2022 UK Open: 159-player field confirmed!

The field for the 2022 UK Open has been confirmed ahead of next month’s event, which takes place at Butlin’s Minehead Resort from March 4-6.

The unique multi-board tournament will see 127 PDC Tour Card holders feature alongside Rileys Amateur Qualifiers and the top-ranked players from the 2021 Challenge Tour and Development Tour Orders of Merit.

The first round will see the Tour Card Holders ranked from 97-127 joined by 16 players from the respective Challenge Tours and Development Tours, along with the 16 Rileys Amateur Qualifiers.

Tour Card Holders ranked from 65-96 will enter in round two, with the players ranked from 33-64 joining the event in round three, before the sport’s biggest hitters enter the fray in round four.

Ten-time major winner James Wade defeated Luke Humphries to capture last year’s crown, and ‘The Machine’ headlines the 159-player field at Minehead.

World No 1 Gerwyn Price is still eyeing a first UK Open triumph, while former champions Peter Wright, Michael van Gerwen and Nathan Aspinall will be among the protagonists at next month’s showpiece.

Elsewhere, 2014 winner Adrian Lewis begins his campaign in round three, as does two-time champion Raymond van Barneveld, who claimed back-to-back successes in 2006 and 2007 respectively.

The Rileys Amateur Qualifiers include former BDO world champion Jelle Klaasen, who came through the Coventry event having relinquished his PDC Tour Card following last year’s World Championship.

World Cup participants Danny Lauby and Diogo Portela were among the high-profile names to seal their spots, while former PDC Tour Card holders Ryan Murray, Ryan Harrington, Scott Taylor, Prakash Jiwa and Kai Fan Leung were also successful.

Paul Hogan famously defeated Gary Anderson and Adrian Lewis en route to reaching the last 16 in 2017, and ‘Crocodile Dundee’ prevailed in the Rileys South Benfleet Qualifier to secure his seventh UK Open appearance in 2022.

Two-time BDO World Championship semi-finalist Michael Unterbuchner has withdrawn from next month’s event due to personal reasons, therefore one player will receive a bye through to the first round.

The full 159-player field is listed below, with Tour Card Holders listed in their current Order of Merit position.

Image Credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2022 Cazoo UK Open Field
PDC Tour Card Holders

Gerwyn Price
Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen
James Wade
Michael Smith
Gary Anderson
Jose de Sousa
Jonny Clayton
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Rob Cross
Joe Cullen
Krzysztof Ratajski
Dave Chisnall
Dirk van Duijvenbode
Nathan Aspinall
Ryan Searle
Mervyn King
Luke Humphries
Danny Noppert
Stephen Bunting
Daryl Gurney
Gabriel Clemens
Brendan Dolan
Simon Whitlock
Devon Petersen
Mensur Suljovic
Ian White
Damon Heta
Callan Rydz
Vincent van der Voort
Glen Durrant
Chris Dobey
Ross Smith
Kim Huybrechts
Ryan Joyce
Jermaine Wattimena
William O’Connor
Jamie Hughes
Martijn Kleermaker
Ricky Evans
Adrian Lewis
Adam Hunt
Darius Labanauskas
Steve Lennon
Jason Lowe
Jeffrey de Zwaan
Madars Razma
Luke Woodhouse
Alan Soutar
Maik Kuivenhoven
Ron Meulenkamp
Steve Beaton
Andy Boulton
Steve West
Raymond van Barneveld
William Borland
Ryan Meikle
Keegan Brown
Boris Krcmar
Jeff Smith
Mike De Decker
Florian Hempel
Max Hopp
Martin Schindler
Ritchie Edhouse
John Henderson
Keane Barry
Scott Mitchell
Joe Murnan
Lewy Williams
Jason Heaver
Boris Koltsov
Gordon Mathers
Adam Gawlas
Niels Zonneveld
Eddie Lovely
Peter Hudson
John Michael
Martin Lukeman
Geert De Vos
Andrew Gilding
Geert Nentjes
Danny Baggish
Jon Worsley
Jack Main
Berry van Peer
John Brown
Connor Scutt
David Evans
Zoran Lerchbacher
Brett Claydon
Kevin Doets
Jake Jones
Cameron Menzies
George Killington
Radek Szaganski
Danny Jansen
Jamie Clark
Mario Vandenbogaerde
Brian Raman
Jim Williams
Jimmy Hendriks
John O’Shea
Ross Montgomery
Richie Burnett
Darren Webster
Krzysztof Kciuk
Nathan Rafferty
Ricardo Pietreczko
Luc Peters
Damian Mol
Jose Justicia
Rowby-John Rodriguez
Bradley Brooks
Jules van Dongen
Matt Campbell
Tony Martinez
Nick Fullwell
Scott Waites
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Ted Evetts
James Wilson
Josh Rock
Kevin Burness
Mickey Mansell
Shaun Wilkinson
Vladimir Andersen

2021 UK Challenge Tour Order of Merit Qualifiers
Shaun McDonald
Martin Thomas
Darren Beveridge
Reece Robinson

2021 European Challenge Tour Order of Merit Qualifiers
Toni Alcinas
Kenny Neyens
Wesley Plaisier
Lukas Wenig

2021 UK Development Tour Order of Merit Qualifiers
Keelan Kay
Dom Taylor
Reece Colley
Liam Meek

2021 European Development Tour Order of Merit Qualifiers
Fabian Schmutzler
Sebastian Bialecki
Jurjen van der Velde
Niko Springer

NB: From the 2021 European Challenge Tour rankings, Steven Noster has chosen not to compete, with Lukas Wenig taking the fourth place.

Rileys Amateur Qualifiers
Steve Clayson – Rileys Nottingham
Matt Good – Rileys Norwich
Graham Hall – Rileys Solihull
Ryan Harrington – Rileys Harlow
Paul Hogan – Rileys South Benfleet
Prakash Jiwa – Rileys Coventry
Jelle Klaasen – Rileys Coventry
Danny Lauby – Rileys Chorlton
Kai Fan Leung – Rileys Chester
Paul Marsh – Rileys Norwich
Ryan Murray – Rileys Chorlton
Diogo Portela – Rileys London Victoria
Dan Read – Rileys Solihull
Mark Rice – Rileys Chester
Scott Taylor – Rileys Liverpool
Adam Warner – Rileys Liverpool

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: