Watch: Meulenkamp bizarrely busts his score with a 180 at International Darts Open

Ron Meulenkamp endured a moment to forget during his clash against emerging Irish star Keane Barry at the International Darts Open on Friday.

Meulenkamp was bidding to open his account on the European Tour in this weekend’s £140,000 tournament at the Sachsenarena in Riesa.

Trailing 2-0, the Dutchman was poised on 163 after nine darts, before Barry fired in a timely maximum to set up an 82 outshot.

Meulenkamp then inexplicably followed suit, landing all three darts in the treble 20, only to realise he had bust his score.

To his credit, ‘Ron The Bomb’ was able to laugh about the error, and he responded with a classy 121 checkout later in proceedings, only to suffer a 6-2 defeat against an impressive ‘Dynamite’.

Elsewhere, European Champion Rob Cross suffered a chastening 6-1 defeat to Poland’s Krzysztof Kciuk in his opener, while Dimitri Van den Bergh posted an impressive 101.44 average in his victory over Martin Lukeman.

Kim Huybrechts and Daryl Gurney ended the hopes of German pair Florian Hempel and Fabian Schmutzler respectively, while Simon Whitlock whitewashed Dragutin Horvat to set up a showdown against Michael Smith.

In the evening’s all-German clash, Nico Kurz overcame Gabriel Clemens to seal his spot in round two, with Niko Springer accounting for Jermaine Wattimena earlier in the day.

Vincent van der Voort posted a 104 average to see off former World Youth finalist Adam Gawlas and set up a meeting with UK Open champion James Wade, while Brian Raman will play Jose De Sousa, after battling past host nation qualifier David Schlichting in the tournament’s curtain-raiser.

Ritchie Edhouse’s reward for dumping out a struggling Ryan Searle is a tie with world No 1 Gerwyn Price, while Luke Woodhouse will play world champion Peter Wright, courtesy of his 6-2 win against Andy Boulton.

Latvian star Madars Razma defeated Wayne Jones 6-4 to move through to a second round contest against top seed Joe Cullen, with former European Tour event winner Mervyn King recording a 6-3 success over Janos Vegso.

Canada’s Jeff Smith will play the returning Nathan Aspinall, after shrugging off a 35-hour trip to Riesa to account for Dutchman Danny van Trijp, with Lewy Williams dumping out Sweden’s Dennis Nilsson in the day’s other clash.

Saturday’s second round action sees the 16 seeded players enter the fray, with the event concluding on Sunday across two sessions.

Interwetten International Darts Open
Schedule of Play
Friday February 25
First Round
Afternoon Session 

Brian Raman 6-3 David Schlichting
Niko Springer 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Madars Razma 6-4 Wayne Jones
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Fabian Schmutzler
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Adam Gawlas
Luke Woodhouse 6-2 Andy Boulton
Keane Barry 6-2 Ron Meulenkamp
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Ryan Searle

Evening Session 
Lewy Williams 6-4 Dennis Nilsson
Mervyn King 6-3 Janos Vegso
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Florian Hempel
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Martin Lukeman
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-1 Rob Cross
Nico Kurz 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Simon Whitlock 6-0 Dragutin Horvat
Jeff Smith 6-4 Danny van Trijp

Saturday February 26
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Jose de Sousa v Brian Raman
Damon Heta v Daryl Gurney
Krzysztof Ratajski v Lewy Williams
Danny Noppert v Mervyn King
Brendan Dolan v Niko Springer
Devon Petersen v Kim Huybrechts
James Wade v Vincent van der Voort
Nathan Aspinall v Jeff Smith

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT)
Mensur Suljovic v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Nico Kurz
Joe Cullen v Madars Razma
Michael van Gerwen v Keane Barry
Gerwyn Price v Ritchie Edhouse
Jonny Clayton v Krzysztof Kciuk
Peter Wright v Luke Woodhouse
Michael Smith v Simon Whitlock

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: