Van Barneveld and Lewis book European Tour return; Chisnall one of eight players to double up

Former world champions Raymond van Barneveld and Adrian Lewis booked their returns to the European Tour on Friday afternoon, while Dave Chisnall was among the eight players to secure qualification for both events in Hildesheim and Munich.

Chisnall produced classy displays to overcome Ryan Meikle and Ricardo Pietreczko to seal his spot in ET2, before edging out Kevin Doets in a last-leg decider to make it a qualification double in Wigan.

Former BDO world champion Scott Waites produced a series of impressive displays to seal his place at both events, alongside PDC newcomer of the year Alan Soutar.

Chris Dobey posted three ton-plus averages in four matches to complete the perfect day at the Robin Park Tennis Centre, while Dutch duo Vincent van der Voort and Jermaine Wattimena also doubled up.

Two-time European Tour event winner Kim Huybrechts continued his resurgence to qualify for both events, alongside the afternoon’s surprise package in Martin Lukeman.

Two-time world champion Lewis headlined the list of 24 qualifiers for next month’s German Darts Championship, courtesy of wins over Andrew Gilding and Ron Meulenkamp.

He was joined by former European Tour winners Daryl Gurney, Mensur Suljovic, Devon Petersen and Jamie Hughes, with current World Youth champion Ted Evetts also making it through.

Former World Youth finalists Ricky Evans and Nathan Rafferty won through to ET2, with Luc Peters, Jose Justicia, Joe Murnan, Darius Labanauskas, Martijn Kleermaker, George Killington, Jimmy Hendriks and Mario Vandenbogaerde also prevailing in the afternoon’s opening qualifier.

Lewis was unable to complete the qualification double after falling to a shock 6-0 defeat to Lukeman in his decisive tie, but it was five-time world champion Van Barneveld who headlined the list of ET3 qualifiers.

The Dutch veteran was beaten 6-2 by Spain’s Tony Martinez in the ET2 qualifier earlier in the day, but he made amends to seal his spot at the German Darts Grand Prix.

Van Barneveld posted a 100.88 average to dispatch his compatriot Niels Zonneveld in his opener, before rallying from 3-2 adrift to defeat Jeff Smith, converting 125 and 160 checkouts in the final two legs.

The 54-year-old was joined by his fellow countrymen Jeffrey de Zwaan and Berry van Peer in making it through, while Max Hopp booked a return to home soil in April.

There is a continental flavour to the line-up for April’s event in Munich, with Croatia’s Boris Krcmar, Latvia’s Madars Razma and Czech star Adam Gawlas sealing their qualification.

Former World Youth champion Keegan Brown and 2020 BDO world finalist Jim Williams were among the 24 players to advance through the ET3 qualifier, alongside former BDO world No 1 James Wilson.

The emerging Irish ace Keane Barry also won through to April’s event, as did Danny Baggish, Adam Hunt, Luke Woodhouse, Ryan Meikle and former World Master John O’Shea.

However, world No 4 James Wade endured a frustrating afternoon, failing to qualify for either event and suffering a chastening 6-0 loss to Luc Peters in the ET2 qualifier.

Simon Whitlock, Mervyn King, Stephen Bunting, Ian White, Glen Durrant, Steve Beaton and Scott Mitchell were also among those to miss out on qualification for both events.

Image Credit: Chris Dean/PDC

ET2 Tour Card Holder Qualifiers: Luc Peters, Kim Huybrechts, Jermaine Wattimena, Joe Murnan, Chris Dobey, Alan Soutar, Jose Justicia, Devon Petersen, Daryl Gurney, Darius Labanauskas, Dave Chisnall, Martijn Kleermaker, George Killington, Nathan Rafferty, Mensur Suljovic, Jimmy Hendriks, Vincent van der Voort, Jamie Hughes, Martin Lukeman, Mario Vandenbogaerde, Adrian Lewis, Scott Waites, Ricky Evans, Ted Evetts

ET3 Tour Card Holder Qualifiers: Keegan Brown, Kim Huybrechts, Boris Krcmar, Madars Razma, Chris Dobey, Alan Soutar, Berry van Peer, Adam Hunt, Jermaine Wattimena, James Wilson, Dave Chisnall, Keane Barry, Raymond van Barneveld, Jim Williams, Danny Baggish, Luke Woodhouse, Vincent van der Voort, Scott Waites, Ryan Meikle, Adam Gawlas, Martin Lukeman, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Max Hopp, John O’Shea

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: