jeff Smith£53,000
61Mike De Decker£52,500
62Florian Hempel£49,750
63Max Hopp£49,250
64Martin Schindler£48,250

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: